We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elizabeth House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elizabeth House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed here for our daughter's Graduation Day at Southampton University. The hotel was fantastic, our triple room was clean and comfortable with a lovely sized bathroom. The breakfast in the morning was absolutely brilliant, everything you could wish for and excellent quality food. The staff were more than helpful and the gentlemen waiters were so very polite and their service they provided in the restaurant was first class. The staff kindly allowed us to leave our car in their car park whilst we attended our daughter's graduation this enabling us to book a taxi to and from the University and not having to worry about trying to park the car, which would have been impossible with the amount of students graduating. We would absolutely book this hotel in the future and strongly recommend to anybody wishing to stay in Southampton. All in all fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TopseyTurvey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    141
    31
    6
    4
See reviews for
87
125
24
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

An ideal location for our visit. The family room was well set out with a double and two full size single beds. First hotel I've been to that we didn't have to ask for the fourth towel. Breakfast was outstanding. Will definitely book in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wincups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed here one night with my young daughters and I was pleasantly surprised, a nicely kept hotel and great car parking, wifi worked and a pleasant experience all round. I travel to Soton a lot and have stayed in a number of Hotels and I would say this is near the top of my list. I would recommend to all

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GJack734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We suffered with the temperature but then that's not their fault! As for the rooms, big an very serviceable, nice big bathroom. But the best thing here is the excellent and personal service. Instantly know who you are etc. the breakfast is awesom as well! One of the best hotel breakfasts I have had! The only downside is parking, very full car park but still accommodating! They'll always find you a space.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b1zki7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Close enough to the city centre (about a mile - 20 minutes walk) but very easy to find and reach when driving into the city. Very warm welcome and good service throughout our 2 night stay. Free parking. Great breakfast choice.

The team clearly know how to run a hotel very well. They have all the details right and look after their guests well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MunroBasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Noisy as on main road, didnt sleep well as it was very hot and had to have windows open.
We were leaving early next morning so requested something to eat to take with us as breakfast was included but the lady at front desk wasnt particularly worried about helping us with this, said staff wouldnt be in. Hotel previous night made us bacon sandwiches so I suppose we had been used to better service.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claire2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights whilst attending a training course at the university. The welcome was warm and friendly, and all the staff I came into contact with were friendly and polite, without being over-familiar. As a lone traveller I felt safe here, more so than in a large nameless chain hotel.
I had a room at the back (6) and it was quiet, with a view over the garden. I did have to walk up and down quite a lot of stairs and corridors to get to the room, which may make it unsuitable for some. The smell of breakfast cooking was overwhelming in the room from about 7am which actually may make some hungry, but made me feel a bit sick! I did eat in the restaurant one evening and the food and service were very good. There were a few tables in the gardens too.
My main issue was that the room and bathroom were not really very clean. The skirting boards were covered in dust and there were numerous cobwebs on the ceilings. I also found a scarf, belonging to a previous resident, behind a chair, which suggests that the chair had not been moved to Hoover the floor. Oh, and the creaky floorboards in the bedroom and bathroom near drove me to distraction!
All in all, the Elizabeth house was ok, and has a lot of potential, just needs a bit more TLC.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back might be noisy as the hotel was on a busy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
0.8 mi away
Highfield House Hotel
Highfield House Hotel
#12 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth House Hotel

Property: Elizabeth House Hotel
Address: 43-44 The Avenue, Southampton SO17 1XP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Southampton
#5 Business Hotel in Southampton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Elizabeth House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Elizabeth House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing