We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elizabeth House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Friendly”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Stopped for one night to see our son in Southampton Solent University. Fourth time we have stayed here. Family run - and it shows with the very friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Food is excellent both at breakfast time and in the small downstairs restaurant for evening meal. Ideally located if you don't want to be right in the centre of the city.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    146
    31
    6
    4
See reviews for
93
129
24
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This hotel has some positives: clean, good breakfast, friendly staff, handy for central Southampton, good car park, reasonable prices. The rooms are a bit dated but OK for an overnight stay.

The hotel uses variable pricing according to demand, I think. My colleague paid considerably less than I for the same room type.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chemistatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My wife and decided to stay here because we were going to the Festival of Remembrance at The Guildhall as it appeared fairly close. We were able to leave our car at the hotel who then booked us a taxi. which only cost £5 each way.
Our room was a nice size with all the things in it you would expect, tea/coffee making facilities, good size television, hairdryer etc. the hotel staff were very helpful and seemed only too pleased to help with any little queries. Breakfast had an excellent choice of cereals, juices etc with a very well cooked full English.
The staff that we met were all very polite and helpful.
I suppose the only downside we found during our 1 night stay was that after the Festival we decided to have a drink at the hotel and although the bar person was very polite and helpful the atmosphere within the bar area was non-existent.

Room Tip: Back room away from busy main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willywonker51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Had a recent four night stay at this hotel and found the usual consistent excellent service. The hotel has a central location and is suitable for couples, families, lone travellers and is also pet friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnie1089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at the Elizabeth House Hotel when visiting my daughter at Uni. It was very conveniently situated. Our room was very clean and comfortable. There was a good choice for breakfast and the hotel staff were very professional and attentive. Whilst parking is a bit tight, the staff will go to all lengths to ensure you have a space.

Room Tip: Probably at the side or back as the road is busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillipa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We last stayed here in October 2012 and thought it was excellent value for money so we stayed here again the night before going on a cruise. We had recommended it to our friends that we were travelling with and they were so impressed they are going to book it again when they next cruise. The rooms are lovely and clean, the towels are white and fluffy and the breakfast is excellent. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms at the front can be quite noisy as it's on a main road so ask for a room at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueR789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, pre and post cruise out of Southampton.
Very hospitable owners and excellent full English breakfast.
Large rooms with comfortable beds.
Floor boards a little creaky at times but is is an old building.
Would we stay here again? Yes, without a doubt.
Excellent value for money

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPMNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
804 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
460 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
1.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,733 reviews
0.8 mi away
Highfield House Hotel
Highfield House Hotel
#12 of 24 in Southampton
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth House Hotel

Property: Elizabeth House Hotel
Address: 43-44 The Avenue, Southampton SO17 1XP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Southampton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#5 Business Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Elizabeth House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elizabeth House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing