We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B+B in good locatio”

Fenland Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fenland Guest House
Ranked #20 of 43 Southampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2011

This is a traditional English B+B in an old Victorian building close to the City. The room I had was clean and neat; but not en-suite as there was none available. There was a washbasin in the room; a small flat screen TV pine furniture and comfortable bed.
The landlady was very kind and helpful.
Breakfasts (full English) were mega good; I hardly needed lunch!
The only downsides were: parking a bit tight and on a busy road too. I had problems with internet in room but I was able to use the dining room. (other rooms had good wifi apparently)
Overall it was a good place to stay and I'd recommend it!

Room Tip: I'd book early and specify an en-suite room if that's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peaceofangkor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

Looking at the University brought us to Southampton therefore coming from Telford Shropshire we decided to book into a B & B the night before this being the first time experiencing a B & B.
Upon arrival we were shown to our rooms and made to feel very welcome. The rooms were a great size, very clean with a welcoming array of drinks (hot drinks) in the room.
Breakfast was served in a friendly atmosphere with plenty to choose from including a fry up and plenty of it . My daughter enjoyed the vegetarian fry up.
Many thanks for making our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendyshropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We stayed here at the last minute as we wanted to be close to the New Forest for a day of cycling the next day (we are from London). The owners were very accommodating and friendly. The Rooms are a very good standard and the hotel is a short 20 minute drive to Lyndhurst and other places in the New Forest. They have their own parking, which is also handy in the City. I would recommend people to stay here.

Room Tip: Call the B&B directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exetertim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

The location is excellent, a short walk from both the bus and train stations. Host are friendly, welcoming but not intrusive. Breakfast was far more than I expected. The cleanliness was first rate, and I'm exceptionally particular. Though it appeared that the house had been recently renovated, that was not in fact the case, just representative of the high standards of maintenance. I highly recommend the Fenland, Martin and Sue will make you feel most welcome.

The Fenland has just been awarded it's justly deserved 4th star. Congratulations!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svislomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Have stayed at the Fenland many times over the years and have always been made to feel very welcome. I have had several different rooms and all are light and airy and comfortable. The Fenland is close to the city centre but far enough away to be quiet in the evenings.
Breakfast is always served with a smile and the food is plentiful and tastes great. You are made to feel at home without feeling imposed upon and I would recommend the Fenland to anyone visiting Southampton or using the city as a base to explore the wider area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjclutterbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

The rooms were very spacious and were to a high level of cleanliness. The b&b is situated really close to the train station which was perfect for our days out to the New Forest. The owners were very welcoming and helpful. Plus, best cooked breakfast ever!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavlo118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2007

Stayed at this guest house while working in the area & was recommended by another B&B.

The guest house is well maintained, clean & comfortable. I booked into a single en-suite room, but was given an en-suite twin. Large, spacious room, with all the usual facilities. Room had Freeview TV which is slowly becoming the norm.

The morning breakfast consists of the usual stuff (FEB, Cereal, Continental at request). Believe me this place can knock up a cracking Full English.

It is convieniently located close to the city centre, which will take you around 10-15 mins walk. Close by is what seems to be the student area, dont let this put you off as there are some decent bars, restaurants & what I call the 'Strip'. Similar to Las Vegas with the bright lights, its not a row of casinos, but the dazzling display of neon signs of takeaways.

No negatives only that during my stay there was no Wi-Fi connection. I was advised that this was getting installed soon.

Anyone deciding to stay here wont be disappointed & I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lanc_red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 25 in Southampton
985 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 25 in Southampton
483 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.6 mi away
Elizabeth House Hotel
Elizabeth House Hotel
#6 of 25 in Southampton
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenland Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenland Guest House

Address: 79 Hill Lane, Southampton SO15 5AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range: £55 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fenland Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Fenland Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing