We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable room shame about the main road.”

Fenland Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fenland Guest House
Ranked #19 of 43 Southampton B&B and Inns
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable room shame about the main road.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed for a night at this Guest house whist in Southampton to see a show at The lovely Mayflower Theatre. We were shown to our room on arrival which was on the ground floor at the front of the building. The room was of a good size with a lovely large bed. The bathroom was an average size but all was very clean. The car parking arrangements on the front are a bit tight so you need to have your wits about you when parking. The Guest house is also situated on a fairly busy road, at a junction with a set of traffic lights just outside so there is a fair bit of traffic noise for the rooms at the front of the house. Having said that we were that tired after a long drive that we slept pretty well. The dining room where breakfast is served is fairly small but cosy. Breakfast itself is very good and more than enough to see you through the day. good selection of cereals etc and a substantial cooked option. All in all we had a comfortable nights stay, the house is within walking distance of the amenities and it only took us 15 mins to walk to the Theatre.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    20
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
9
26
17
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camden Town, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Fenland House cancelled on my boss a week before he was due to stay here, and the reason I booked this b&b instead of others is because none of the feedback/reviews said that they would cancel on you. Obviously this is terribly unprofessional of them and therefore got me into trouble with my Boss for not booking somewhere half decent. Really annoyed so don't book here if you want somewhere reliable.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Florence A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with our two children (aged 3 and 4) for one night between waving someone off on a cruise and a visit to Peppa Pig world. We had planned to stay at the Holiday Inn or Premier Inn but I was put off by the reviews and I'm so glad I was. For no more money we had adjoining double and twin bedrooms with proper beds and a bathroom (rather than a double and a sofa bed in the same room). The breakfast was excellent and the the welcome and service couldn't be faulted.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katobean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Stayed at this Guest House for four nights while I attended a conference in South Hampton. The room I stayed in was quite large (it slept three, so I may have had the family room all to myself), very clean, and comfortable. The room had a television with satellite (?) tv, so lots of stations, as well as a small desk, a wardrobe, and a tea kettle with hot chocolate and tea bags. Each day the staff left cookies. Breakfast was generous and made to order.

One note: this is a small, family-run place and the desk is staffed only from 2 pm to 10 pm. If you're going to arrive early as I did, make sure you let them know in advance.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed in the family room of the Guest House for 3 nights and were very comfortable. The rooms were generously sized, clean and comfortable. The hosts are very friendly and helpful and offer a wonderful home cooked hot breakfast. The location is very central and within walking distance of the High Street area. We will be staying here again on our next trip to Southampton.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkland Islands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

Stayed at this great B&B for a week while over on medical, the staff were very helpful nice tidy rooms and a great breakfast, thank you very much for everything.
If or when I have to go back to Southampton this will be my first place of call to see if there are any spare rooms

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LardFalklandIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
0.4 mi away
City Park Guest House
City Park Guest House
#14 of 43 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenland Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenland Guest House

Property: Fenland Guest House
Address: 79 Hill Lane, Southampton SO15 5AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fenland Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fenland Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing