We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but unwelcoming”

Fenland Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fenland Guest House
Ranked #19 of 43 Southampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We are a group of three professional women in our thirties who stayed here for dinner and a night out in Southampton. Whilst the room was very good value for money with all the amenities we needed, the landlady was rude and unwelcoming. Despite us making it clear we would be respectful and quiet, she seemed to form strong assumptions that we were going to be unpleasant guests. The landlady had pre-warned us that there was no hot breakfast due to kitchen maintenance, which was disappointing but we were fine with this. However, we were not told that it would be noisy and there was loud building work and hammering at 9am on the Sunday morning.

On leaving, we were packing our bags in the car and the landlady shouted at us to return the key, which we were about to do once the car was packed. When we returned the key, she very coldly and abruptly said 'OK, bye' with not a single pleasantry or mention of 'please come again', though we had heard her saying this to other guests and being much more friendly. We had left to go out for dinner and came in late but quietly, without disturbing any guests, and had also left our room clean and tidy, so had done nothing to warrant this. On reading the other reviews, it appears many have found the landlady friendly and welcoming, however she seemed to jump to (incorrect) conclusions about us and treated us rudely and unfairly. As genuinely considerate people, we felt offended by her hostility towards us and this put a dampener on an otherwise lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJS_2013_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed for 1 night with my husband early November 2013. We had a ground floor en-suite twin room. It was large, clean and very comfortable. Although at the front of the house, we did not find it noisy (The guest house is on a busy road). Tea and coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits provided. Also asked to buy a bottle of water, and were given 2 free. Very considerate. The breakfast was excellent and plentiful. Can't fault it at all! Many thanks.

Room Tip: Choose an en-suite room if possible.
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mollie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I stayed for 2 nights in October 2013 with my partner. Room is clean, tea and coffee facilities are great (with also hot choc and biscuits). TV is freeview with a good range of channels. Veggie breakfast was good sized and very tasty! Hosts are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I visit Southampton several times each year and have stayed at a number of establishments of varying quality. my search for overall satisfaction ended with Fenland and quite simply , I would not entertain staying elsewhere.
You will receive a warm, friendly, relaxed and knowledgeable reception from Sue and Martin who cater for all individual needs. Also a top class breakfast to suit all conceivable tastes. Rooms are always clean and comfortable. Perhaps I will see you there!
Richard3

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShardArney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Hi
stayed 1 night in Sept 2013.
Large clean bedroom with ensuite, everything worked as it should do. Tea/coffee facilities.
Good English breakfast, though a little early for us on a Sunday morn (had to be before 9am).
Car park is small and parking may be an issue as you could get blocked in by other guests.
We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mancitymad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at Fenland, and I ended up with the same room.
Breakfast is good with the hotel fully prepared for a cooked vegetarian breakfast. It was served promptly.
My room was comfortable. The bed was excellent giving a good night's sleep. The TV offers freeview including the radio channels which is really important to me in the mornings. However, the TV was a little on the small side and my en-suite facilities were compact. Having said that, for the money it is good value.
The landlord was also able to offer an excellent restaurant recommendation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy_Diluvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stopped over for one night and if was a great stop over. The room was spaceus and very clean. Free wifi in the room. Bathroom was clean and shower had a good water pressure. Breakfast was also very nice and cooked to perfection. Can't find any fault.

You must stop over while you're in Southampton. We will be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcusT127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#4 of 25 in Southampton
495 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#8 of 25 in Southampton
1,072 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
0.2 mi away
Hunters Lodge
Hunters Lodge
#7 of 43 in Southampton
271 reviews
0.4 mi away
Claremont Guest House
Claremont Guest House
#17 of 43 in Southampton
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenland Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenland Guest House

Address: 79 Hill Lane, Southampton SO15 5AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range: £55 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fenland Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Fenland Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing