We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Cheap and Cheerful weekend base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Addenro House Hotel
Ranked #41 of 43 Southampton B&B and Inns
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Cheap and Cheerful weekend base”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights, friendly host, lovely breakfast, nice en-suite room, very comfortable, nice and cheap, central location. will be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    11
    11
    12
    46
See reviews for
17
25
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

this b & B is terrible, there was rubbish at the front of the building, our room smelt of damp the radiator in the room was boarded up. we could not stay there, we left straight away. be warned!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

It's cheap but defenitely not worth the money . Never stayed in anything this bad in the uk

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ananthapuriyil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Do not stay here under any circumstances, best to pay more money for somewhere much better. We travelled here all the way from Norwich, was asked to pay as soon as we walked in as we had booked through bookings.com. On seeing the room the carpet was absolutely filthy, we were worried about putting our case on the floor and were glad we had taken slippers to wear as would not have been able to walk on the carpet. The bed looked like it had come from a skip and absolutely creaked, every time one of us turned over, the noise woke the other one up, we stayed two nights (as this was what we had paid for) and got hardly any sleep.the bathroom had not been properly cleaned and we had to ask for a new hose to be put on the shower as the water was sputting out everywhere We were also glad we had taken our own towels and pillows as really would not have fancied using the ones provided..As for a full english breakfast, this was 2 deep fried 20 for £1.00 sausages, (really, not joking), 1 slice of bacon, 1 fried egg and the cheapest tasting beans, and a cup of tea with the cheapest tasting teabags.Old TV.

Room Tip: We left it late to book so was not many b+b's left with vacancies, but would have been worth pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

I booked this hotel(although the owners say it is only a B&B) through Booking.com. It was for one night at £80. When we arrrived I was asked to pay upfront but I insisted on seeing the room first. I was shown three rooms in all and none of them were acceptable. For £80 I expect the accommodation to be clean and attractive, this was neither. I told the owners we wouldn't be stopping, seemed surprised!! I wouldn't have stayed there if they'd paid ME £80. Oh, and by the way, I'm not a disgruntled past employee. I suspect the glowing report comes from the owners themselves.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Der452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

After being recommended this hotel through hotels.com I was very disappointed to find that the hotel was far from the advertised three star rating. On arrival we had to wait in a hallway that acts as a reception for 15minutes before anybody arrived to greet us and help us book in. When we were shown our room the overwhelming feature was the smell of damp! The room and rest of hotel is not at all clean. The room was overlooked by a neighbouring house so it was very dark and the lighting was so poor that it did not help the matter. The tea and coffee facilities were okay but the ensuite was terrible with a shower that barely trickled and could not support its own weight. The 'great' breakfast that was advertised did not meet expectations and had clearly been microwaved not freshly cooked as we could hear all the noises from the kitchen. Overall this hotel is by far the worst I have ever stayed in and would not recommend to anyone. AVOID!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gemcat18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

Am currently staying in Southampton for the Easter break and the Addenro B&B is a home away from home. Great central location, shuttle bus within 2 mins walk into the city centre. We chose a twin room with en-suite bathroom, which was very nice and clean, modern and comfortable. The English breakfast was also excellent. The hotel also has Wifi, only advertised as in public areas but we stayed on the top floor and had full access from our room. There are great restaurants and a conveince store at the end of the road and also lots to do with the Port near by. Would recommend this B&B if you are on a limited budget as its great value for the price.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#23 of 24 in Southampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fenland Guest House
Fenland Guest House
#19 of 43 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Landguard House
Landguard House
#12 of 43 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Park Guest House
City Park Guest House
#14 of 43 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.6 mi away
Claremont Guest House
Claremont Guest House
#16 of 43 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addenro House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addenro House Hotel

Property: Addenro House Hotel
Address: 40-42 Howard Road | Shirley, Southampton SO15 5BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Addenro House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Addenro House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing