We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid at all costs” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Addenro House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Addenro House Hotel
Ranked #41 of 43 Southampton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

I can honestly say that this is the worst B&B I have ever stayed in. It smelt dirty; there was still coffee in one of the mugs in the bedroom; it was difficult to tell if the bedding was clean - I suspect not! For breakfast the sausages were cheap and nasty; the baked beans both looked and tasted off; I was not offered any toast. I only stayed there after I had seen it as I had already paid. Never again!

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    11
    10
    12
    46
See reviews for
17
26
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
wildbird@aol.com
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

The proprietor was trying very hard to please, but unforunately he was unable to overcome the drawbacks. Booked this in desperation at the last minute, but stayed only one night of 5 because it was charged in advance (a clue I missed). It was NOT clean, on a busy street with noise all night, and no other guests. Advise you avoid this property.

Room Tip: We had a room in the front, ground floor, and were told we had the "best room", I would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rexWildbird_aol_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

West Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Dont go to this place. You have off road parking, but its a noisy road. The whole place could do with a clean.
The room has the tiniest bathroom and you have trouble turning around in it. The toilet doesnt flush well and the bin is rusty and filthy. The sink is a foot away from the toilet. The shower that dribbles at best is about two foot from the sink and there is a very very small gap from the sink to the door.
The bed - you feel every spring. The welcome tray had cups that were filthy on it. .
The breakfast was 7.30 am to 8.30am. But you are told to make sure you are there before 8.30. The cereals are mouldy because the lid doesnt fit on the plastic box. You are told you can have sausage,bacon, egg and beans thats all! THE BACON WAS FREEZING COLD, THE BEANS WERE LUKE WARM, THE SAUSAGE WARMISH. The egg was warmish,The whole thing was inedible. Absolutely appaulling.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

was greeted by a very helpful man who was very pleasant.The room was very basic but what do you expect for what you pay. The breakfast was lovely, you could have cereal, toast or english breakfast or all of them if you chose.Would stay here again because it covered our needs for our one night trip to Southampton

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gillyc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

My friend and i stayed here recently. The room was adequate for what we needed,the en-suite was lovely and spotlessly clean. We did not have breakfast as we wanted to get home. The Manager very kindly let us put our stuff in the room early as we were off out for the day. Although the hotel is tired in places we both agreed we would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights, friendly host, lovely breakfast, nice en-suite room, very comfortable, nice and cheap, central location. will be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#23 of 24 in Southampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fenland Guest House
Fenland Guest House
#18 of 43 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
City Park Guest House
City Park Guest House
#15 of 43 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Landguard House
Landguard House
#12 of 43 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hunters Lodge
Hunters Lodge
#6 of 43 in Southampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addenro House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addenro House Hotel

Property: Addenro House Hotel
Address: 40-42 Howard Road | Shirley, Southampton SO15 5BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Addenro House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Addenro House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing