We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel”
Review of The Blue Keys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Blue Keys
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A gem of a hotel”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed at the Blue Keys for 1 night only and would recommend it.
Conveniently located close the university and Southampton city centre which is about 15minutes walk. The owners were extremely pleasant and very customer focussed (as well as all the other staff we encountered). Whilst it is a bar/ restaurant type hotel this didn’t detract from the hotel side which is decorated and furnished to a quality modern standard.
Food in the restaurant might at first thought seem to be only standard bar food, but it is genuinely good value for money as the portions are more than generous with the presentation and taste on a par with high quality restaurants. (by comparison we also had a meal at the Platform in Southampton and the portions were half the size and slightly more costly).
Whilst breakfast costs are not included in the room rate (most hotels do this now anyway) it was again very good, ingredients excellent and the full breakfast portions more than I have had elsewhere.
Overall for the cost of the stay it is very good value compared to other establishments in the Southampton area and is on a par, if not better on cost, decor and food. By the way, the live music which was on the Friday night we stayed did not penetrate up to our hotel room which in itself says much about how the owners have separated out the hotel from the bar and show genuine customer care.
Will definitely stay again when visiting Southampton .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    135
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
82
187
33
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llanrwst
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Thank you to all the staff for a great stay. Impossible to find a fault other than the coffee cup wasnt changed after the first night. Minor detail! Great food and great sevice! Nice beer and a fantastic atmosphere before the fantastic live music thanks to emma and jack! Excellant weekend! Recommend it for food, location and entertainment!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJL19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

All in all a very acceptable stay here, certainly if travelling by car. Easy to access from out of city, and close to ferry terminals. Parking and free wifi - two of my core requirements. The restaurant, used as a pub by locals, offers some really excellent, low cost meals. Friendly staff. I was here for two days on business - and got upgraded to a larger family room on top floor, so it was quiet and spacious. Big floor-standing fan in room - great for the two hot nights I was there. Excellent, large power shower and lots of large towels. Plenty of power sockets for fan, laptop, phone charger, tv, kettle, etc - not always the case in some hotels!

A few 'technical' niggles, however. As mentioned in other reviews, reception looks very grim and uninviting. Top floor is not for you if any problem walking, as stairs quite steep. No toiletries initially, one bathroom light not working, kettle not 100%, toilet seat hinge broken, (Mismatched) bed lights not plugged in. Cup didn't fit saucer. Nothing cataclysmic, but all things that management/housekeeping really should pick up on. Very small 'dressing table' for my laptop - also houses the TV and the kettle and tray, but managed to lose those elsewhere. Wicker chair not massively comfortable for long periods. TV flat screen but only four basic channels, reception not marvellous even for those, TV had sleep function, however,, so that was a bonus. (Another core requirement!) Range of levels of breakfast offered, charged separately: full English quite OK though toast a bit dry and table, as also mentioned elsewhere, could have been 'cleaner'. I would certainly return, however.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyrone, N.Ireland
Level Contributor
161 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

This is not a large establishment and is probably more a of a bar/restaurant with rooms.
Stayed here for 2 nights with my 17 year old son whilst visiting Uni. Good location, pleasant walk from Uni and to City centre.
Good breakfasts and good evening meal served.
Pleasant bar with enjoyable live music.
Very friendly staff. Room fine although a shower curtain and some toiletries would have helped! Flat screen TV with digital channels. WiFI is at extra cost which I always dislike.
I would certainly go back and would recommend this location.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kildress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Altough we only stayed here two nights I would recomend this hotel. The staff were all friendly and helpful. We stayed here in order to pick up parents from a cruise ship docking in Southampton on the Monday, so we made a weekend of it. The location of the hotel is ideal for picking someone up from the ports as it is only a five minute drive away to the quay side. The hotel is clean and very relaxing. Its music theme is quite a nice touch in its bars and hall ways. The breakfast was plentiful and good quality. This is a popular place with the locals too which tells me that the people running it, are doing it right. There is off street parking for around eight cars.

Room Tip: Ask for room 6 its the quietest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

The hotel is a £5 taxi journey from Southampton Central, and within 20 mins' walk of town. Also close to the Highfields area. The road's not great, nor is the reception which is quite small and shabby. When you go through, the hotel part is much nicer so that's nothing to worry about.

A double room cost £54 and was spotlessly clean with shower, hairdryer etc. Unfortunately for some reason all the windows in the room and landings had been left open - usually that means damp, but it just seemed to be an oversight. Unfortunately that made the room uncomfortably cold and very very difficult to warm up again! The towel rail in the bathroom wouldn't heat up and the light above the mirror was broken. The bed was very comfortable and the bedlinen not brand-new looking but extremely clean. I slept very well and heard nothing but my partner said it was quite noisy at times.

Breakfast was reasonably tasty but the table (although spotlessly laid) was quite sticky and greasy, which was a shape as it was visibly dirty. Don't have the bacon, it's really greasy! Abundant toast and juice etc, but you don't get pots of tea/coffee and have to ask for top ups. The service was very kind and attentive throughout our stay, however - ringing for taxis etc.

You have breakfast in the pub part of the building - the pub is open until about midnight, quite noisy, and the local crowd are friendly but quite drunk by then!

Overall, though, I would recommend it since the bed and bathroom were both extremely clean and comfortable - just a shame about the cold and the scruffiness of the public areas.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

My partner and I are moving to Southampton and stayed here for a Sat night during a reconnaissance trip to the city. The room was on the top floor and was clean, comfortable and warm. Found the people very friendly, decided to have dinner at the bar/restaurant rather than brave the cold and had some excellent pub meals for a very reasonable price. Would certainly recommend for all those planning a trip to Southampton.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremyw47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
1.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elizabeth House Hotel
Elizabeth House Hotel
#7 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Keys

Property: The Blue Keys
Address: 82 Northlands Road, Southampton SO15 2LH, England (Formerly The Golden Lion)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#1 Best Value Hotel in Southampton
#3 Business Hotel in Southampton
#4 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blue Keys 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Blue Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Keys Southampton
Blue Keys Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing