We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of The Blue Keys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Blue Keys
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
surrey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Stayed for one night and had a lovely time. The young guy that showed us to our room was friendly and welcoming and couldn't do enough to help us. The room was big, the bathroom was light and clean and the bed was sooooo comfortable. Southampton town was a nice short stroll away. Overall next time I'm in Southampton I will be booking a room here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room 6 it's at the back of the hotel and away from the road, although it's not a bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topsurreybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    142
    29
    7
    3
See reviews for
88
201
33
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

The level of her hospitality is some what to be desired. Scale of 1-10 with ten being the best,im afraid she dose not even reach one. Please take note people.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carloo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueKeysHotel, Manager at The Blue Keys, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Please note that the hotel is now under different management and has been since June 2012. This review should be disregarded. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyrone, N.Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

My second visit, surely that's testament enough. Had a better room this time, on lower floor with large shower cubicle.
Good food, breakfast & dinner.
Now with free Wifi.
Live music in lounge many nights is good but you will hear it in many of the rooms, we didn't mind.
Friendly helpful staff and convenient to town, common & transport links.
I'll go back.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kildress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I stayed here for one night as I was in the city for business. Upon pulling up outside I was concerned that there was live music in the pub which is part of the hotel....it was 9:30pm and I had driven several hours with an early meeting the following morning. However I need not have worried at all. From my room I could not hear the music or revellers in the pub.

The room was of a good size. Very clean and comfortable. Bathroom sparkled but I would suggest a shower curtain or door is put up so that the shower can be used standing.

The hosts were friendly but not invasive. Good coffee at breakfast. I cannot comment on the cooked breakfast as I just had coffee and toast!

All in all a great hotel and a great find for me. I will stay there again when in Southampton for business. Excellent value for money too.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s_macdonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesford
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

One young man was managing the bar, reception and restaurant when we arrived at 8.30pm but he was friendly if harassed, The room was clean however only one bedside light worked and he was unable to find another. It was chilly and neither he nor we could persuade the heating to work - we took an extra duvet from the third bed to keep warm. The manager was unavailable both in the evening and as we left in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crs010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paderno Dugnano, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I stayed at the Blue Keys Hotel during my trip across Southern England and I recommend it! The staff is great (Malcolm is a great host!), the rooms are nice, free parking and wi-fi and a nice pub at the ground floor, where you can have a beer and listen to live music after visiting the city or after a day trip to Stonehenge or all the other place to visit near Southampton.
Good value for money!

Room Tip: Room number 1: very large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank militeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Friendly hotel with live music in the bar (can be both good and bad) but otherwise not so special. Southampton is not a very exciting place overall.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjippe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
841 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,773 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
4.1 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Keys

Property: The Blue Keys
Address: 82 Northlands Road, Southampton SO15 2LH, England (Formerly The Golden Lion)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#3 Business Hotel in Southampton
#4 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blue Keys 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Blue Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Keys Southampton
Blue Keys Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing