We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and pleasant”
Review of The Blue Keys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Blue Keys
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable and pleasant”
Reviewed 7 February 2013

I stayed here while attending a conference at Southampton University (around 20 minutes' walk away) and was very happy with the quality of the accommodation. I had an attic bedroom which was cosy and nicely decorated - however, due to the sloping roof, the shower head was fitted at the level of my shoulder (not too big a problem as it was a combined bath and shower). The basic-rate breakfast was fine if a little restrictive (two items, for example cereal and toast, only), and the free wifi was a fantastic extra. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I got it on a lastminute.com deal - it may have been a little expensive otherwise.

Room Tip: Attic rooms have very low shower heads!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    142
    29
    7
    3
See reviews for
88
201
33
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brightlingsea, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Excellent..! Staff were outstanding, Food was fantastic (no soggy veg here) I had steak & ale pie with chunky chips & veg, Filled Me up a treat, Veg was cooked to perfection, the meat in the pie was in big lumps and overflowing, Second night I had carbonara, I asked for extra galric (perfect)
free wifi and only £3:20 a pint :)
shower was a good un with plenty of room.... In all a nice place to stay, I thanked the staff and complimented the chef on His cooking...!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2013

The staff and manager were very friendly. The room was comfortable. Breakfast was great. I expected to get toast and cereal and we got cooked breakfasts. All in all we enjoyed our stay at the blue keys and would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Alethea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Excellent alternative to the sanatized, somewhat soulless 'chain' hotels that frequent the city. Bags of character, friendly and courteous staff, lovely owners, decent well stocked bar and a cracking breakfast. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WHITCHY5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This is by far the cosiest room I have ever stayed in. The room was lovely, clean, I almost did not want to leave. Bed so comfortable! I stayed on the last floor, it was very quiet. Batheroom very clean and well equipped. The breakfast served in the morning was very nice as well.
I only spent one night at Blue Keys but I can highly recommend if you are staying in Southampton, excellent value for the price.
It was a real pleasure to stay there.

Room Tip: Last floor room has a nice view as well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

We only stayed one night but were still made to feel very much 'at home' by Elliot and all his staff.
The room was very clean and comfortable, breakfast choice was excellent and well presented, nothing seemed too much trouble. We will be returning soon

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank llangrallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Good location within walking distance from the town with free parking
Staff were very cheerful and nothing was a trouble
Lovely bar area
Breakfast good although menu choices a little confusing
Bedroom gimme although bathroom could so with a refresh
Would stay again

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
844 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,777 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
4.1 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Keys

Property: The Blue Keys
Address: 82 Northlands Road, Southampton SO15 2LH, England (Formerly The Golden Lion)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#3 Business Hotel in Southampton
#4 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blue Keys 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Blue Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Keys Southampton
Blue Keys Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing