We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Blue Keys
Nearby Hotels
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Highfield House Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$98
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveller rating
310
154
35
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
154
35
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall hoteleggs florentinetop floorquiet streetlovely little hotelfriendly hotelfull englishpre cruiseno liftstayed for one nightfirst floorplenty of hot watercity centrecouple of nightswedding partydouble roomdefinitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
411 - 416 of 511 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Views possibly swayed by being a wet Wednesday and tired from work and travel. The staff were friendly and helpful and the beer was reasonable but there was no real atmosphere. Whilst supping it gave me time to look at the food. One portion of limp fish with chips, one curry-lacking spice (by the sound of it), a table of younger people ordering burgers and a phone call from the Manager to the bar staff reporting another complaint. I went to the Dock o the Bay; it was really good! Breakfast food quality was good, but overall it did not match up to the reviews.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueKeysHotel, Manager at The Blue Keys, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Our menu is full of home-made dishes which are cooked to order and unfortunately the curry is not to everyone's spice. We try to do it to a medium to cater for the majority. On this ocassion we did sort the issue of spice with the customers mentioned- we take all feedback very seriously. It is a shame you didn't decide to eat dinner with us but I am glad that you that you enjoyed breakfast. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My daughter and I stayed for the weekend whilst on a theatre trip. We received a warm welcome upon arrival from the friendly staff. This is a small independent hotel which, whilst situated in a quiet, residential street, is still within walking distance of the theatre and the city centre. Breakfast was included in the room rate. The hotel is clean and the towels are incredibly soft! My bed was a little bit firm for my liking but that is just a personal preference. Although we only stayed one night, we felt that we had definitely stumbled across a little jewel as the hotel demonstrated the benefits of personal service, attention to detail and character that is often lacking in the large hotel chains. We would definitely stay here again when next visiting Southampton.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doctorbluebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueKeysHotel, Manager at The Blue Keys, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Blue Keys and felt welcomed throughout. I guess the next question is: what will you see next at the theatre! we hope to welcome you again in the future. Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Superb dinner and breakfast. All staff/management were very friendly and helpful, could not do enough for us. Reasonably sized room, very comfy bed, tea and coffee making facilities and flat screen television. Good location for the docks. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My wife & I stayed for 3 days as a transit point prior to joining a cruise. The thing that we most appealing was the ambience of the hotel itself. A very convivial atmosphere within both the bar and dining area.
Breakfast was most enjoyable and filling. Garry was most helpful and had a good sense of humour. Hotel is located about a 10 to 15 min walk from the historic old town.
My only real complaint was the weather, very cold but I guess not much the hotel can do about that!
In terms of room choice we were in room 3 which has a door to the next suite almost directly ajoining which has the potential to raise some issues regarding sleep quality from the close proximity of neighbours. I have read elsewhere that backrooms may be quieter. We were not disturbed by ambient noise from the hotel.
We stayed from Thursday to Sunday.
I would not hesitate to recomend

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FatCharlie225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

On arrival at the hotel we received a pleasant welcome by the member of staff. Our room was very good it had everything we wanted. We ate in the reasutrant the food was excellant , the bonus was that as it was a Monday we only had to pay full price for one of our mains the other cost 2.00. It was ideally placed for our visit to Southampton docks. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would stop again.l

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank denise102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews