We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Blue Keys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Blue Keys
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Just returned home after spending a week in Southampton. This hotel was superb!!!! the staff are all very friendly and welcoming and nothing is to much trouble. Our room was very comfortable and clean, the food was of a very high standard and cooked to order. I can also recommend having a facial done while your there it was fantastic and very good value for money. We had a few shopping trips whilst in the area both in Bournemouth and Portsmouth (which is a must if you like your designer wear) but it was always nice to return back to our little home from home.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angies64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueKeysHotel, Manager at The Blue Keys, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
We were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your week in Southampton visiting the surrounding areas but more importantly, enjoyed your stay at The Blue Keys. Being a small independent hotel we are pleased that you noted it was a home from home where you continually felt welcomed. We were also pleased you enjoyed your facial at our new beauty salon: Claretta's Beauty. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us- we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    143
    29
    7
    3
See reviews for
88
203
33
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night whilst on business in Southampton. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was comfortable, if a little basic in places. The decor is ready for a touch up in places but overall it was pleasant enough. The food was very good...we had dinner and breakfast and both were good. Overall it was good value for money and I would stay again

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Julian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueKeysHotel, Manager at The Blue Keys, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
We're pleased to hear that you would stay at The Blue Keys again. Whilst the majority of the hotel has been decorated since its takeover a year ago there are still a few rooms that need touching up- as you can imagine, this is an ongoing job for a busy hotel; but, we are always looking to improve and take your comments on board. We are pleased that you enjoyed both your dinner and breakfast with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

A privately owned lovely little gem.
I visited Southampton on business yesterday and today, 26/27 June, and found Blue Keys through Tripadvisor.
A lovely warm reception upon arrival to drop off our bags then head to exhibition. Equally lovely warm reception when we returned after business.
We chose dinner from a menu containing some great old favourites. Superb.
Breakfast was also superb. All food, like dinner individually prepared.
The rooms were large, clean and comfortable. Could not have asked for more.
The staff were very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. And happy to 'chat'.
All in all a very enjoyable stay.
We hope that you enjoyed the wine!!

Room Tip: Room 1, a family room, though I had single occupancy, is lovely. My colleague equally as impressed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hill7690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueKeysHotel, Manager at The Blue Keys, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thought the food was tasty. We hope that you'll stay with us again next year during the exhibition. We loved our wine- thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level 6 Contributor
632 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Views possibly swayed by being a wet Wednesday and tired from work and travel. The staff were friendly and helpful and the beer was reasonable but there was no real atmosphere. Whilst supping it gave me time to look at the food. One portion of limp fish with chips, one curry-lacking spice (by the sound of it), a table of younger people ordering burgers and a phone call from the Manager to the bar staff reporting another complaint. I went to the Dock o the Bay; it was really good! Breakfast food quality was good, but overall it did not match up to the reviews.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueKeysHotel, Manager at The Blue Keys, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Our menu is full of home-made dishes which are cooked to order and unfortunately the curry is not to everyone's spice. We try to do it to a medium to cater for the majority. On this ocassion we did sort the issue of spice with the customers mentioned- we take all feedback very seriously. It is a shame you didn't decide to eat dinner with us but I am glad that you that you enjoyed breakfast. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My daughter and I stayed for the weekend whilst on a theatre trip. We received a warm welcome upon arrival from the friendly staff. This is a small independent hotel which, whilst situated in a quiet, residential street, is still within walking distance of the theatre and the city centre. Breakfast was included in the room rate. The hotel is clean and the towels are incredibly soft! My bed was a little bit firm for my liking but that is just a personal preference. Although we only stayed one night, we felt that we had definitely stumbled across a little jewel as the hotel demonstrated the benefits of personal service, attention to detail and character that is often lacking in the large hotel chains. We would definitely stay here again when next visiting Southampton.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doctorbluebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueKeysHotel, Manager at The Blue Keys, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Blue Keys and felt welcomed throughout. I guess the next question is: what will you see next at the theatre! we hope to welcome you again in the future. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Superb dinner and breakfast. All staff/management were very friendly and helpful, could not do enough for us. Reasonably sized room, very comfy bed, tea and coffee making facilities and flat screen television. Good location for the docks. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My wife & I stayed for 3 days as a transit point prior to joining a cruise. The thing that we most appealing was the ambience of the hotel itself. A very convivial atmosphere within both the bar and dining area.
Breakfast was most enjoyable and filling. Garry was most helpful and had a good sense of humour. Hotel is located about a 10 to 15 min walk from the historic old town.
My only real complaint was the weather, very cold but I guess not much the hotel can do about that!
In terms of room choice we were in room 3 which has a door to the next suite almost directly ajoining which has the potential to raise some issues regarding sleep quality from the close proximity of neighbours. I have read elsewhere that backrooms may be quieter. We were not disturbed by ambient noise from the hotel.
We stayed from Thursday to Sunday.
I would not hesitate to recomend

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FatCharlie225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 25 in Southampton
882 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,712 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 25 in Southampton
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Elizabeth House Hotel
Elizabeth House Hotel
#6 of 25 in Southampton
365 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 25 in Southampton
1,101 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 25 in Southampton
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Keys

Property: The Blue Keys
Address: 82 Northlands Road, Southampton SO15 2LH, England (Formerly The Golden Lion)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#3 Business Hotel in Southampton
#4 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blue Keys 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Blue Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Keys Southampton
Blue Keys Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing