We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay anywhere else on South Coast”
Review of The Blue Keys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Blue Keys
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

As a professional contractor I've been working in Southampton for a number of months now and have stayed in the Blue Keys for 2 -3 nights a week and would highly recommend it to families, singles on whether you are on business or not. Elliot and his team are exactly what you don't get from so many of the faceless hotel chains I've stayed at over the years.

Friendly, personal if that suits you and above all very professional.
Paying to stay somewhere you feel at home (as much as that is possible) thats clean, with excellent service and food that is home made and always delicious.

So if you are looking for a base or just a one night stop over book the Blue Keys Hotel, I'll guarantee you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kieron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed for one night before joining a cruise ship in Southampton.
The hotel is very pleasant and staff were delightful.
The food was superb, far better than one might expect and the prices were reasonable.
I would happily recommend this hotel for cruise ship passengers travelling down the night before, it's cheaper than the big names in town and offers a much more enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madelaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The Blue Keys provided a really comfortable room and great hospitality for my night there. It seems a smart place to go even if you're not staying there with a good menu, better than average bar selection and pleasant surroundings. Its about a 15-20 minute walk into town if you want more. Breakfast was good but made to order/on request. Personally I prefer a selection of cereals, juices, yoghurts and fruit to pick from rather than having to place my order very specifically which is why I've marked them down from 'excellent'. Despite that the cooked element of breakfast was good and precisely what I asked for but it could have been so easy to give that bit more.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrogDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The beds are extremely comfortable, the food is excellent - especially the Sunday roast! I always get a warm and friendly welcome and will go back again and again. I highly recommend attending the Sunday jazz roast :)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nessie444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed here the night before a cruise all staff very helpful special mention to Gary only complaint was the restaurant shut at 4 on a Sunday breakfast very good and only five minutes from docks would definitely stay here again i

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keeper99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed for one Sunday night. Staff were very genuinely helpful and friendly without any false politeness. A particular thanks to Clare who we mainly dealt with. Room was clean, comfortable and well presented. We booked the Sunday Lunch which was excellent, as was breakfast. Free parking is available and there was live music on the day of our visit.
Would recommend this hotel. Suggest you book direct.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 122Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We arrived an hour later than planned at 11pm, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Although there isn't a lift, they carried our heavy bags up to the top floor and looked after them the next morning.
Our twin room was very comfortable, the shower room was clean. We were in the Attic room at the front, and there was no street noise that disturbed us.
Breakfast was filling and very tasty - would like to come back sometime and try the Sunday Roast!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
1.7 mi away
Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#7 of 26 in Southampton
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Elizabeth House Hotel
Elizabeth House Hotel
#8 of 26 in Southampton
389 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 26 in Southampton
1,839 reviews
1.2 mi away
Highfield House Hotel
Highfield House Hotel
#16 of 26 in Southampton
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Keys

Address: 82 Northlands Road, Southampton SO15 2LH, England (Formerly The Golden Lion)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#3 Business Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: £57 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blue Keys 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Blue Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Keys Southampton
Blue Keys Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing