We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very plaisant little hotel”
Review of The Blue Keys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Blue Keys
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Rueil-Malmaison, France
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very plaisant little hotel”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Lovely little hotel chosen thanks to Trip advisor. Service is good and bar and restaurant very plaisant. If you are fed up with Premier Inn and Holiday inn express and other chains try this hotel for a more personal touch.

Room Tip: Juste be careful that access to rooms is via staircase with no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank px0152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueKeysHotel, Manager at The Blue Keys, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your review of The Blue Keys. We're really pleased you enjoyed the stay as well as your evening meal. We hope to welcome you again if you're on further cruises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    143
    29
    7
    3
See reviews for
88
202
33
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed here for one night before a ship visit, quiet location, had the family room on the top floor which even though we had the window open the room felt very stuffy, a electric fan was in the room but this was broken and just dumped in the corner, apart from this the room was very comfortable with the most powerful shower I have ever used, good size room with comfy bed. Very quick and easy check-in, then straight to the secluded garden for a drink. Never used the restaurant for an evening meal but the breakfast was very good. One downside is the hotel does not reserve parking spaces for residents and the car park quickly fills up so you have to double park and move your car when someone else wants their car out then park in their space.. Overall pleasant stay, would use again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHARRIS5569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueKeysHotel, Manager at The Blue Keys, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Blue Keys. I was disappointed to read about the broken fan and this has now been resolved- we have put new fans in quite a few of the rooms. As you say, the top floor in the summer can get quite warm and the temperature is important to the comfort of your stay.
We are pleased overall that you enjoyed your stay- especially the showers! We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed at the Blue Keys at the end of October 2013, prior to our first ever cruise.
The hotel is located about a 15 minute walk from Southampton and a taxi ride from the embarkation point at the port.
The only bad point as far as we were concerned is the fact that when we checked in we were shown to a room right at the top of the hotel, which was very difficult to get to with the cases we had for our cruise, some friend of ours booked in to the hotel on the morning we arrived to surprise us and see us off, they only had an overnight bag and were given a room on the first floor up one very wide flight of stairs, couldn't we have been given this room instead?
When we got back to the hotel we decided to stay in the bar and have a meal there, we were not disappointed. The bar was very pleasant and the food was lovely. We got up and had a leisurely breakfast which again was very nice indeed. I would definately recommend this hotel and would stay there again but would ask for an easier to get to room.

Room Tip: If you have large suitcases as we had, ask for a room on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaz4224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueKeysHotel, Manager at The Blue Keys, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and that you would to choose to stay with us again. If you require a first floor room then please let us know in the future- we will always try and accomodate your request. When bookings are made online rooms are automatically allocated- we have slightly more flexibility if you contact us to book or after you have made a booking online. We hope to welcome you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a night and my husband stayed for 2 nights as I was having an op at Southampton hospital and we live on the Isle of Wight. The moment we arrived we were greeted by Laura who is lovely and bubbly, very friendly and efficient she works very hard. The decor is lovely very art nouveau. Our room was at the top and was very nice, immaculately clean and very well furnished. We had dinner that night and the food was superb, I can honestly say it was worthy of a top class restaurant and the best I have eaten in a guest house. The triple cooked chips were amazing as was the presentation of each meal. My husband had breakfast the next day and he said this too was excellent. He met the owner and his family who were very friendly and helpful. If we were in the area again we would have no hesitation in booking this guest house and will recommend to family and friends. Thank you to all.



Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazzy1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We just had a private party here of around 100 guests - food, service, venue and accommodation were all fantastic. The manager, Elliot, was extremely helpful in tailoring everything to our needs, getting in speciality beers and cooking up a delicious BBQ spread on the day. Great cooked breakfast the next day too. Would thoroughly recommend.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My sister was 50 on February 26th, she wanted a breakfast party for the family, after Elliot and Becky looked after us so well on our wedding reception last year we decided to hold it at the Blue Keys in Southampton.
The breakfast menu was varied and well thought out and as always the unflappable Elliot was the perfect host.
The food was delicious, we had a fruit platter with Bucks Fizz to start and we all had different choices for the breakfast dish. We had balloons on the table and Elliot provided an all froth coffee for my sister, it was so good she ordered a second.
It was a wonderful and different way to celebrate a birthday and might catch on with others.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunny2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueKeysHotel, Owner at The Blue Keys, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to welcome you back to The Blue Keys- a birthday breakfast is a fantastic idea and I'm sure you will set a precedent! We are pleased that you all had an enjoyable morning and look forward to seeing you again- perhaps just for a standard breakfast after all, non- hotel guests are always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Recently I have wondered if the hospitality industry is no more in the UK, however this hotel restored my faith. The staff are genuinely friendly, helpful, smart and accommodating.
The Hotel was smart and clean throughout, and we will be booking again in future.
I had a sore back when I got up on the Saturday morning and the Beautician found time to fit me in for a massage, which was super.
We enquired about booking a Sunday lunch, but they were fully booked, however they managed to fit our party in on an early table which was perfect for us. The menu had the trusty meals expected and some interesting specials and more unusual dishes. I had a fig and date tart for desert, the pastry was superb and the fruit delicious. Beautifully presented too.
At breakfast there was a very good selection which included all the favourites and less common dishes like eggs Benedict or Florentine.
Great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank papercrafterSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueKeysHotel, Manager at The Blue Keys, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that we have helped restore your faith and that most aspects of your stay were enjoyable. We're pleased you enjoyed both your massage and the roast dinner. If you are ever staying in Southampton again we hope you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 24 in Southampton
879 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,709 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Elizabeth House Hotel
Elizabeth House Hotel
#7 of 24 in Southampton
360 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
1,093 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 24 in Southampton
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Keys

Property: The Blue Keys
Address: 82 Northlands Road, Southampton SO15 2LH, England (Formerly The Golden Lion)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#2 Best Value Hotel in Southampton
#3 Business Hotel in Southampton
#4 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blue Keys 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Blue Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Keys Southampton
Blue Keys Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing