We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in Southampton”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Blue Keys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Blue Keys
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Southampton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel is brilliant. I went for a weekend to Southampton to visit friends and always like to book a hotel so I can have my own bathroom, bed etc. Usually I stay at Premier Inn (number 1 on here) and to be fair it is a great hotel and you know what you are going to get. However, for me, the Blue Keys is better and should be number 1.

The staff here are just different league. From the outset they were so accommodating and did everything to make our stay perfect. An example being they let me keep my car there for the day after I had checked out at no additional cost.

We had dinner at the hotel and the food was great and the staff let us pay the following morning for the meal and didn't take a card or anything (very trusting). The food was home made and it really showed.

The room itself was everything you need. Clean, comfy, 2 pillows per person, tv etc.

This hotel is full of character and I really wouldn't look any further than here for your stay in Southampton. Bear in mind that for places like Premier Inn, the brand itself gets a few points whereas hotels like this really have to go the extra mile to get votes so for this place to be so high on trip advisor, it must be good!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JonathanCastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    134
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
80
184
32
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend reasonably priced hotel but it is more of a b&b with a pub incorporated. Staff were extremely helpful room standard but clean with fresh towels and coffee and tea making facilities. A bit creaky from upstairs floorboards we were on the first floor, however not bad enough for us to loose sleep. The only critisism is the shower head a bit petty I know but there is no excuse for having a limescale free shower head and shower screen nowadays. But this has not spoiled the trip and we would go back as the staff, service and breakfast were lovely.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginge2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, the staff were amazing and we were made very welcome, all the staff went out of there way to be helpful not just to us but everyone.
We ate in restaurant both nights the food was well presented and tasty.
Kelly enjoyed our chat and wish you much happiness in the future.
Gill & Julien

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jfkGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

From the moment we crossed the threshold we were looked after extremely well by the congenial staff. Elliott, Kelly and James went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. As well as the B & B offerings the hotel has a cozy pub, dining room and patio. The rooms were very adequate, not huge, but enough space for us. Bathroom was well thought out and very clean.
Our group of 12, awaiting a cruise out of Southampton, was equally impressed as we were. While we could have ventured out for dinner we chose to “eat in” on two nights and were not disappointed.
Taxis, to accommodate 12 people and cruise luggage, were ordered for us by the hotel.
This will be our base camp for future cruises out of Southampton.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dsr1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at the Blue Keys at the end of July. We booked a room through late rooms. We were in room 7 which is right at the top of the hotel in the eaves with a small window. The ceiling is slopped on both sides but it is quite a good sized room. Large double shower , no bath. We enjoyed our two night stay at this hotel. It was extremely hot during our stay and we had one fan in our room. It was so hot upstairs that we asked for another! The young lady we asked was very efficient in finding us one. We ate at the hotel on the first evening and we felt the food was reasonably priced and of a good quality. It looked very nice on the plate. We loved the Jaffa cake sundaes ;) Nice garden to sit in. Breakfast on both mornings was very nice also - egg florentine/full cooked breakfast were our choices. This hotel is clean, well run, has good food, has a very good staff and all-in-all, just what you need for a short break. (Walk into the centre of Southampton is roughly 20-25 mins)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DangerMouse1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Everything gets a tick In the box. As usual for me this was a last minute booking and everything lived up to the reviews I had seen. Service, room, presentation, value - great! Would certainly stay again. :-)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveyGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed in this "little treasure" 1 night after our cruise. I did not want the "hassel" of trying to make our flight out of Heathrow after our cruise and booked this hotel for 1 night following our cruise.
We arrived early and they let us put our baggage away so we could explore the small city area.
( Visited the SeaCity Museum - with the Titanic exhibits).
Our dinner at the Hotel was an added BONUS - EXCELLENT food! Same with the included breakfast the next day.
We had a lovely room.
My husband who has "bad knees" was not so happy to have to bring our luggage up the 1 flight of stairs, we also used a cab to get into the "city" area although if his knees were better it would not have been that far to walk.
I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who stays in the area.
GREAT food and very nice rooms with EXCELLENT service from all of the staff.

Room Tip: Stairs only so you may want to ask for a "lower room floor"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arlenecrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
1.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elizabeth House Hotel
Elizabeth House Hotel
#7 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Keys

Property: The Blue Keys
Address: 82 Northlands Road, Southampton SO15 2LH, England (Formerly The Golden Lion)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Southampton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#3 Business Hotel in Southampton
#4 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blue Keys 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Blue Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Keys Southampton
Blue Keys Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing