We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Liane A
Upton upon Severn, United Kingdom
Fantastic Stay - Great service, comfortable, clean rooms - better than the mass- market budget hotels
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Feb 2020
We stayed here for 2 nighta whilst visiting family in the area. Booked directly which was very easy and we got the best deal and the breakfast was included free of charge. We booked a Deluxe Super KIng room - really comfortable bed - great size room and yes the water pressure for the shower is fab AND free parking. We ate at the hotel both evenings and there is a good choice on the menu, food as really tasty and well cooked, well priced and the owners son si the chef. Breakfast was really good too - pastries, toast, yoghurt, fresh fruit and great choice of cooked options. So much better than staying in a generic hotel - ( Premier Inn, Travel Lodge etc) as we felt we were really looked after by Joe from Portugal on our first evening and last breakfast the son of the owners - ( sorry we can't remember your name!) on the second. Cannot recommend highly enough.
Date of stay: January 2020
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£71
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £71
  • Vio.com
    £56
  • Expedia.com
    £71
0.5 miles from The Blue Keys Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
Welcome to Holiday Inn Southampton
Booking.com
£73
  • HolidayInn.com
    £73
  • Algotels
    £67
  • Priceline
    £73
1.2 miles from The Blue Keys Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Vio.com
£81
  • Agoda.com
    £51
  • Travelodge
    £34
  • Trip.com
    £55
1.1 miles from The Blue Keys Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
£157
  • Expedia.com
    £157
  • Vio.com
    £130
  • Hotels.com
    £157
1.7 miles from The Blue Keys Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
Double Room
Booking.com
£72
  • Expedia.com
    £72
  • Vio.com
    £60
  • Hotels.com
    £72
0.6 miles from The Blue Keys Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Restaurant
In-Room
Booking.com
£76
  • Expedia.com
    £76
  • ZenHotels.com
    £67
  • Hotels.com
    £76
1.1 miles from The Blue Keys Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£79
  • Expedia.com
    £79
  • Vio.com
    £62
  • Hotels.com
    £79
1.4 miles from The Blue Keys Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
Booking.com
£69
  • Priceline
    £69
  • ZenHotels.com
    £63
  • Expedia.com
    £69
0.7 miles from The Blue Keys Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Pool
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay hotel exterior
PremierInn.com
£35
  • Trip.com
  • Algotels
  • StayForLong
1.0 miles from The Blue Keys Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Restaurant
Booking.com
£68
  • HIExpress.com
    £68
  • Priceline
    £68
  • Expedia.com
    £68
4.0 miles from The Blue Keys Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Southampton
Reviews (609)
Filter reviews
609 results
Traveller rating
365
177
42
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
365
177
42
12
13
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 609 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2019

Stayed in this little jem on the night of the 11th with my wife. Very quiet but lovely. Nice clean comfortable room food in restaurant excellent with friendly staff aswell. I recommend as a hotel and a place to eat will stay again.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank vizzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 November 2019

The reception itself was ok! However the aftermath was something to be desired’ some MINOR issues with bride and grooms room! Which another guest was responsible for yet took no responsibility for’ wouldn’t speak to the guests and let a minor drink from the mini bar’ blocked the fire exit and have yet sent the bill them as requested! Terrible customer service! Lovely when taking thousands of pounds buy when issies were trying to be rectified didn’t want to know! Beware of this hotel

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Rizzo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheBlueKeysHotel, Owner at The Blue Keys Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2019

Thankyou for taking the time to review our hotel. As this is an ongoing legal matter we are no longer able to comment on this event at our hotel
Kind Regards
The Blue Keys Hotel, Bar & Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2019 via mobile

I first used the hotel in 1974. The hotel is a decent clean hotel with good service. So if the location works for you a good option in the 3 star sector.
The one thing they need to change is the online process. I booked and paid online so assumed all was sorted. You are then subjected to a series of aggressive texts and emails insisting on more personal data such as your passport number. I live a busy life and haven’t the time to deal with this nonsense. I don’t have this hassle with other hotels. They made a bad choice of software.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank davidmN4646UT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 October 2019

Booked for one night as we were going to Mayflower Theatre for show. Booked the deluxe superking room on first floor (room 2).
Check in was quick and easy, no one on reception but the area is visible from the bar and the young man on bar duty did the necessary in an efficient and welcoming manner. The room itself was clean and a bit 'glitzy'. The bed was enormous and very comfortable with lovely crisp white linen, we slept like logs. Breakfast was exceptional, full English freshly cooked, delicious. There was also a good choice from a continental buffet and a few other cooked options from the menu.
The only reason I gave this a 4 star instead of 5 rating was layout of the room. Like many boutique hotel rooms I've stayed in, little thought has gone into the practicalities of use. The dressing table was narrow width and had the massive TV on top so couldn't be used as a 'dressing table'. No free plugs to plug in hot air brush etc, or lay out make up etc, no mirror above. I'm sure this room was designed by a man! Likewise, the shower room could have done with somewhere to place soap bags etc and hooks/shelves for towels. We were constantly taking things in and out of the shower room after we used them due to lack of storage. This room overlooks the back area which looks onto a block of flats, there are trees in between but I feel this room would benefit from a net curtain for privacy. These points are the only reason I have deducted the last star.
As we were here only for one night these were minor issues for us but I would not like to cope with them for a longer stay Would we stay again? Yes, most definitely if we were looking for another over night stay. The accommodation.was warm and welcoming and a convenient walk to the town centre. Booking direct with the hotel included a free breakfast and there was also free parking which is a bonus. We enjoyed our stay and think it was good value for money..

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank candylugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 October 2019 via mobile

I cannot say enough about our stay. The hosts were incredible. Kind, lovely, and went above and beyond. The room was so very comfortable, the shower heavenly. We slept so well. The food was good for both dinner and breakfast. I could have stayed there for weeks!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 117leisaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews