We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, will certainly stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Southampton
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights visiting friends in the city. Room was large, well presented and clean. Hotel looks like it's just been through a big refurb, looked great! Receptionist was very helpful. Only minor negative is when I ask for an iron (it was delivered very quickly!) the previous owner had burnt something onto it so I could not iron my shirt.

Room Tip: Downstairs family room is massive!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Southampton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

Typical cheap and cheerful experience.

Very pleasant and welcoming staff, but compromised by easihotel approach to hospitality.

Exactly what it says in the label - no frills, no in-room phone and basic provision.

What else do you expect at £50 per night, but £10 for wifi not defensible.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank balfronStirlingshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I had a second floor en suite room that has been refurbished to a good standard, with all-new bathroom fittings. (Externally, hotel looks quite "tired" but inside creates a much better impression.) For a welcome change, they have provided ample storage with hanging space, open shelving and a work area along one wall, with flat-screen tv; room size was c.20 sq.m., of which the bathroom occupies a third, and was more than adequate. Very comfy bed, providing a good night's rest. Both room and public spaces were clean & tidy, notwithstanding the occasional and inevitable scuff mark in places. Despite being on the side nearest to the busy main A33 into the City from the motorway system, the double-glazing worked well but perhaps in the warmer months, traffic noise could be disruptive to the higher-numbered rooms. On arrival, staff were welcoming and efficient. The small reception area has just a few chairs and tables, with a machine dispensing soft drinks, sweets/chocolates and crisps; there is also a vending machine with hot drinks, but those are the limit of any amenities at this budget hotel. There is limited car parking at a fixed £3 per 24-hours, on a first-come, first-served basis. Access all areas seemed quite adequate, with two dedicated parking spaces and rooms on the ground floor. (The single lift to five upper floors is on the "bijou" side.)

Room Tip: Lower-numbered rooms (e.g. x01 to x04) furthest from main road.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilverBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I visited over the weekend as a late book stay to go out clubbing, the hotel was big, clean and really accommodating. Me and my friend loved how comfy the room was and how modern it was overall. very happy with our stay :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Jess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed here the night before my daughter's Uni interview. Chose it on price and location. For £50 for one night you can't go wrong. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable and had what we needed for one night. The room is a little on the small side and only has one chair so could become cramped if you are staying for several nights.The location was good, within 20 minutes of town on a straight road that felt safe even after dark. Then a 30 minute, maximum, walk in the other direction passed the Common to the University. My only negative was the reception staff, while very friendly, didn't seem to have much immediate local knowledge about where we could eat our evening meal or breakfast.
Overall, very good value for money in a basic room near to the City Centre.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alysonhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We booked this as a one night stop over for a trip to the theatre. We are familiar with Travelodge as we often use it for cheap, comfortable nights away. We chose this one based on its recent refurbishment of the rooms.
Parking was easy with plenty of spaces available on the premises at only £3.00 for 24 hours.
We were greeted warmly and let into our room promptly. Once in we were not disappointed with what we saw.
The only issue became apparent later when the weather turned rainy and windy and felt a breeze coming into the room from around the window frames. Upon further inspection we noticed that the window sill was very loose and the windows themselves had old style aluminium surrounds with its original double glazing and as such was not very energy efficient. Clearly this did not form not part of the refurbishment. This also made the rain sound very noisy against the glass which did slightly disturb our nights sleep.
Other than this one issue we were very happy with all parts of the accommodation and service.
We will definitely book with Travelodge again.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for one of the refurbished rooms as there are many rooms in this particular Travel...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommotours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I use Travelodge several times a year and this was the first visit to a refurbished site. The room was clean, bright and welcoming. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had a window, unusual but welcome, and was very well presented.
Good Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 25 in Southampton
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#13 of 25 in Southampton
987 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Southampton

Address: 144 Lodge Road, Southampton SO14 6QR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range: £46 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Southampton 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southampton Hotel Southampton
Southampton Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing