We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Southampton
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and the hotel was the best Travel Lodge we've stayed at.Recently been refurbished and the family room we had was massive!
Lady with glasses on reception was very helpful.Our 3 year old broke his elbow during our stay so we got back late and found no parking spaces so she came out and squeezed us in and was always cheerful and very helpful.

Would recommend staying here and its easy to find and close to all the local attractions.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toddygy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    96
    54
    32
    28
See reviews for
81
84
27
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Stayed overnight at the Travelodge in Southampton last weekend. It looks as if the whole hotel has been recently refurbished. Rooms are comfortable and very clean. Hotel is well situated for exploring Southampton and there is ample parking. The only downside is that there is no restaurant of bar.

Room Tip: Higher rooms give good views of the surrounding area of Southampton
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed for just one night on a shopping trip, good value. Comfortable bed hot shower and tea & coffee facilities with top ups available from reception.However the room was very small and very, very hot only a small window that opens a little. There was already an electric fan on when we got to our room. We complained the next morning and were told bigger rooms were available as family rooms and for the same price - so - our advice is book a family room.

Room Tip: choose a family room regardless of the size of your party still same price!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I normally stay at the premier inn , but they were fully booked So I decided to give Travelodge a chance as this one had been refurbished. Like many of the other reviews I had the same problem with the traffic noise as the double glazing was poor so I didn't get much sleep.no air con only a small fan that moved the hot air round the room. I was told at reception not to open my window because it would let the hot air in. Had same problem with nowhere to park. Would not stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chef22345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Bunbury, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Usual Travelodge room with king-sized bed and choice of pillows. No aircon, but on a very hot day, fan had already been turned on. Very Limited parking, but receptionist found ideal spot for us.
Close to Red Funnel dock, but a little difficult to find. Restaurant/bar over the road. Very clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed one night for a wedding, paid an extra tenner for early check-in, which was quick and friendly. There was a small car park which was reasonably priced if you were leaving the car for a long period. However, we were only there for a couple of hours before driving to the wedding, so for us it was expensive. Facilities were what you'd expect from a Travelodge. Room was spacious and recently refurbished. They had closed the windows and curtains and provided a fan to cool the room which worked quite well. However we didn't have a very good night's sleep, despite the bed being very comfortable, as the pillows were really uncomfortable - too big and lumpy. We also opened the windows when we got back for some air and it was incredibly noisy all night. Cars roaring past, sirens and an alarm. I guess it did its job at a budget price, but we weren't very refreshed the next morning!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melbo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I would just like to say I was disgusted by my stay here.

Upon arriving we could not find a parking space so had to park in an unmarked bay, stepping out the car both of our shoes stuck to the sticky ground. When we made it to the door we had to wait 10 minutes to be buzzed in, then the lady informed us she could not give us change for parking but we could use the vending machine. after figuring out that canceling the purchase will give out full change i asked the lady being reception about this and she informed us that she knew that but is NOT ALLOWED TO INFORM US OF THAT FROM HER BOSS AS THEY WANT US TO BUY THINGS FROM THE MACHINE. This is absolutely disgusting behaviour from a company your size and is surely edging on illegal?

After finally getting up to the room which was very basic but what we expected. We where immediatly hit by the heatwave, It was rediculously hot in the room with no air con to solve it (it was raining outside too) so we slept infront of a fan. The cold water to try and cool us down was also luke warm.

All in all a terrible place which I will not be staying again,

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craig r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
842 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
1.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,687 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 24 in Southampton
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Southampton

Property: Travelodge Southampton
Address: 144 Lodge Road, Southampton SO14 6QR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Southampton 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southampton Hotel Southampton
Southampton Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing