We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable night, with a good view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southampton
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed 1 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel before joining the Cunard Victoria for a cruise. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was substantial and served with a smile, even though they were very busy. The overnight price included parking and a taxi to the ship, so a very good way of parking and avoiding the cost of valet parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurleyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALGMSouthampton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Thank you for returning to the hotel before your cruise on Queen Victoria.
The hotel is very popular for pre-cruse stays & as you say, the package you stayed on included your parking & taxi to the ship which is both cost effective & relatively stress free being so close to the departure areas.
I have passed on your kind comments about the cleanliness, breakfast & the team to all concerned, it is appreciated.
Hope to welcome you back again in the future
Regards
Alastair, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,069 - 1,075 of 1,254 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2011

I feel awful writing this.... however the service at this hotel is shockingly bad! I paid for my parents to stay with me for a very special event we had in the area, I've stayed in a few Holiday Inns and I know what to expect. However at this hotel it is something else! The food took ages to arrive, at least a 40 min wait for the mains and we was the only people dining in the restaurant that night. The wait was NOT worth it! My dad actually said it was the worst steak he has had in his life. There was at least 4 young staff members’ just standing meters from our table having a convocation. I was extremely embarrassed at sending my parents there.

The rooms look dated however the beds as in most Holiday Inns are very comfy. Hotel was spotlessly clean and reception staff was very friendly. Great location too.

I’d recommend the Hilton Southampton! Previous year I stayed here with my parents and had a fantastic meal with professional service in a nice surrounding (the restaurant at the Holiday Inn looks like a café with nice napkins on the table) Hilton is much better and is not over priced at all (apart from the drinks…. But that’s the same in most hotels).

Room Tip: Go to the Hilton...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stacey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALGMSouthampton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

I am very sorry to learn that your parents stay wth us was not up to our usual high standard. I can assure you that we do take all comments very seriously & I have addressed the situation with the senior restaurant team & chef to make sure that this does not happen again.
Your kind comments regarding the hotel cleanliness & the friendliness of the reception team are appreciated & I have shared your comments with the team.
We would like the opportunity to look after you again in the future, if you would make contact directly with me, I will make sure you are looked after.
Regards
Alastair, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Next to the docks and not very close to the town. Plenty of other hotels around. the room was clean and as expected. I was put into room 11 on the 6th floor which was next to the lift. When i asked to be moved they could only offer me room 10 on the same floor, which was the other side of the lift. they said that the hotel was full but at breakfast it didn't look like it. To get internet access they charged either £10 for 5 hours or £16 for 24 hours. I pay less than this for a months access at home and the speed was not exactly fast. Breakfast was OK with nothing out of the ordinary. The Grand Habour Hotel across the road offered room (B&B) for the same price and looked better.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 10 and 11 on each floor as they are next to the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nik2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALGMSouthampton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to put a report regarding your stay on Trip Advisor. I am really sorry to read that you were disturbed by the noise. On the night in question, we were very busy & unable to move you to a quieter room. I sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us again & would request that you make contact with me personally & I will make sure you are looked after.
Kind regards
Alastair, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Just returned from yet another visit to the Holiday Inn, Southampton, and once again received excellent service. The hotel is ideally positioned, with fascinating views over Southampton water for watching the coming and going of all the shipping, and within easy walking distance of West Quay shopping centre. There is a wonderful little pub, The Duke of Wellington, nearby, and all the restaurants of Oxford Street just a little further away.
The staff are always very friendly, and the staff in the breakfast room work really hard to keep everything running smoothly. We are looking forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have the best views of the boats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cuttlefish36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALGMSouthampton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

It is always very rewarding for the team to welcome back regular guests & than you for your kind comments. Your very kind comments about the excellent service, friendly staff & hard working breakfast team as appreciated & have been passed on.
I agree that the views on both sides of the hotel are fascinating with all the activity on Southampton Water.
Look forward to welcoming you again soon
Regards
Alastair, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We spent the 29th and 30th October 2011 at this Holiday Inn. We had a room on the 7th floor facing the harbour, the view was great. The Hotel is conveniently situated for the Harbour, the nearby Shopping Centre and the older part of Southampton should you want to explore. The hotel was clean, the food was excellent and the staff were happy. If you are contemplating a stay in Southampton, especially if you are going on a cruise this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: higher front facing rooms have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RegJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALGMSouthampton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Southampton.
I agree, the views are fantastic & the hotel location is perfect for the shops & all the City facilities.
Your kind comments regarding the cleanliness & food & the happy staff are appreciated & I have passed this on to the team.
We do look after large numbers of pre cruise guests so it is indeed a perfect location, so handy for all the berths
Regards
Alastair, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Stayed at this hotel for the Southampton Boatshow. If you are going to the boatshow, this is by far the best place to stay as it is right in the middle of the showground.
It gives you fantastic access to the whole show (it also quite often saves you having to climb those horrible pedestrain stairs to cross the roads) and entry into the show is included in the price of the hotel.

The staff at the hotel were very pleasant and helpfull, as you would expect for £200 per night ! The rooms were clean and functional. The breakfast was good and the waiting staff polite.

My only gripe is that this hotel is looking very tired and is in urgent need of a serious make over as in general it is looking extremely tired and very well used.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stupot1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALGMSouthampton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Thank you for your comments about your stay during the National Boat Show in September. The hotel is indeed in a prime position right in the middle of the show with great access. Also thank you for your kind comments about the team at the hotel & the breakfast, I will pass this on. I have taken note regarding the hotel looking a little tired, the whole ground floor has been refurbished recently & we have plans to continue a programme of refurbishment in the bedrooms & bathrooms. I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future
Regards
Alastair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Stayed here a few weeks ago the night before we boarded the Queen Mary 2. Hotel Location is great. The pool although it is indoors is in another building at the front of the hotel and you have to go outside to get to it. Not great this time of year as it was cold passing from one building to another.
The Hotel reception area looked clean and tidy and you could see it had been refurbished. The bedrooms however looked very old and tired with very old bathrooms. These definately need work doing to them.
We were unable to have dinner as the restuarant was full of coach parties having dinner. Room Service was delivered quickly and food was good but only luke warm.
Overall this is a great property if your boarding a ship the next day.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poppiesbrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALGMSouthampton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us before your cruise. As you quite rightly say, our location for pre cruise stays is very good, only a couple of minutes from all the city cruise terminals. The lounge & public areas have been refurbished & I have noted your comments about the bedrooms & bathrooms. I am sorry that you were unable to dine with us due to the numbers in the Resaturant, this should not have been that case. I will investigate & check out why this happened.
I hope we can lok after you again prior to your next cruise
Regards
Alastair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 25 in Southampton
1,940 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#8 of 25 in Southampton
1,071 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
0.3 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southampton

Address: Herbert Walker Avenue, Southampton SO15 1HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: £62 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southampton 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Southampton is situated in the heart of Southampton City Centre, with views over the waterfront and close to the M3 and M27 motorwaysThe Holiday Inn Southampton is located next to all Major Cruise Terminals making it the prime hotel for your Pre Cruise Stay. A pre cruise package rate is available which includes Breakfast, Car Parking and Transfer to the TerminalDuring your stay you can take advantage of West Quay Shopping Centre, day trips to the Isle of Wight, New Forest, and Paulton's ParkThe Holiday Inn Southampton is host to the PSP Southampton Boat Show. The hotel is centred in the heart of the show ground making it the ideal location to stay. Package rates available direct at the hotel.The hotel consists of 130 en-suite, air conditioned bedrooms with high speed Internet access, Spirit Health Club, Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and LoungeOur facilities also include 24 hour Room Service and free use for our residents to the Spirit Health Club which includes an indoor swimming pool, gym and sauna.The Holiday Inn Southampton has 5 Meeting Rooms and can accommodate up to 180 delegates, ideal for meetings and all special occassions. All rooms have air conditioning, wireless Internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffeeAccessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free(Terms and Conditions Apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, IHG, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southampton Hotel Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing