We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Night reception staff terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southampton
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Potton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Night reception staff terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

I arrived at the HI Southampton at 11:00 after a long drive from home. Tired and just wanting some quick and courteous service I was met with the most disinterested, dishevelled and disaffected receptionist it has ever been my displeasure to meet. His appearance matched his behaviour perfectly: stained and over-used shirt, grey at the cuffs and down the placket. Grubby tie which looked as if it had spent most of its time in the bottom of a locker. The greeting was minimal and pathetic, not an ounce of friendliness. The business of registering was over in a minute or so and I was given my room card with the words "609". That was it. I had booked a double non-smoking and was shocked to discover room 609 is a twin smoker. Returning to the same pathetic looking individual who had checked me in; his only response in the 4 minutes i stood there waiting for another room key was "huh", nothing else - no apology, nothing.
The rooms here are very average, the service on check-in was simply the worst I have ever experienced. My advice - get this individual some customer service training or get rid. He does nothing for the brand of HI and would be better suited working in an environment where he can look at his customer with a blank stare uttering the monotone phrase "computer says no" - in this he would be role-model.

Room Tip: The Novotel across the road looks very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corporatedrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for feeding back your arrival experience at the Hotel. I am in complete agreement with you and very much hope you will accept my apologies for the lack of basic courtesy and basic hospitality. Please rest assured that this incident is not typical to our otherwise high standards of customer service and your feedback will be acted on in terms of reviewing our welcome procedures and retraining our team members were necessary.
Thank you very much for bringing your experience to our attention.
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    433
    260
    87
    50
See reviews for
198
484
54
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Check-in was quick and the Receptionist was genuinely friendly and caring. As a Priority Club member, no upgrade was available due to the hotel being fully booked, but water and chocolates were offered.

Room was comfortable, as was the bed and pillows. Perhaps a bit dates, but fit for purpose. The room had a good view of arriving and departing cruise ships.

Swimming pool and spa was great! Staff in the gym was also very friendly and helpful.
Good location for exploring local historic bits and shooing centre.

The breakfast was the usual Holiday Inn spread, all fresh and a great selection of fruit in the fruit salad!

Only negative point... Why charge so much for Wi-Fi?! £16 for 24 hours is day light robbery! And Also... How does Holiday Inn, sponsor of the Olympics get there promotional material wrong?! (see attached photo of incorrectly used apostrophe!) Inexcusable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mw_dewit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Overall, my stay was fine. The location is great and the staff was very affable but rooms could use a bit of upgrading though they are of good size. As a previous reviewer mentioned, it's a standard Holiday Inn. The food at the restaurant is pretty decent but their hours are somewhat inflexible. Depending on the price, I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your posting your review following your recent stay. Our location is indeed very central and easy to access when visiting the city. We very much pride ourselves in providing a high and personal level of service and I am very pleased you had an opportunity to experience this. We recently launched our great new Best of British Menu and I am delighted you had an opportunity to sample this. Our restaurant is open for dinner every day from 18.30 until 22.00 whilst our extensive lounge menu is available daily from 11.00am until 23.00hrs. I very much hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Joost
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Needed an overnight stay for 6 adults and 15 days parking for 2 cars prior to a cruise. Bed and Breakfast plus parking at this hotel turned out cheaper than booking P&O's own parking. With a fantastic location for both the cruise terminal (we could see and hear our ship come in on the morning of departure) and the city centre for some last minute shopping, this hotel was perfect. An added bonus of free taxis to the ship were included....perfect for excited passengers with heavy suitcases.
Large comfy beds, clean rooms and fab breakfasts set us up nicely for our well earned holiday.

Room Tip: Book through Holiday Inn's own website or central booking line for best deals and help booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LA1Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted you had a comfortable stay with us before setting sail and enjoy your holiday. We indeed offer some great Park Stay & Go offers and I am pleased you were able to take advantage of this. All our packages can be booked by contacting the hotel directly or via our website (hisouthamptonhotel.com)
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

I was greeted well with very helpful receptionist, & was pleased with Platinum upgrade. My room had a nice view of the Solent & a good range of TV channels including HD.
A slight concern about the bath cleanliness with a used bath flannel left on the side...
Room service was pretty good with generous portions, although I would have liked more variation on my cheeseboard.
I slept well as the bed was comfortable.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soutenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Southampton. I am very pleased to read we were able to upgrade you to an Executive Room and that you had a great night’s sleep. I am also delighted to read you received a warm welcome upon arrival. Your comment in regards to a used bath flannel left in the room is obviously of concern and I will address this with my Housekeeping Manager. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon!
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stay here every time we cruise and find it comfortable, clean and friendly staff that have become somewhat like family to us after all these trips. Great to see the same faces each visit. Kudos to Michelle and Sammi on front desk. Smooth and efficient check-in and check-out. Location is excellent for shopping, restaurants etc. High Street is historic and busy and an easy walk. The hotel has been there for a while and while somewhat dated, all the essentials are there for a nice, comfortable stay. Try the breakfast. One of the best we found in over two months on this European trip.Our compliments to management for retaining such a diligent staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HavnfunOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Stayed for two nights at this hotel. On arrival Michelle in reception was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 615, which is a smoking room (hard to come by) but for us it was lovely, so if your not a smoker don't take a room near this one, as you can definately smell the smoke. The room was bsic but very clean and quite spacious. It had great views over the quay and it was nice to see the cruise ships coming and going.We ate in the hotel friday night, as this was part of our package, we weren't expecting it to be anything special but the food was superb. All the staff were smiling and happy even though they were extremely busy with most of the guests taking a cruise ship the next day. There was one member of staff Warren, who worked incredible hard, but was never too busy to assist a customer - so refreshing, to meet staff with such a good customer service attitude.
Breakfast was not a let down either, a wide selection with cereals, cold meats, dansih pastries and full english all self service.
The pool was a short walk across the car park, wasn't very big or deep, but great for a quick swim, with a hot tub in the corner, also a sauna in the changing rooms. A towel is given to you when you sign in.
Due to the good location, we took the short walk to the shopping centre, and it was only £4.50 by taxi to Oxford Street to visit some bars.
Very impressed with the hotel, staff and food tht we would stay again.

Room Tip: Smoking rooms are available in this hotel - just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jvs_12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at the Hotel. I am very grateful for your nice comments and I am delighted you thought the quality of food on our new Best of British Menu and the Breakfast Buffet were exceeding your expectation. I would like to thank you for recognising two members of my Team who clearly lived up to the level of service we aim to delight all our guests with. We hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel again at some stage in the future.
Kind regards
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southampton

Property: Holiday Inn Southampton
Address: Herbert Walker Avenue, Southampton SO15 1HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southampton 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Southampton is situated in the heart of Southampton City Centre, with views over the waterfront and close to the M3 and M27 motorwaysThe Holiday Inn Southampton is located next to all Major Cruise Terminals making it the prime hotel for your Pre Cruise Stay. A pre cruise package rate is available which includes Breakfast, Car Parking and Transfer to the TerminalDuring your stay you can take advantage of West Quay Shopping Centre, day trips to the Isle of Wight, New Forest, and Paulton's ParkThe Holiday Inn Southampton is host to the PSP Southampton Boat Show. The hotel is centred in the heart of the show ground making it the ideal location to stay. Package rates available direct at the hotel.The hotel consists of 130 en-suite, air conditioned bedrooms with high speed Internet access, Spirit Health Club, Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and LoungeOur facilities also include 24 hour Room Service and free use for our residents to the Spirit Health Club which includes an indoor swimming pool, gym and sauna.The Holiday Inn Southampton has 5 Meeting Rooms and can accommodate up to 180 delegates, ideal for meetings and all special occassions. All rooms have air conditioning, wireless Internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffeeAccessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free(Terms and Conditions Apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southampton Hotel Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing