We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southampton
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Short weekend break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

My partner and I stopped over at the Holiday Inn as we were seeing a show in Southampton. Upon arrival, we discovered that the Olympic Torch was due in Southampton and all the crew associated with this were staying in the hotel. Despite the hotel being fully booked, we were not disturbed by any noise which was a surprise given most of the occupants were up at 4am the following morning! Once again we'd hah a very pleasant stay here and will happily stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jvs_12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear Alex
Thank you for selecting to stay with us in combination with seeing a show at the Theatre when Southampton welcomed the Olympic Torch to the town. It was indeed a very busy weekend but I am pleased you enjoyed a relaxing and comfortable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back at a future date.
Yours sincerely
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    434
    260
    87
    50
See reviews for
198
485
54
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston Ontario
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We arrived early and our room was ready for us after a good 'sharing' lunch in the lounge. While we had lunch, our bags were looked after. The lift is small. The room was clean comfortable and facing our dock :). We were directed to a,local pub for supper which was excellent. The front staff, although trying to be helpful, were a bit vague, or hard to understand about walking into town for some shops. A map would be helpful! Taxi's were called by the hotel when needed. The breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jvs_12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for posting your review following your recent stay at the hotel. I am delighted to read you were accommodated in a room that faced the terminal where your cruise ship docked. I am pleased that you felt selecting the Holiday Inn Southampton was a good choice and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back at some stage in the future!
Kind regards
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pentraeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

For those who are going on a cruise this is such a convenient place to stay. You can even see your cruise ship from your hotel window. It caters largely for those who are going on cruises and is also so convenient for the Isle of Wight ferry. The rooms are an adequate size and are nice and airy with large windows. Parking is good and although there are not many facilities on offer, it has always been good value for money. The food is good and the service has always been very quick and there is a small bar. We have stayed here several times just for a couple of nights and it has always been everything we required. The shopping centre at West Quay is literally just across the road and there are plenty of good restaurants within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angleseypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jvs_12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear Guest
I am delighted to read you once again enjoyed your stay with us and your longstanding patronage to the Hotel is very much appreciated. Most of our rooms indeed have a great view across the bay and therefore provide fantastic views of the Cruise Ships when they dock in Southampton. It is fair to say that because of our location we are a popular hotel amongst cruise passengers however this is only seasonal and only during the nights cruise ships are in town. Outside that we provide equally great hospitality to the corporate and indeed weekend leisure travelers. I noticed from your feedback you also had an opportunity to try out our great new Best of British Menu and appreciated the attentative service. We look forward to welcoming you back prior to you joining your next cruise!
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Southampton one night before a Celebrity lines Baltic cruise and I can highly recommend the hotel for that purpose and perhaps for those looking for a short stay in the city where they want to be near the docks.

The hotel is very close to the City Terminal where our ship docked. You can exit the hotel, turn the corner on the hotel parking area, and walk through the security entrance to the pier and to the ship. But as close as it is, it is still a bit of a walk to the boarding area, so perhaps too much of a burden for people with multiple and heavy bags or when raining. The terminal used by Cunard was also visible, but much farther away from a walking perspective, and it didn’t seem easily reachable on foot. The hotel staff at reception arranged a taxi, which arrived promptly for us, and took us through the gate to the boarding area. The cost as I recall was about 3 or 4 GBP plus a tip, which was a good deal given our over-packed and heavy luggage.

Overall the hotel, amenities and service were very good. The attentiveness, efficiency and friendliness of the reception staff varied. One reception staff person was superb and went out of her way to anticipate issues and questions. The others were perfunctory and didn't smile. Our room wasn’t ready as we arrived early, and so we had lunch at the indoor bar/lounge, next to reception where the service by the bartender was very cordial and efficient, and the comfort food very good. Dinner at the restaurant was convenient and the food and service both good. The restaurant was busy at dinner with many cruise passengers, so we made a table reservation when we checked in, which was a good idea – as we finished our early dinner there was a queue waiting for tables.

Visitors who want to use a hotel as a base for spending several days in Southampton may want a hotel closer to the city center. We walked to the high street and the new maritime museum and Titanic exhibit (which was very well done and about a 20 minute walk) following the old city walls. At night the hotel seemed a bit out of the way for walking. Taxis seemed plentiful during the day.

The room was comfortable, very clean, with comfortable beds and pillows, but some of the furnishings, the hallways and elevators were beginning to show wear.

A few observations: Internet access is too expensive at 16GBP for 24 hours. Breakfast was very good, and in our case included in the room rate. You should inquire which direction the room faces – ours faced the Cunard terminal, but not the City terminal, so we couldn’t see our ship at pier side in the morning from the room.

Overall a very good choice for cruise passengers.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chesapeake_voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jvs_12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your extensive feedback following your recent pre-cruise stay and indeed your endorsement. The Holiday Inn Southampton is indeed located at the quay side between the City and Cunard Terminals and therefore ideally suited for pre and post-cruise stays. We offer a number of Cruise Packages which can be booked directly with the hotel or via our website. We very much hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel at some stage in the future.
Yours sincerely
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

I have been staying at this hotel for two weeks so I have tried pretty much everything it has to offer which in truth is not very much. It mainly caters for large groups coming off, or going onto cruise ships. There is good parking and the location for the docks is convenient. The hotel has a small reception with quite possibly the most indifferent staff you will see this side of Brighton. There are two miniscule lifts, one of which is often out of order; so after a long journey you can expect to stand in line for the lift for some while. The bedrooms are clean, but old and tired and badly in need of a refurb. Breakfast is quite good with a reasonable buffet offering and the morning waiting staff are pleasant and efficient. Dinner however is another story. On our first night here, our group booked at 8pm for dinner and received the appetiser at 9pm and the main course an hour later. Truly awful to the extent that in two weeks we have not eaten here again but have gone to the pub instead ! For pre cruise groups or those who just want very basic on a budget it would fit the bill, but other than that...don't bother

Room Tip: Try to avoid being above the function suite a weekends or you won't get much sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Threestripe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jvs_12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Guest
Further to your feedback following your recent stay. Naturally I am very concerned and disappointed to read we clearly did not meet your expectations in providing you with the comfort, service and hospitality we typically are so proud of. I would like to assure you that you comments will be shared with my Management Team during our regular operational review meetings. On a more positive note I am pleased to read that you found our staff to be pleasant and efficient. In regards to the lifts we indeed experienced some malfunctions of late however these have now been resolved and both our lifts are now again in full working order. Once again, my sincere apologies and I am sorry we failed to meet your expectations during your recent stay.
Kind regards
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We were using this hotel on what was probably one of, if not the, busiest days in Southampton.

Because of a change in plans we needed to have an early check-in so I emailed the hotel and was pleased to find that this had been actioned and we were in our room before 1:00pm.

We had a Executive room on the 8th floor which, if the weather had not been so bad, would have given us a superb view across the docks.

The hotel is showing a few signs of its age - especially the lifts. If you are in a hurry then you may need to start out early, especially at busy times of the day.

The staff were friendly, efficient and helpful.

I think that having to pay £7 to park is a bit unreasonable when paying for a room as is charging £16 for Internet access which is why I have marked it down on value.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireDavid63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jvs_12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at the Hotel. I am delighted to read we were able to accommodate your request for early access to your room and that you thought all members of my team were friendly, efficient and helpful. It is unfortunate, and indeed a great shame that the poor weather during your stay did spoil the great views from your room over the docks. I very much appreciate your comments in regards to the pricing of some of our ancillary services. Whilst I like to assure you our prices for these services are competitive for a city centre hotel you feedback has been noted and will be considered when reviewing these areas next.
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We booked the package of one night pre-cruise stay with up to 15 nights parking included. The room was excellent with views over the park and ships moored nearby. The included breakfast was varied and very good with service from 2 extremely attentive and helpful ladies. The access to both the cruise terminels and the town centre is most convenient and there are many restaurants and bars within easy walking distance. We ate dinner at a nearby pub but from what we saw of the other guests enjoying dinner in the hotel when we returned, we wished we had stayed there. I fully intend to stay at this hotel again on our next trip to Southampton and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greekophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jvs_12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for selecting to stay at the Holiday Inn Southampton prior to joining your Cruise. We take great pride in providing our guests with great service and a high level of hospitality. It is therefore very pleasing to read we didn’t disappoint you!
As you say in your review I most certainly hope you will have an opportunity to dine with us next time you stay at the Hotel. We have recently launched our fantastic new Best of British Menu, offering a great choice for everyone!
Kind regards
Joost
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southampton

Property: Holiday Inn Southampton
Address: Herbert Walker Avenue, Southampton SO15 1HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southampton 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Southampton is situated in the heart of Southampton City Centre, with views over the waterfront and close to the M3 and M27 motorwaysThe Holiday Inn Southampton is located next to all Major Cruise Terminals making it the prime hotel for your Pre Cruise Stay. A pre cruise package rate is available which includes Breakfast, Car Parking and Transfer to the TerminalDuring your stay you can take advantage of West Quay Shopping Centre, day trips to the Isle of Wight, New Forest, and Paulton's ParkThe Holiday Inn Southampton is host to the PSP Southampton Boat Show. The hotel is centred in the heart of the show ground making it the ideal location to stay. Package rates available direct at the hotel.The hotel consists of 130 en-suite, air conditioned bedrooms with high speed Internet access, Spirit Health Club, Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and LoungeOur facilities also include 24 hour Room Service and free use for our residents to the Spirit Health Club which includes an indoor swimming pool, gym and sauna.The Holiday Inn Southampton has 5 Meeting Rooms and can accommodate up to 180 delegates, ideal for meetings and all special occassions. All rooms have air conditioning, wireless Internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffeeAccessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free(Terms and Conditions Apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southampton Hotel Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing