We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent cruise, stay and park package!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southampton
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
590 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“Excellent cruise, stay and park package!”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We've stayed at the Holiday Inn in Southampton several times using their stay and park package. Everything is very well organised including a taxi to the terminal on the following day, the car park is secure, well lit and with barrier access.

The first time we stayed we were given a suite on the top floor - what a treat this was!!! A separate bedroom and sitting room with large flat screen TVs in both rooms, walk in wardrobe and beautiful bathroom and spectacular views over the old town and Red Funnel ferry area. And being so high up, it was quiet also so no traffic noise to disturb us!

Since then we've stayed in all other grades of rooms, and all have been fine with plenty of space, comfortable beds and good facilities.

We usually eat in the hotel restaurant at night, the food is good, there is a great choice and the hotels stocks one of our favourite New Zealand Marlborough wines! Breakfast is also very good, self service, with everything you could wish for, including a self service pancake machine !!!

We love the position of the hotel - on the waterside, with views on both sides to the various cruise terminals so you can usually see your ship when you wake in the morning. It's easy to walk into town also, there is an excellent shopping centre including a traditional town centre and a new shopping mall - excellent for all those last minute things that I forgot to pack! It's an easy walk to the old town and defensive walls, which we keep meaning to explore - maybe this next time we'll do that.

And finally, if you arrive before 4.30 ish, go outside to the Mayflower Park after you have checked in (literally just over the road) and you can watch the sail away of cruise liners, knowing that it will be your turn tomorrow!

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have the best views, and are much quieter although all windows are good a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    433
    260
    87
    50
See reviews for
198
484
54
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
250 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business a number of times when working in Southampton City Centre. The hotel is a convenient walk to the main high street and many of the rooms have a view out onto the water. Breakfast is ok, not brilliant, as it is buffet style. The bar is also ok, but lacks atmosphere as it straddles the reception. The staff are very friendly and you are always greeted with a smile. Would stay here again when on business.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TonyH_Bournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This was my first stay at a Holiday Inn hotel and I was amazed at how nice it was for the money it cost us. There was plenty of parking and the hotel was set back from the main road yet easily accessible from Southampton main city and the docks.
We had a warm welcome at reception and given a choice of room.
Our room was spacious and very clean with a lovely modern bathroom and power shower. Everything worked as it should and the bed was very comfortable. We were able to open the windows and we still heard very little noise.
We paid fifty pounds for a double room and this included a buffet style breakfast. There was a lot of choices here and it was fresh and hot. The restaurant was large clean and modern and the staff were well organised.

Although this hotel is just minutes from the city it is also just a five minute drive from the beautiful Itchen Valley Country park. The M27 link to the motorways is nearby making this hotel a very good choice for anyone wishing to spend a few days in Southampton..

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarySunshine564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
104 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

If you are looking for a hotel to embark/disembark a ship the Holiday Inn is a solid choice. It is located across from the newly built Carnival Corp. corporate offices and a 5 minute drive from West Quay shopping center and high street Southampton. It is only about a 5-10 minute drive from the main Southampton rail station and all the cab drivers know where it is. It also across the street from the De Vere Grand Hotel.

I was in Southampton to meet some friends coming off a cruise ship. I chose an executive room because I wanted a little more space. The room was bright with the typical layout and decor of holiday inns around the world. No better no worse. The room was clean although not spotless with a small amount of dirt near what was formerly the minibar area and some minor age wear on the desk and the walls.

Nonetheless, it was a comfortable choice and easy as pie to get to and from a cruise ship. At 80-120 GBP + VAT per night I found its prices competitive with other hotels of note in Southampton. If you need a safe choice while cruising you really can't go wrong with the Holiday Inn. However, given the constant hubbub of cruisers embarking and disembarking everyday I might choose a different property for long stays or business.

Staff was friendly and helpful and amazingly cheerful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twainandwhitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Booked this hotel for one night only. At reception we were given the choice of being either at the front or the back of the hotel. When we arrived at our room the door hinges were extremely loose, so when closing the door it made a very loud noise. On our way out of the hotel in the afternoon we alerted the receptionist and on our return the door hinges and the screws had been rectified.

We chose the back over looking the ships. View was excellent and so was the room which had obviously been recently decorated. Large television, which you could easily watch from your bed. Good nights sleep.

In the morning the breakfast room was extremely busy which wasn't a problem, as we were promptly seated by one of the waitresses. They seemed to be run ragged but were extremely courteous and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Excellent buffet choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillianfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights during a weekend break in Southampton. The hotel is very close to the docks and is obviously used by people for one night stop overs before going on cruises.
The hotel was ok but a little too functional for me. The rooms were small and the carpet had stains. There was very little in the way of toiletries. The staff were quite pleasant and the reception staff were ok. We were priority club members but we were not treated as such with the staff not really treating us as we have been in other member hotels. The drinks were expensive in the bar but the breakfast was good.
Would probably stay in another hotel if we return to Southampton

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albionHalesowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear albionHalesowen,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon south staffs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

stayed just one night, 20th april ,freindly reception staff, room was light,spaciouse,and clean,breakfast was good / plenty , swimming pool enjoyable ,only downfall was the car parking charges being £7 per day
overall good value,would stay again if in area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank co_sha2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
721 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
0.4 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#10 of 24 in Southampton
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southampton

Property: Holiday Inn Southampton
Address: Herbert Walker Avenue, Southampton SO15 1HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southampton 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Southampton is situated in the heart of Southampton City Centre, with views over the waterfront and close to the M3 and M27 motorwaysThe Holiday Inn Southampton is located next to all Major Cruise Terminals making it the prime hotel for your Pre Cruise Stay. A pre cruise package rate is available which includes Breakfast, Car Parking and Transfer to the TerminalDuring your stay you can take advantage of West Quay Shopping Centre, day trips to the Isle of Wight, New Forest, and Paulton's ParkThe Holiday Inn Southampton is host to the PSP Southampton Boat Show. The hotel is centred in the heart of the show ground making it the ideal location to stay. Package rates available direct at the hotel.The hotel consists of 130 en-suite, air conditioned bedrooms with high speed Internet access, Spirit Health Club, Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and LoungeOur facilities also include 24 hour Room Service and free use for our residents to the Spirit Health Club which includes an indoor swimming pool, gym and sauna.The Holiday Inn Southampton has 5 Meeting Rooms and can accommodate up to 180 delegates, ideal for meetings and all special occassions. All rooms have air conditioning, wireless Internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffeeAccessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free(Terms and Conditions Apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southampton Hotel Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing