We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Cruise Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southampton
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Llantwit Major
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Cruise Hotel”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Just stayed 1 night before a cruise. Also parked my car there for the duration of the cruise as part of a package.
Dinner & breakfast there was fine. Service very good although breakfast time was a bit manic as everyone seemed to come down at the same time! However the very friendly staff coped with it
Room comfortable & clean.
Very close to a big shopping centre for those items you'd forgotten to bring with you.
Andy & co in reception also very helpful.

All in all, a good start to a holiday and would definitely stay there again for my next cruise from Southampton.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mehefinllanmaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    463
    279
    95
    59
See reviews for
227
520
58
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Pros:
- Location
- Staff very friendly and accommodating
- Clean rooms
- Breakfast was REALLY good!

Cons:
- Tired hotel
- swimming pool not inside the hotel! You have to cross the car park!

Overall it was a pleasant stay. The grand harbour hotel across the road looked a lot better though and I don't think there was much difference in price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear leecasey,

Thank you for the candid review of our hotel. We are glad to read your overall stay was pleasant. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note of your valuable comments and we will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated near the West Quay shopping centre, Ikea and just off a main road.

Like most Holiday Inns, it's in need of a refurb. Tired decor and decoration.

However the great value room rates, friendly staff and service make up for that.

Good food in the restaurant and a well stocked breakfast buffet mean you'll not go hungry.

Aldo has a Good sized car park and special rates

Overall an ideal place to stay if you're in the area

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skt999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed in a room designed for the partially disabled, which was fine, but . ... the sound of loos flushing etc in nearby apartments was extremely loud, there was no hot water at all on our floor, the internal telephone did not work so no help could be summoned without a personal trip to Reception. When offered an alternative room in which to shower the following morning, we found that the room was already occupied, and the second room o0ffererd was 6 floors away, scarcely pleasant to travel to by lift when the hotel was already busy with breakfast and prople checking out.. Admittedly, we were offered our money back for the room, but this was inadequate for the very poor start to out holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 537Huff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear 537Huff,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations regarding customer service and the lack of hot water during your stay. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I had a bit of a downer on this chain from my experiences in the late nineties and early 2000's. however my recent stay at the excellent Holiday Inn Express in Poole, changed my perception and i decided to give its Full Service cousin a try.

There is nothing fundamentally wrong with the hotel, and if you just want a bed it should suit you fine. It is spotlessly clean and well maintained.

My room on the 9th (top) floor had a great view of the quay, but other than that, very plain and functional.

My main gripe is the public areas on the ground floor. The reception, bar and restaurant are in a big open plan area and all the seating is designed for people who are eating. So if you want a quiet drink in a comfy chair, this is not the place for you, being such a large open plan area, it can get very noisy.

Fortunately there are any good pubs and restaurants with easy walking distance. Get a map, and make your walk to Oxford St for a good selection.

Other than that, the staff could show a little more interest in the customers than in each other, and perhaps keep their gripes out of earshot. After waiting for about five minutes to be served at an empty bar, one of the group of staff chatting in the restaurant, finally managed to find the time to serve me. And later in the evening, the bar staff only paused their conversation long enough to ask what I wanted before resuming as they prepared the order.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinLeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear KevinLeah,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the public area arrangement. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here by chance after finding ourselves stranded in Southampton.
The hotel was really busy as there were a number of ships in port, but the room was great and the staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
625 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We've stayed at the Holiday Inn in Southampton several times using their stay and park package. Everything is very well organised including a taxi to the terminal on the following day, the car park is secure, well lit and with barrier access.

The first time we stayed we were given a suite on the top floor - what a treat this was!!! A separate bedroom and sitting room with large flat screen TVs in both rooms, walk in wardrobe and beautiful bathroom and spectacular views over the old town and Red Funnel ferry area. And being so high up, it was quiet also so no traffic noise to disturb us!

Since then we've stayed in all other grades of rooms, and all have been fine with plenty of space, comfortable beds and good facilities.

We usually eat in the hotel restaurant at night, the food is good, there is a great choice and the hotels stocks one of our favourite New Zealand Marlborough wines! Breakfast is also very good, self service, with everything you could wish for, including a self service pancake machine !!!

We love the position of the hotel - on the waterside, with views on both sides to the various cruise terminals so you can usually see your ship when you wake in the morning. It's easy to walk into town also, there is an excellent shopping centre including a traditional town centre and a new shopping mall - excellent for all those last minute things that I forgot to pack! It's an easy walk to the old town and defensive walls, which we keep meaning to explore - maybe this next time we'll do that.

And finally, if you arrive before 4.30 ish, go outside to the Mayflower Park after you have checked in (literally just over the road) and you can watch the sail away of cruise liners, knowing that it will be your turn tomorrow!

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have the best views, and are much quieter although all windows are good a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 25 in Southampton
1,811 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,712 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 25 in Southampton
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
0.4 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#12 of 25 in Southampton
975 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southampton

Property: Holiday Inn Southampton
Address: Herbert Walker Avenue, Southampton SO15 1HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southampton 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Southampton is situated in the heart of Southampton City Centre, with views over the waterfront and close to the M3 and M27 motorwaysThe Holiday Inn Southampton is located next to all Major Cruise Terminals making it the prime hotel for your Pre Cruise Stay. A pre cruise package rate is available which includes Breakfast, Car Parking and Transfer to the TerminalDuring your stay you can take advantage of West Quay Shopping Centre, day trips to the Isle of Wight, New Forest, and Paulton's ParkThe Holiday Inn Southampton is host to the PSP Southampton Boat Show. The hotel is centred in the heart of the show ground making it the ideal location to stay. Package rates available direct at the hotel.The hotel consists of 130 en-suite, air conditioned bedrooms with high speed Internet access, Spirit Health Club, Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and LoungeOur facilities also include 24 hour Room Service and free use for our residents to the Spirit Health Club which includes an indoor swimming pool, gym and sauna.The Holiday Inn Southampton has 5 Meeting Rooms and can accommodate up to 180 delegates, ideal for meetings and all special occassions. All rooms have air conditioning, wireless Internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffeeAccessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free(Terms and Conditions Apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southampton Hotel Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing