We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southampton
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Very clean and breakfast good but oh. the bed, the hardest we have ever encountered in a hotel, the pillows also were pretty solid. It really is basic. 2 white sugars with the tea maker. Little in the way of bathroom liquids {2}. we booked the cruise and stay. Price includes taxi to and from ship. this was our second time staying here hoped a different room would have a better mattress. We did ask reception if they had a "baby" mattress to lay on top of the bed but were told there was nothing they could do. Warning, if you ignore the bed and still book,the post code is wrong, put in the ikea post code instead.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coniferman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest level of services and facilities. We sincerely regret we fell short of our goal in this instance.
Thank you for the comment regarding our postcode, I will certainly look into this. I hope that you will choose to stay at this hotel again and take advantage of our Stay & Cruise packages.
May I wish you a very Happy New Year and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Kind regards
Robert Walker
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

831 - 837 of 1,274 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

Our room was looking a bit dated and worn out, the bed wasn't amazingly comfortable, the bathroom tired. Overall it was just OK for a couple of nights for a reasonably inexpensive weekend. There were some great views however, though we found the room quickly got condensated and the windows misty when you used the shower - so the ventilation wasn't great.

You need to leave the hotel to go to the leisure centre. But there was a decent pool and pleasant hot tub.

There's plenty of parking onsite - we were charged a fair £7/night - although the entry system wasn't working properly.

They are upgrading the dated lifts - this resulted in long delays waiting to get to your room with only one lift working but at least they were investing in replacements.

Overall, this hotel is in a good location, they just need to expand the investment in updating the property behind just the lifts. It's dated but for a functional, quick stay is fine if you can get a fair price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear richardlondon,

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay with us. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Regards,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Working overseas for a Southampton-based company I had cause to make many stays in many Southampton hotels over many years but for no reason had I ever used the Holiday Inn. I had admired its location but just never stayed there. This month my wife and I had a two night stay for an odd combination of a funeral and some Christmas shopping.
We were very pleased with the welcome at reception, the views from the fifth floor room and the housekeeping service. we ate out with friends in town. In other Southampton city hotels I have often been troubled by noise from pubs, clubs and street revellers into the small hours. This is not the case with the Holiday Inn as it stands away from the hubbub of the city nightlife but all temptation is within easy walking distance. Great care must be taken when trying to cross the dual carriageway outside the hotel . There are no pedestrian crossings for some distance. Risk of an accident is greatly increased when returning from a night out with alcohol-impaired judgement. Yes the rooms are a little tired but not unacceptably so and I am sure that a refurbishment plan is under consideration. My only gripe is that the odd numbered rooms are directly above the hotel's air conditioning plant and there is a low industrial hum throughout the night, even through closed windows. We shall stay again and happily recommend the Holiday Inn

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Bridboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Guest. Happy New Year to you and thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at the hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the team here made you feel welcome. The main road can be daunting to cross, but if you cross by traffic lights, it is quite safe.
I do hope that should you be on business again in the Southampton area you choose to stay here at the Holiday Inn Southampton, there are some great benefits to staying here and also using the Holiday Inn Brand. Please do ask about these.
Yours sincerely
Robert Walker
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed here just for one night on 5th December. Had a very nice quick check-in experience by the usual friendly staff that Holiday Inn have! Given a standard room on the 8th floor that was very clean and comfortable. Had drinks and dinner in the restaurant and enjoyed it all. The food was excellent as were the staff. Breakfast was brilliant and again so were the staff. Will stay here again without hesitation. One word of caution though the hotel post code we entered into our sat nav took us into a restricted area of the port it took ages to find our way out to where the hotel actually is!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest level of services and facilities and I am delighted that your experience here at the hotel met with your satisfaction. The team here work hard to ensure that all our guests are welcome and make sure your stay is both enjoyable and memorable. They will all be delighted to hear your comments. Thank you. Sat Nav is an issue, one of which I had hope we addressed by changing this on our web site, to SO15 8AG which should bring you directly to the roundabout opposite the hotel, which takes away the route at the opposite end of Herbert Walker Avenue and the port. I will have this checked again. Apologies for the inconvenience. I do hope that should you be in the area again you will choose to stay at the Holiday Inn Southampton.
Kind regards
Robert Walker Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Stayed here beginning of December when taking daughter to Christmas Wonderland at Peppa Pig World. Paultons Park only 15 mins away so this hotel is ideal and with views over the port it was lovely sitting in room watching ferry's coming and going. Hotel quite spacious but very clean and staff very friendly and helpful (especially Lynn from behind the bar who was simply fantastic at explaining local area and attractions happening whilst we were staying). We used the pool which was included with the price and found it great although that jacuzzi was the hottest jacuzzi I've ever been in, it really took your breath away getting in. Breakfast was very welcome with wide choice of hot and cold food.
Will definitely stay here again when visiting the area and would recommend it to anyone staying in Southampton.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Guest, I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed our great 'Peppa Pig' package and enjoyed your day at Paultons Park and the Winter Wonderland, its a fantastic experience for all the family. Lyn is quite an asset to our team and her local knowledge of the area is amazing, I will let her know your kind comments, she will be delighted to hear that she helped make your stay memorable as did the rest of the team here. May I take this opportunity to wish a very Merry Christmas and I hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind regards
Robert Walker - Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

As an invigilator of exams I am sent to various locations and this week spent a day at The Holiday Inn.
Our host Kev was really helpful and nothing was too much trouble - employee of the month me thinks!
The recommendation of chicken and avocado sandwich was a good one -
Only comment re room - a little chilly but kept everyone alert!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Newkneebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Guest. Thank you very much. It is not often, someone takes the time to review our meeting facilities and feedback through a media such as TripAdvisor. I am delighted that the exams ran smoothly and Kevan and the team here looked after you. I will pass your thanks on to him.
Thank you again for taking the time to write a review
Kind regards
Robert Walker - Cluster General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We were delighted with our stay at the Holiday Inn in early November, once we found it. Don't follow your Sat Nav - it takes you the long way round along a very unprepossessing approach used by trucks, passing through gigantic piles of scrap metal! Find the other end of Herbert Walker Avenue.

Our arrival could not have been better handled, a cheery greeting and help with the luggage, plus several glasses of complimentary Bucks Fizz or OJ. All the staff were consistently helpful, polite and eager to please. Our room overlooked rooftops but along the corridor the windows allowed us to watch cruise ships both on the move and docked at one part of the terminal.

The room was adequate, not fantastic, the shower rather antiquated. We spent the evening exploring the West Quay complex, which was within five minutes walking distance, with lots of eateries and the usual range of shops.

In the morning we had a very good buffet breakfast, included in our deal, along with twelve nights parking, which we thought a very reasonable package.

Our only disappointment was that the taxi which took us to the terminal (and which we had gathered was a free transfer) charged us £7.50 whilst (as we discovered on our return journey) taking us on a longer route than necessary - the return fare was £5.50).

All in all we can recommend the Holiday Inn and we would certainly use it again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback and comments regarding your pre-cruise stay at our hotel. I am glad that the Bucks Fizz was a welcomed start to your holiday. All of our Stay and Cruise packages include transfers, there are Park Stay & Cruise packages that do not, I am unable to ascertain which package you booked, but if you would like to contact my PA Tracey, we can review this with you. I apologise for the inconvenience the Sat Nav caused I will certainly look into this. I hope that should you be taking a cruise holiday again in the future you will choose to stay at the Holiday Inn Southampton.
Kind regards
Robert Walker - Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#20 of 26 in Southampton
1,994 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 26 in Southampton
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#7 of 26 in Southampton
1,166 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southampton

Address: Herbert Walker Avenue, Southampton SO15 1HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: £68 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southampton 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Southampton is situated in the heart of Southampton City Centre, with views over the waterfront and close to the M3 and M27 motorwaysThe Holiday Inn Southampton is located next to all Major Cruise Terminals making it the prime hotel for your Pre Cruise Stay. A pre cruise package rate is available which includes Breakfast, Car Parking and Transfer to the TerminalDuring your stay you can take advantage of West Quay Shopping Centre, day trips to the Isle of Wight, New Forest, and Paulton's ParkThe Holiday Inn Southampton is host to the PSP Southampton Boat Show. The hotel is centred in the heart of the show ground making it the ideal location to stay. Package rates available direct at the hotel.The hotel consists of 130 en-suite, air conditioned bedrooms with high speed Internet access, Spirit Health Club, Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and LoungeOur facilities also include 24 hour Room Service and free use for our residents to the Spirit Health Club which includes an indoor swimming pool, gym and sauna.The Holiday Inn Southampton has 5 Meeting Rooms and can accommodate up to 180 delegates, ideal for meetings and all special occassions. All rooms have air conditioning, wireless Internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffeeAccessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free(Terms and Conditions Apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southampton Hotel Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing