We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southampton
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Kingsclere
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed for a one night, great location for town centre. Had a room on floor 4, which had a view to the East across the harbour. Rooms clean and tidy though it appears to start looking tired and could do with a lick of paint and a the bathroom could do with an update. Good price so cant complain really. Would stay again. Though it does annoy me that you have to pay a car parking fee when you are staying in the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher rooms probably have better views across the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DamionCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay here at the hotel.Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest level of services and facilities, which we fell short on this occasion. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure that your expectations are met in the future.
I do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back should you be in the area .
Kind regards
Robert Walker
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    439
    266
    90
    52
See reviews for
205
493
54
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

It's dated but is kept clean and the staff are polite and helpful. Breakfast is average. Prefer the premier inn personally. You might need to ask for things to be fixed such as the plug etc but resolved very quickly. Very good location if traveling from the docks on a cruise

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank baredd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback from the recent stay here at the hotel.Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest level of services and facilities. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure that your expectations are met in the future.
Kind regards
Robert Walker
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We booked into this hotel for a pre cruise stay. After a 12 hour coach journey arriving at the hotel at 8pm they told us they had double booked and had no rooms left! They sent us to the Dolphin Hotel on the highstreet! Shocking and not how we wanted to start our 30th wedding anniversary celebrations. They took our money, confirmed our booking then didn't deliver. Feel very diss appointed and cheated! The bottle of wine and taxi fare did nothing to compensate!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest. I am very disappointed to read your comments and would offer my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience the move to another hotel caused. Sometimes it is necessary to make such arrangements, it is not something that either myself or the team here take lightly in entering into. Should you be making a journey to this area again for whatever reason, please do contact either myself or my PA personally, where I can make the arrangements, offer a Free upgrade and a favourable rate for you. Once again please accept my apologies and I hope that you will choose to stay with us again.
Kind regards
Robert Walker
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

West Yorks
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We used the excellent cruise and park package to avoid any travel problems. A good move, the next morning Southampton was gridlocked with traffic jams. A very pleasant hotel with wonderful views from our room. Staff were very friendly and helpful and meals were fine. The drop off and collection from the cruise all worked well,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TomnBobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to post feedback from your recent stay at the hotel prior to your cruise. I am delighted that your stay here at the Holiday Inn Southampton met with your satisfaction, I will be sure to tell the team, as they do strive to deliver Guest Expectations. Our Stay & Cruise rates are amazing value and trouble free making for a great start to your holiday. I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards
Robert Walker
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our fourth visit to this hotel was a little disappointing. Previously we have no complaints at all and we can still appreciate the wonderful location, the friendly helpful staff, and the comfort in the rooms. This time however we were particularly disappointed on the first morning with the hot breakfast which was at best tepid and not at all apetising. The following morning we opted for poached eggs on toast which came direct from the chef and were perfect. The cold buffet however, was extensive and very good. Dinner was good but a bit on the expensive side. A major problem was that unfortunately we stayed on one of the worst nights with a gale blowing off the sea and our window in room 604 suddenly developed a loud cracking noise coming from the window opening mechanism with the result that sleep was impossible. We went down to reception at 1am to ask if we could move. The gentleman we saw was extremely helpful and gave us another room on the same floor at the rear of the building. We slept in this room and transferred all our gear the following morning. We will still stay again when in Southampton.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eveankev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear eveankev,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay at our hotel again. My apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with the first room you were in and with breakfast. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and take actions accordingly. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IPSWICH
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We used the Holiday Inn in Southampton 3 times, twice in 2013. In the summer the very bad experience at reception, amongst other things, resulted in us contacting IHG through their website. Our last stay was in the winter to avoid the possibility of the weather stopping us reaching the cruise terminal in time to board. Having had 2 bad stays we feared for the worst.

In the event, we were extremely well looked after. Reception were really helpful, the service in the bar was smooth even if the menu is a unappealing. The night was quiet. The level access to part of the restaurant was available.

Compared with some of the more modern properties in the chain, yes it is a bit tired.We were told the lifts were about to be renewed.

Would we stay there again? Quite likely because of the location. It is very easy to walk to the centre of the city. (Come out of the hotel, turn left to access the dual carriageway, turn left and a few minutes walk will bring you to a pedestrian crossing at some traffic lights,) The menu will be a factor.

Room Tip: The higher you go the quieter it becomes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank admiral44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and the opportunity to correct any mis-giving from your prior stays. The location together with the Cruise & Stay packages do bode well together to make this a great hotel prior to any cruise holiday. Thank you for your feedback regarding our menus. We do change the menus seasonally and all comments are valued and welcomed. I hope that you enjoy the new menus offered should you be taking a cruise holiday in the future. May I wish you a Happy New Year
Kind regards
Robert Walker
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Another excellent stay at this very ideally located hotel. Had an executive room of our choice overlooking the sea. Really good choice on breakfast menu. Rooms clean and well stocked. Good secure car park. A must before you go on your cruise for an overnight stay with transfer to the ship. All the staff were very helpful to us and we will return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suesMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest. Thank you very much. Feedback is so important to the hotel as it ensures that we deliver a great product and service that help make our guest's stay both enjoyable and memorable. Your loyalty is important to us and I will certainly pass your kind comments onto the team here. We shall all look forward to welcoming you back again, should you be taking a cruise again this year. Happy New to you.
Kind regards
Robert Walker
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southampton

Property: Holiday Inn Southampton
Address: Herbert Walker Avenue, Southampton SO15 1HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southampton 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Southampton is situated in the heart of Southampton City Centre, with views over the waterfront and close to the M3 and M27 motorwaysThe Holiday Inn Southampton is located next to all Major Cruise Terminals making it the prime hotel for your Pre Cruise Stay. A pre cruise package rate is available which includes Breakfast, Car Parking and Transfer to the TerminalDuring your stay you can take advantage of West Quay Shopping Centre, day trips to the Isle of Wight, New Forest, and Paulton's ParkThe Holiday Inn Southampton is host to the PSP Southampton Boat Show. The hotel is centred in the heart of the show ground making it the ideal location to stay. Package rates available direct at the hotel.The hotel consists of 130 en-suite, air conditioned bedrooms with high speed Internet access, Spirit Health Club, Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and LoungeOur facilities also include 24 hour Room Service and free use for our residents to the Spirit Health Club which includes an indoor swimming pool, gym and sauna.The Holiday Inn Southampton has 5 Meeting Rooms and can accommodate up to 180 delegates, ideal for meetings and all special occassions. All rooms have air conditioning, wireless Internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffeeAccessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free(Terms and Conditions Apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southampton Hotel Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing