We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southampton
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights before joining the Queen Mary 2 on the first leg of her world cruise. The hotel was conveniently situated and provided good service and clean facilities with a comfortable bed and lovely views. The restaurant was dull and totally devoid of atmosphere. The service was slow and the food very average. Tablecloths might have helped cover its boring furniture but it looked more like café than a restaurant.

Room Tip: Obviously rooms overlooking the harbor are best if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossiterSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments posted regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn. Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest level of services and facilities, which we fell short on this occasion. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure that your expectations are met in the future. I hope that should you be taking a cruise in the future you will consider staying here at the Holiday Inn Southampton.
Kind regards
Robert Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    433
    260
    87
    50
See reviews for
198
484
54
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Booked a twin and a double for our family to visit our daughter at University.
The rooms both had views of the boats coming and going and were very clean with ample space.
We stayed in the middle of dreadful weather, but we were very warm and snug.
Right by the city walls, we had a lovely stroll around the old buildings and along the wall, before warming up in the Duke of Wellington Pub - which is well worth a visit!
We ate out as we had already booked a table, although the menu looked tempting.The breakfast was great and the staff attentive and cheerful.The kids had pancakes freshly made for them. The toaster was really efficient (one of my bugbears!) and everything most appetising and lots of choice.
We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0Shona0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest, Your comments are very much appreciated and both myself and team at the hotel are delighted that we helped make your stay whilst visiting your daughter enjoyable.Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest level of services and facilities and we constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests. I have not visited the pub you mention, but will now do so, thank you for 'the heads up'.
Kind regards
Robert Walker
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I love the holiday inn chain, they are always good value for money and you are made to feel so welcome. The food is excellant and great value for money. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The staff will do everything in their power to make you feel welcome and comfortable.

Room Tip: near to local amenities and also by the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bree27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your great comments from your stay here at the hotel. I will certainly let the team here know that they helped make your stay both enjoyable and memorable.
I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards
Robert Walker
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We booked this hotel on their "Stay & Cruise" package. The hotel is well located for this purpose and is a multi-storey modern building. Our room on the 6th floor was large with a good view over the harbour and a modern bathroom (with bath), well furnished with a large TV.

We had pre-booked an evening meal as there were a lot of Christmas parties coming in after 7 o'clock. The restaurant is very "minimal" - furnished by IKEA by the look of it so it was a bit odd with all the ultra modern furniture and fittings, they had what looked like the "clunky" old fashioned Kings design Viners cutlery! Definitely not cosy or atmospheric. I had the duck breast with shredded cabbage, garlic potatoes and red wine sauce while my husband had just steak, chips and salad. To follow I had black cherry and marshmallow cheesecake which looked as good as it tasted. Halfway through the meal the DJ for the Christmas parties arrived and started moving all his gear into the restaurant through the fire exit door and it was so cold that many diners donned their coats!

At breakfast we were able to sit in the higher part of the restaurant which had been used for the parties the previous night and it was a nicer area than the lower somewhat "corridor" bit. I must say that the organisation and service at the breakfast session was excellent.

All in all, I would certainly use this "Stay & Cruise" package again - the taxi transfer service worked quite well although at the end of the cruise it was all a bit chaotic outside the Terminal building but, of course, Holiday Inn can't do anything about that!! Based on their normal tariffs though, I did think the hotel was a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marmalade-Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us prior to your cruise.Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest level of services and facilities, which we fell short on this occasion. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests. Christmas Party Season is always busy for any hotel and I apologise for the interruption during your evening meal. I do hope you will choose to stay with us again should you be taking a cruise holiday, there are some great packages to help make a great start to your cruise.
Kind regards
Robert Walker
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsclere
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed for a one night, great location for town centre. Had a room on floor 4, which had a view to the East across the harbour. Rooms clean and tidy though it appears to start looking tired and could do with a lick of paint and a the bathroom could do with an update. Good price so cant complain really. Would stay again. Though it does annoy me that you have to pay a car parking fee when you are staying in the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher rooms probably have better views across the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DamionCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay here at the hotel.Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest level of services and facilities, which we fell short on this occasion. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure that your expectations are met in the future.
I do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back should you be in the area .
Kind regards
Robert Walker
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

It's dated but is kept clean and the staff are polite and helpful. Breakfast is average. Prefer the premier inn personally. You might need to ask for things to be fixed such as the plug etc but resolved very quickly. Very good location if traveling from the docks on a cruise

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank baredd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback from the recent stay here at the hotel.Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest level of services and facilities. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure that your expectations are met in the future.
Kind regards
Robert Walker
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We booked into this hotel for a pre cruise stay. After a 12 hour coach journey arriving at the hotel at 8pm they told us they had double booked and had no rooms left! They sent us to the Dolphin Hotel on the highstreet! Shocking and not how we wanted to start our 30th wedding anniversary celebrations. They took our money, confirmed our booking then didn't deliver. Feel very diss appointed and cheated! The bottle of wine and taxi fare did nothing to compensate!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest. I am very disappointed to read your comments and would offer my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience the move to another hotel caused. Sometimes it is necessary to make such arrangements, it is not something that either myself or the team here take lightly in entering into. Should you be making a journey to this area again for whatever reason, please do contact either myself or my PA personally, where I can make the arrangements, offer a Free upgrade and a favourable rate for you. Once again please accept my apologies and I hope that you will choose to stay with us again.
Kind regards
Robert Walker
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southampton

Property: Holiday Inn Southampton
Address: Herbert Walker Avenue, Southampton SO15 1HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southampton 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Southampton is situated in the heart of Southampton City Centre, with views over the waterfront and close to the M3 and M27 motorwaysThe Holiday Inn Southampton is located next to all Major Cruise Terminals making it the prime hotel for your Pre Cruise Stay. A pre cruise package rate is available which includes Breakfast, Car Parking and Transfer to the TerminalDuring your stay you can take advantage of West Quay Shopping Centre, day trips to the Isle of Wight, New Forest, and Paulton's ParkThe Holiday Inn Southampton is host to the PSP Southampton Boat Show. The hotel is centred in the heart of the show ground making it the ideal location to stay. Package rates available direct at the hotel.The hotel consists of 130 en-suite, air conditioned bedrooms with high speed Internet access, Spirit Health Club, Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and LoungeOur facilities also include 24 hour Room Service and free use for our residents to the Spirit Health Club which includes an indoor swimming pool, gym and sauna.The Holiday Inn Southampton has 5 Meeting Rooms and can accommodate up to 180 delegates, ideal for meetings and all special occassions. All rooms have air conditioning, wireless Internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffeeAccessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free(Terms and Conditions Apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southampton Hotel Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing