We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southampton
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I went to an afternoon event for charity here. The food was excellant and the staff were very accomadating and helpful. If you wanted to stay over the rooms were very clean and again staff were more than willing to make your stay as comfortable as they could. I would use this venue again and again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bree27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you your feedback is valuable and is fantastic recognition to the team here at the hotel as they always strive to deliver great guest satisfaction.
Kind regards
Robert Walker - Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    434
    260
    87
    50
See reviews for
198
485
54
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night prior to an early morning ferry departure. Check in efficient with a friendly reception.
Room spacious, light and clean - usual hospitality tray with an adequate supply of tea & coffee etc. Bathroom good with a powerful over bath shower & plenty of hot water. Decent toiletries & towels etc.
Room too cool for comfort - could not increase the ambient temperature via the room heating controls. Spoke to reception about the problem & was told the the hotel had switched to "summer heating mode" i.e. Heating off! Receptionist arranged for heating to be reinstated in our room. Also found public rooms unbearably cold for the same reason. Weather on 23rd April was wet, windy & cold but it seems that policy overruled guest comfort and common sense did not prevail. We heard other guests making comments in the same vein.
Cannot comment about restaurant facilities as we did not eat in the hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil187059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Please accept my apologies for the issue you experienced with your dinner service. Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest level of services and facilities, which we fell short on this occasion. It is sometimes hard to gauge temperature as April was very warm on days and cold on the latter, however , I am sorry that this made to a disappointing stay. Your feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure that your expectations are met in the future.
Kind regards
Robert Walker - Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Used this hotel on several occasions pre cruise. Great location and a good stay park and cruise deal including transfers to cruise terminal.
We had a so called "executive room" which looked tired and in need of refurbishment. These are on the higher floors with excellent views over Southampton water.
However the Breakfast experience was truly chaotic with poorly trained staff running around the dining room whilst bemused guests stood in line for long periods waiting to be seated.
Food was average, and that being kind !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanO77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest
Please accept my apologies for the issue you experienced with your dinner service. Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest level of services and facilities, which we fell short on this occasion. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure that your expectations are met in the future.
Kind regards
Robert Walker - Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South of England - UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I booked a dinner, bed and breakfast package for 1 night and was amazed that I was entitled to a 3 course dinner for the price I had paid. The dinner was excellent (I only managed 2 courses!) and the buffet breakfast was equally good (and hot which is not always the case with buffets). The service was excellent and the staff were attentive and energetic. My room on the 8th floor was clean and bright. The only small criticism I share with others is that the furniture is getting a bit elderly - hence the 4 rather than 5 stars. I would certainly recommend this hotel to friends and would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldTopcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your comments they are gratefully received and noted. I hope that you will return to the hotel again when next visiting Southampton, if only to sample our new dishes available in the restaurant.
Kind regards
Robert Walker - Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

My self and a colleague stayed here mid May for about a week. Both of us are IHG gold/platinum card members. This is one of the better Holiday inns that I have stayed in, the management and staff should be proud of the hotel they are running. The room was modern and clean.
The hotel got very busy at one point due to passengers embarking/disembarking cruises but the staff always thrived to to do their best, especially at the bar!
The only thing that diss appointed me was when I had to return back to Southampton for a second visit 4 days after my first trip, I could not get a room at this hotel so instead had to stay at the Jury's Inn.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingScotsmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much. The team here will be delighted that you enjoyed your week here at the Holiday Inn Southampton, I will be sure to pass your kind comments onto them, as they do strive to deliver a Great Guest Experience and I am delighted they did so. I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back, I am sorry that we could not accommodate you last time.
Kind regards
Robert Walker - Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n.lincolnshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Warm welcome by Andy & Kris. Beautiful room, brilliant all round service.
A special thanks to Mellie who informed us of the best places to visit in the city & who kept us laughing all the way through breakfast, which was delicious. With wonderfully poached eggs by Leon. Constant cappuccino's from Kerrie. Their hospitality was great. I'm going back in August & would definitely recommend to anyone xx

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmk38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback, I am sure Mel will be delighted that she made you feel welcome and you enjoyed not only your visit to the hotel but Southampton too.
I shall look forward to welcoming you back in August.
Kind regards
Robert Walker - Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here after a short cruise. The hotel is in a cracking location and I belive does parking for cruises although we had got the train so not an issue for us. Used the early check in facility which was nice and only £15 extra. They always keep 2 rooms free so if you are off an early morning cruise its worth asking. Great location just 10 mins from the shops and loved the rooms overlooking the river. Ask for a high floor room and you will get a great view. The staff were great as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gashead81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your great feedback. I am delighted that your experience here at the Holiday Inn Southampton made for a perfect start to your cruise holiday. I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind regards
Robert Walker - Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southampton

Property: Holiday Inn Southampton
Address: Herbert Walker Avenue, Southampton SO15 1HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southampton 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Southampton is situated in the heart of Southampton City Centre, with views over the waterfront and close to the M3 and M27 motorwaysThe Holiday Inn Southampton is located next to all Major Cruise Terminals making it the prime hotel for your Pre Cruise Stay. A pre cruise package rate is available which includes Breakfast, Car Parking and Transfer to the TerminalDuring your stay you can take advantage of West Quay Shopping Centre, day trips to the Isle of Wight, New Forest, and Paulton's ParkThe Holiday Inn Southampton is host to the PSP Southampton Boat Show. The hotel is centred in the heart of the show ground making it the ideal location to stay. Package rates available direct at the hotel.The hotel consists of 130 en-suite, air conditioned bedrooms with high speed Internet access, Spirit Health Club, Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and LoungeOur facilities also include 24 hour Room Service and free use for our residents to the Spirit Health Club which includes an indoor swimming pool, gym and sauna.The Holiday Inn Southampton has 5 Meeting Rooms and can accommodate up to 180 delegates, ideal for meetings and all special occassions. All rooms have air conditioning, wireless Internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffeeAccessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free(Terms and Conditions Apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southampton Hotel Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing