We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top marks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southampton
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top marks”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed for a fortnight on an extended business trip. Its about a ten minute walk to the center of town so its quite close to everything at hand. Reception was very welcoming, the room excellent, spotlessly clean and came with a superb view; breakfast each morning was a marvellous, a buffet with a galaxy of options. I can't comment on the dining as I ate out but all in all, I was very happy indeed with my stay and would heartily recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback from your lengthy stay here at the hotel. Your comments are gratefully received and welcomed. It is sometimes difficult to relax and be comfortable away from home on business and I am delighted the team made your stay both comfortable and enjoyable.
Kind regards
Robert Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    444
    271
    92
    54
See reviews for
211
501
57
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We have just returned from a short stay at the Holiday Inn Southampton and I have to say we had a very good experience. We booked the stay for my daughter's 2nd birthday in a deal with Paulton Parks 2 for 1 day park pass for Peppa Pig world.

Andy on reception was very welcoming and friendly on arrival and made sure we had all the information we needed for our stay. On my daughter's birthday he gave her some popcorn and a cookie and was very cheerful, always with a smile on his face.

The room was very clean and a good size for our needs.

Breakfast was of a high standard with a large variety of food.

The bar and restaurant staff were again friendly and very helpful, they came out singing Happy Birthday to my daughter after our meal which she absolutely loved.

We booked the hotel as it was 20 minutes away from the park and had a swimming pool, we didn't end up using the leisure facilities as we had long days at the park, however it looked very nice.

I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnawag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comments, I am delighted that the team here at the hotel helped make your daughter's birthday enjoyable and I hope she was thrilled with Peppa Pig World. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Andy. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back again in the future.
Kind regards
Robert Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Holiday Inn is near the water, but not far from downtown. It is pristine to the point of being Spartan. The accommodations were comfortable and roomy, the food was good, and the staff more than helpful. It's on my shortlist for my typically short stays in Southampton.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbowentraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments and feedback from your recent stay here at the hotel. I shall look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind regards
Robert Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

we have stayed here many times in the past mostly in December but have now found the price seems ti increase by about £20 pn compared to Friday or Saturday rates, also they now charge £7.00 to park overnight. Very nice Breakfast and very nice staff.
May stay again this December if they look into the pricing on Sundays.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevindavies657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your valued feedback. Our rates do vary from month to month and we do have many different packages that you can purchase which would be the likely reason you experienced different rates, the hotel is committed to providing the best rates based on the local market. I do hope you will choose to stay with us again n the future. Our reservations team will be happy to help and advise you of the best rates to suit your needs.
Kind regards
Robert Walker - Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Southampton on A Saturday for one night just took a chance with out booking luckily they had one room left. Very handy if you are going on a cruise easy walking distance to some of the ports from where ever you are leaving from if not plenty of taxis to drop you at your dock. We have stayed in better holiday Inns this one could do with some up dating but it was clean and the food was good as was the breakfast helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments and feedback from your recent stay here at the hotel. Your feedback is very important to us as this helps us to maintain and provide the facilities and service we offer to all our guests.
Kind regards
Robert Walker - Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pakenham, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My wife and l spent one night at this hotel before catching our Cruise, we were surprised to be greeted with two glasses of champagne to celebrate our Honeymoon, We were impressed as found that very few hotels would go out of their way to do this. Service was also very good staff were friendly and eager to help. The main reason l booked this hotel was due to the location next door to the cruise terminal. Very handy to walk to the terminal with our luggage and check inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marinos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you, I am delighted that you had a 'great' start to your honeymoon. Should you be taking a cruise again in the future I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Kind regards
Robert Walker - Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
316 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Its old and its tired both inside and out. It needs a paint and the rooms are 60's and look it.
Having said that its less than 500 metres to the cruise port, the service from the staff is very good and the restaurant is good for dinner and outstanding for breakfast.
Its typical holiday inn ,in that the beds are comfortable, they are clean and you get the Holiday Inn choice of pillows.
If I was cruising out of southampton, I'd stay there every time, if not --perhaps not.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryJ_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and your comments are duly noted.
Kind regards
Robert Walker. Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,735 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
807 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southampton

Property: Holiday Inn Southampton
Address: Herbert Walker Avenue, Southampton SO15 1HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southampton 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Southampton is situated in the heart of Southampton City Centre, with views over the waterfront and close to the M3 and M27 motorwaysThe Holiday Inn Southampton is located next to all Major Cruise Terminals making it the prime hotel for your Pre Cruise Stay. A pre cruise package rate is available which includes Breakfast, Car Parking and Transfer to the TerminalDuring your stay you can take advantage of West Quay Shopping Centre, day trips to the Isle of Wight, New Forest, and Paulton's ParkThe Holiday Inn Southampton is host to the PSP Southampton Boat Show. The hotel is centred in the heart of the show ground making it the ideal location to stay. Package rates available direct at the hotel.The hotel consists of 130 en-suite, air conditioned bedrooms with high speed Internet access, Spirit Health Club, Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and LoungeOur facilities also include 24 hour Room Service and free use for our residents to the Spirit Health Club which includes an indoor swimming pool, gym and sauna.The Holiday Inn Southampton has 5 Meeting Rooms and can accommodate up to 180 delegates, ideal for meetings and all special occassions. All rooms have air conditioning, wireless Internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffeeAccessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free(Terms and Conditions Apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southampton Hotel Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing