We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pre holiday stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southampton
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pre holiday stay”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We used this hotel for an overnight stay before going on a cruise. It was very good and we got a deal that let us leave our car there for the duration of our holidays and they provided a taxi to take us to the ship and pick us up on our return

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest. Thank you for your valued feedback, your comments are very appreciated as they help the team here to deliver great customer service.
Kind regards
Robert Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    433
    260
    87
    50
See reviews for
198
484
54
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The hotel provides good service. However, if you wish to stay in this hotel for one evening to catch the cruise the next day, it may not be your best choice. It is a bit too long for those who wish to walk to the terminal with luggage though it costs less than £4 for taxi. The hotel is a bit off from the attractions of Southampton (e.g. Oxford Street) if you want to maximize your coverage of the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwok Fai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest. Thank you for your feedback, your comments have been duly noted.
Kind regards
Robert Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We always try and book the Holiday Inn before we go on our cruise. It's in a great location. Either side of the hotel has interesting views but ask for a view over the mayflower park side as it's a bit more picturesque. The only problem we have now is that we are now a family of 4 but don't appear to be able to book a 4 person room :-(

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at the hotel again, I am delighted that you equally enjoyed your visit once again. I do hope we will welcome you back again.
Kind regards
Robert Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for one night pre-cruise as it was recommended for its location next to the cruise port. Indeed, it had a wonderful location and we walked out of the hotel's doors the next morning and were on to the cruise ship in 10 minutes with an easy walk that took minutes. The staff at reception was very friendly and helpful. However the hotel was probably one of the worst Holiday Inn's we have ever stayed in with a teeny bathroom (although the shower was lovely) and the TV was not even working when we got in the room. The pull out bed for our child turned out to be a lumpy cot that she could barely sleep in, and the sheets were scratchy and uncomfortable. Due to the age of the hotel, the elevators were so tiny we had barely enough room for luggage and trying to check out in the morning was a nightmare as along with everyone else trying to check out with their luggage took almost 1/2 of waiting for elevators. Will not stay here again and do not recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLcruiselover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Southampton whilst visiting the Southampton area last week. Please accept my apologies for the issue you experienced with your accommodation in you found the sleeping arrangements for you daughter inadequate Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest level of services and facilities, which we fell short on this occasion.
This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure that your expectations are met in the future.
Kind regards
Robert Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
690 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 477 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We are Marriott Reward members and this was our first stay at a Holiday Inn Hotel as Marriott did not have a port-side hotel in Southampton. We were quite impressed with the super efficiency of the front desk. The room was comfortable and outfitted with all usual amenities plus special items like a nail file and sewing kit.

I liked the offer of firm or soft pillows on the bed. It was summer but the room was still cool with the harbour-front breezes and we were able to open the window some inches to get fresh air.
The room was however rather small and only had 1 luggage rack. The open closet space was too small for a second case to fit and floor space was very limited to place it anywhere on the carpet without tripping over it. We also asked for a harbour view room but the hotel really does not have rooms with windows overlooking water expanses only. The configuration of the rooms means that you get part city-view / part water-view but this was fine with us as we got a room on the 5th floor where we could see the Red Funnel ferries coming and going.
Breakfast buffet was lovely. The lobby bar was small and not open throughout but had the basic offerings.

The best thing about this hotel though is the location. We crossed the road using the small defunct pedestrian gate to access the Mayflower Park. Lovely for evening strolls on the waterfront and ice cream in the park.

When we checked out of the hotel, we simply walked across the park to get to the Red Funnel ticket office to get the ferry to go over to the Isle of Wight.

The hotel is close to the historic South Walls attraction, as well as to the Town Quay Marina from where you can hop on a bus to get into the heart of town. Holiday Inn is within easy walking distance to lots of restaurants and bars in the area by a short walk along the main West Quay road. You can walk up along the Western Esplanade to the large West Quay Shopping Centre or up French street into Castle Way to access the historic parts of the city. Just one street over is the High Street. So you are really very close to everything on foot or short bus ride while also being close to the ferry terminal.

Our first stay at a Holiday Inn was a pleasure and we will certainly consider doing so again based on our experience here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Concierge_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your thoughtful and detailed comments from your visit here to Southampton and the Holiday Inn. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and the hotel met with your expectations. Your review is very much appreciated and thank you for the time in writing this. I hope we have the pleasure again in the future.
Kind regards
Robert Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley Down, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were welcomed by a very friendly and helpful front of house staff, check in was fast and efficient, room was clean and comfortable, facilities in good order, breakfast was excellent. Good value for money

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest. Thank you for your fantastic feedback. It is so great to hear that the team here at the hotel helped make your stay here with us enjoyable and your visit memorable.
I hope that when you are next in the Southampton you will choose Holiday Inn again.
Kind regards
Robert Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Location is near city center. The staff were friendly and helpful. However, it has to be said that this is about the most basic Holiday Inn we have stayed in (and we have stayed in many as we travel the world). The room lacked storage space for clothes so we were forced to live out of suitcases for three days. The pillows were hard. On three occasions we had to wait 15 minutes for the elevator to arrive to take us down to the ground floor. It was very difficult to get in contact with reception. We tried several times during our stay, and no one picked up at reception. We were charged an extortionate amount for 4 short local phone calls, all in Southampton area, so we would advise anyone staying at this hotel not to use the phone. The wireless band width at the hotel is weak so we did not have good connection most of the time. The bathroom did have a nice strong shower, although the tiles were cracked on the floor; and both bathroom and room were very clean, so the staff cannot be faulted for trying to make guests comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJD52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Southampton whilst visiting the Southampton area last week.

Please accept my apologies for the issues you experienced with your accommodation. Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest level of services and facilities, which we fell short on this occasion.
This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure that your expectations are met in the future.
Kind regards
Robert Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
721 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
0.4 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#10 of 24 in Southampton
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southampton

Property: Holiday Inn Southampton
Address: Herbert Walker Avenue, Southampton SO15 1HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southampton 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Southampton is situated in the heart of Southampton City Centre, with views over the waterfront and close to the M3 and M27 motorwaysThe Holiday Inn Southampton is located next to all Major Cruise Terminals making it the prime hotel for your Pre Cruise Stay. A pre cruise package rate is available which includes Breakfast, Car Parking and Transfer to the TerminalDuring your stay you can take advantage of West Quay Shopping Centre, day trips to the Isle of Wight, New Forest, and Paulton's ParkThe Holiday Inn Southampton is host to the PSP Southampton Boat Show. The hotel is centred in the heart of the show ground making it the ideal location to stay. Package rates available direct at the hotel.The hotel consists of 130 en-suite, air conditioned bedrooms with high speed Internet access, Spirit Health Club, Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and LoungeOur facilities also include 24 hour Room Service and free use for our residents to the Spirit Health Club which includes an indoor swimming pool, gym and sauna.The Holiday Inn Southampton has 5 Meeting Rooms and can accommodate up to 180 delegates, ideal for meetings and all special occassions. All rooms have air conditioning, wireless Internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffeeAccessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free(Terms and Conditions Apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southampton Hotel Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing