We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall an excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southampton
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overall an excellent experience”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a Paultons Park/Peppa Pig World mini-break deal and have to say, the value for money was superb.
Positives - view over the docks from our room on the 7th floor was lovely, aided by the floor to ceiling windows! Staff couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful (those on reception and those who served us at dinner and breakfast), Service came with a smile! The free use of the health centre across the car park was an excellent bonus, my young daughter loved her early morning swim before heading back to Paultons Park. Once again, staff on duty at the pool were welcoming and helpful, as were the other pool users. We took advantage of the dinner vouchers offered to us at check in and found it was good value for money, our meals arrived quickly, were well cooked and very tasty... my dessert was the nicest I have had in a while. Breakfast offered a wide range of options, suitable to all breakfast tastes, and again staff were lovely. The hotel has a good location, with shops and restaurants around it (as well as the docks of course!)

Not so positives - The room, especially the bathroom, felt quite dated but were perfectly functional. The pull out sofa bed that completed our 'triple' room was thin and my mum found it very uncomfortable to spend an entire night on. I also thought that free WiFi only being offered to ihg members was a little dated, these days free WiFi is usually a more standard 'bonus'. It didn't bother us hugely as we were on a family holiday and only staying 1 night, but we thought that for travelling business folk this may have been more of a problem.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay, and I have only listed the cons we noted to give a fair review. They did not in any way spoil our stay! We wouldn't hesitate to stay again, and thank the hotel for the service we were provided with.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_Hen_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    433
    260
    87
    50
See reviews for
198
484
54
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I stayed in this hotel last weekend 29-08-2014 for two night, Everything was wrong. We arrive at 23:00 pm on Friday, the recepcionits was "rude" he did not explain us anything, just give the key and bye, We tried to order room service but no one pick up the phone, finally we called recepction and the same guy took our order.
First morning at breakfast was just annoying, even they were not busy they were running doing nothing, the buffet was cold and dirty everywhere. I asked a girl for a latte and the answers was NO CHANCE! TEA OR COFFE.....good for her...
We have lunch there....4 tables in the bar.....20 minutes to take our order which they close in the system before we get any food or drinks and ask me to signed....
We order sausages honey and mustard, they bring 3 BREAKFAST SAUSAGES burn with mustard on the top....I asked the girl to take out of the table because I work for the company and I know those are not the sausages they should put, she said...Yes sorry we run out of that sausages....so instead the chef put recoock Sausages from breakfast?? Nice.

Last day breakfast another girl serve us and she was the only one in the all restauran saying good morning, good bye, explaining everything and serving LATTE! to the guest, I work in the company so I know the standars and this hotel is just a disaster. Thank you to ....Janice I think was the name of the girl, and Holly from reception aswell very nice.

Last thing....They took a preatuhorization money from you credit card when you arrive, mine was holding twice ....200 pounds and still is hold in my bank account......waiting for an answer in the hotel...

So.....really well done guys in HI Southampton.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear Sandra F,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are sorry we fell below your expectation regarding level of service and breakfast. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate department. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We hope you will give us an opportunity to better serve your in the future.

Sincerely,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Well located for the Red Funnel/Red Jet ferries to the IoW. We were warmly welcomed as priority club members and given a clean and tidy room with a view of the water. Only minor gripe was lack of plug sockets near the bed for charging various iDevices. Breakfast on the Saturday was good, with friendly service from Ruth. Will stay again when in Southampton.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

We booked this as part of paultons mini break and I must say we were very impressed. The hotel looks very nice and although the post code supplied took as to the wrong turning we found it with ease. The reception was well attended and facilities were clean and spacious. We were on the 8th floor and the view was great and also it was very quiet. Dinner was expensive for what we had but it was adequate and the staff were very good and very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs_Mr_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 1 night for a show at the mayflower theatre. Good location for west quay shopping. Reception staff very welcoming, room was very comfortable with large screen TV and quality beds for a good nights sleep. We chose to have dinner at the hotel and the quality of the food was very good and the staff that were on duty excellent but there was not enough of them. The chef personally delivered our main course after a little wait and his customer relations were great.
At breakfast the same applies, good choice, fresh tea and coffee but about 3 or 4 staff to look after everyone. Those on duty could not do any more.
This hotel could easily go from good to excellent with a few more staff.
Enjoyed our stay, would use again

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Excellent place to stay pre cruise. Staff friendly and helpful. Room clean with a comfy bed.
Food good and plenty of it.
The ladies organising breakfast on the Sunday morning were particularly pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking your ship.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Had one night stay here before Princess Cruise and were very impressed.
The lady on the check in desk was so friendly and very informative. Even finding out for us that our ships docking terminal had changed.
The room was much more spacious than we had expected with a fantastic floor to ceiling window giving wonderful view of our ship the next morning.
We were on the 8th floor, so this may not be the case with every room of course.
The two ladies running the restaurant at breakfast were so efficient and very friendly. Everything you could want to eat.
If there was anything I would ask them to improve on, it would be, like most hotels, they need a more central, brighter light in the bedroom.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking pier
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
721 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
0.4 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#10 of 24 in Southampton
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southampton

Property: Holiday Inn Southampton
Address: Herbert Walker Avenue, Southampton SO15 1HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southampton 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Southampton is situated in the heart of Southampton City Centre, with views over the waterfront and close to the M3 and M27 motorwaysThe Holiday Inn Southampton is located next to all Major Cruise Terminals making it the prime hotel for your Pre Cruise Stay. A pre cruise package rate is available which includes Breakfast, Car Parking and Transfer to the TerminalDuring your stay you can take advantage of West Quay Shopping Centre, day trips to the Isle of Wight, New Forest, and Paulton's ParkThe Holiday Inn Southampton is host to the PSP Southampton Boat Show. The hotel is centred in the heart of the show ground making it the ideal location to stay. Package rates available direct at the hotel.The hotel consists of 130 en-suite, air conditioned bedrooms with high speed Internet access, Spirit Health Club, Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and LoungeOur facilities also include 24 hour Room Service and free use for our residents to the Spirit Health Club which includes an indoor swimming pool, gym and sauna.The Holiday Inn Southampton has 5 Meeting Rooms and can accommodate up to 180 delegates, ideal for meetings and all special occassions. All rooms have air conditioning, wireless Internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffeeAccessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free(Terms and Conditions Apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southampton Hotel Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing