We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great food, great value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southampton
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Sheffield
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great service, great food, great value.”
Reviewed 25 March 2009

We stayed for one night on the way to Bournemouth. We had our doubts about Holiday Inns but the location was convenient, they did interconnecting rooms(we travelled with our 4 year old) and it was amazingly cheap. We payed £155 for 2 rooms and DBB for all 3 of us. On arrival we looked at the rooms before checking in as we had up until 4pm to cancel. To be honest it was quite basic but great views...right out onto the Devere opposite. We were honest with the reception staff and told them we were going to look at the other hotel. They were fine with this and said they'd keep our reservation until we decided. The Devere was lovely but all they had left were rooms with awful views of a block of flats and the price for DBB for 2 rooms was more than double. As we only having a brief stop, we opted for the Holiday Inn. The reception staff were very welcoming and friendly considering we had just checked out another hotel. We had 5 beds between the 2 rooms and the family room was very big. Basic bathroom and disappointingly, no fridge or minibar but the customer service more than made up for this.

With low expectations for dinner, we were amazed at how good the food was as was the service. Our son's meal was included in the price and after a great 3 course meal we only had a modest drinks bill.

My only advice if you're staying there, opt for a room away from the lifts and on a high floor for the views. Thank you to all the staff for a really pleasant stay...and I am fussy!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loverofluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    445
    272
    92
    54
See reviews for
212
503
57
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire England
Level Contributor
219 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2009

I liked the place because it did what it said on the label.
It is, in my view, a good three star (to the upper end of 3 star) hotel. It is well situated (an easy 10 minute walk to the centre of Southampton) with plenty of free car parking. We paid £59 per night (2 nights) for an "executive room" (don't really know what that means!) which we thought was good value. We got a good view over the docks from the eighth floor and the room was well furnished and in good condition. It was fairly spacious for what we were paying with a decent sized bed, two chairs at the window and a third at a desk/dressing table. There was a safe in the room and extra pillows without having to ask. The bathroom was OK but looked a bit older than the main room. But the water was hot and plentiful! There seemed to be air-conditioning but, if there was, it wouldn't work. The temperature in February in Southampton was such that the problem - if there was one - was not worth pursuing.
The breakfast was a buffet with one of these toasters which undertoast if the bread is put through once and overtoast with two goes. I feared the worst with the hot food but, although not really hot, it was acceptably hot as this type of buffet goes. Overall breakfast was pretty acceptable. Coffee was freely available and the restaurant staff were pleasant. The evening meal seemed overpriced and, as there was no special offer, we ate elsewhere. The bar is fairly small and open plan adjacent to the reception but was pleasant enough although fairly pricey.
Lastly, we found reception to be very good. We were very pleasantly greeted on arrival, helped when we asked for a local map and efficiently dealt with when we checked out. And the bill was correct - it is not always in British hotels!
I would thoroughly recommend the hotel for someone with a short stay in Southampton who wants decent quality accommodation, easy access to shopping (I forgot to mention there is a massive retail park about 5 minutes away) and the facilities of Southampton town centre.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hibees43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2008

Hotel Staff at this hotel were brilliant, nothing was to much trouble, they were all extremely friendly and went out of their way to be helpful.

Food was excellent, buffet breakfast, plenty of it and hot. Evening meals good choice and well prepared.

Room was massive. We had a Family Room and it was huge.

We visited this hotel for a two night break with my parents and an 8 year old. It suited us all, and we will definately be returning in the future.

  • Liked — Friendlyness of the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chocoholicGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop's Stortford, Herts, England
Level Contributor
408 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 469 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2008

We stayed at the Holiday Inn prior to going on a cruise, and from location and convenience point of view it was ideal. It's also located only a short walk away from the huge central Southampton shopping mall and city centre shopping area.

All the staff we met were very pleasant and friendly. We just came away feeling it was overpriced for what you got and although the main reception and dining/bar area on the ground floor had been recently revamped, the rest of the hotel was in need of a makeover.

Our room, 907, was at the back of the hotel so looked out over the docks where the cruise ships were berthed which was interesting to view.

The room itself was a fair size and comfortable but dated and tired and the window was very small for the size of the room, so it made the room appear dark. Good points were; there was an iron and ironing board; trouser press and beverage tray in the room and there was a choice of pillow fillings/firmness which was great as the standard ones would have been very hard but the feather ones we changed to were great.

The hot food at breakfast was fine, all of it was very hot, fresh and nicely cooked, The range of other items offered was very limited considering it is meant to be a 4* hotel. The fruit was just kiwi, grapes and grapefruit for fresh fruit and only very small bowls of each were available, there was a basket of fresh fruit as well. Only mass produced cheap white and brown bread was available for toasting although a much better quality loaf was available for you to slice yourself. There were a few processed cheeses available but really breakfast was poor.

A number of the individual cereal packets were up to 5 months out of date!!

As there are numerous hotels to choose from in the area just as convenient for the cruise terminal I doubt we would chose to stay at the Holiday Inn again, at least until the rooms are upgraded.

  • Liked — Location to cruise terminal and Southampton shopping centre
  • Disliked — Rooms tired and worn and in need of a revamp. Not impressed some breakfast cereals were up to 5 months out of date!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank dedicatedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2008

Stayed here for three nights whilst on business in Southampton. Booked an executive room. Overall, very pleased with the stay. The hotel seems to have been recently refurbished and so the rooms and the public areas were modern and clean. The room was adequate; could have done with a mini bar. Free offerings from the hotel were two bottles of water and two chocolate bars each day. Well situated for the city centre, the docks and shopping and easy to find. Young and very friendly staff.

Recommended.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jcolesw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2008

We stayed at this hotel for one night before a cruise departing from the Mayflower terminal and it was absolutely ideal, only a few yards from the cruise baggage and check in and no worries about traffic. We had a room on the eighth floor and it was wonderful to open the curtains in the morning and see our ship waiting for us! The staff were all very friendly and the receptionists were very helpful. The Centre at West Quay is also very handy for shopping. We had dinner at the restaurant which was fine if a little busy because of all the pre-cruisers staying there! Breakfast was excellent, the room was very clean and bathroom well stocked. We would recommend the hotel especially if you are cruising from the Mayflower Terminal. If travelling without a car you won't need a taxi to the port as it is easy walking distance with your cases (as long as you don't have too many!)

  • Liked — The friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brewscruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2008

Just back from a two night stay. My room was very spacious double bed, settee, Tea coffee making facilties, hairdryer, trouser press. Bathroom was clean but I thought it was looking a bit tired.

Check was very prompt , friendly staff. I had room service which was good and very prompt. Breakfast was nice for room service.

The hotel has a gym and pool across the carpark. It was small but good.

The hotel itself is right by the port, I'd a nice view of the city and the sea and the boats ( 5th floor). You can get around easily in Southampton lovely restaurants and good shopping and a good base to travel around.

Would recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Service and location
  • Disliked — bathroom - a bit tired but v Clean
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jojomillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,743 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
809 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southampton

Property: Holiday Inn Southampton
Address: Herbert Walker Avenue, Southampton SO15 1HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southampton 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Southampton is situated in the heart of Southampton City Centre, with views over the waterfront and close to the M3 and M27 motorwaysThe Holiday Inn Southampton is located next to all Major Cruise Terminals making it the prime hotel for your Pre Cruise Stay. A pre cruise package rate is available which includes Breakfast, Car Parking and Transfer to the TerminalDuring your stay you can take advantage of West Quay Shopping Centre, day trips to the Isle of Wight, New Forest, and Paulton's ParkThe Holiday Inn Southampton is host to the PSP Southampton Boat Show. The hotel is centred in the heart of the show ground making it the ideal location to stay. Package rates available direct at the hotel.The hotel consists of 130 en-suite, air conditioned bedrooms with high speed Internet access, Spirit Health Club, Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and LoungeOur facilities also include 24 hour Room Service and free use for our residents to the Spirit Health Club which includes an indoor swimming pool, gym and sauna.The Holiday Inn Southampton has 5 Meeting Rooms and can accommodate up to 180 delegates, ideal for meetings and all special occassions. All rooms have air conditioning, wireless Internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffeeAccessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free(Terms and Conditions Apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southampton Hotel Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing