We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If your Cruising stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southampton
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed 28 February 2011

We stayed here the day before our cruise, the staff were welcoming asking if we wanted to join the priviledge club, wehich meant we could keep our room until 2pm. We had asked for a view looking over the docking area for Cunard, and we wer not disappointed. The room was quite large and the bed comfortable. The breakfast the next morning was more than adequate, eat all you like baisically. If I was going to go on a cruise whereby I wouldnt be coming back ot Southampton, then I would definately stay there again, its near the West Quay shopping centre so plenty of last minute shoping for anything you have forgotten. Free taxi to the terminal too.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,196)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Southampton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,062 - 1,068 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2011

My partner and I have just got back after a Rewards Night at the Holiday Inn Southampton. We were a little alarmed by some of the previous reviews here but our worries were unfounded, our stay was very pleasant and both dinner and breakfast were delicious! The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kel_WestWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Exellent location if you're going on the Red Funnel ferry or want to go shopping or visit the boat show! It's not the smartest hotel, but is comfortable, clean and we had an exceptionally good room rate. Overall we were thoroughly impressed with the room and hotel. The only bad point is that the hall on floor 3 has a very unpleasant smell - damp/mouldy? - but the room itself was very good. Breakfast was also good - fruit, juices, hot buffet, pastries - and we were seriously impressed with the staff serving at breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraveIIsFun12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

I think I must have stayed at a different hotel when reading the previous reviews as I had an excellent 2 night weekend stay here and did not notice the hotel "showing its age". I was seen to immediately and efficiently on arrival at reception. My room on the 6th floor was clean (as was everywhere else in the hotel), had ample tea and coffee supplies, comfy beds and was quiet. The view over Southampton Water and the town walls was superb. I ate dinner each night in the hotel taking advantage of one of their set menus. When the wine I wanted wasn't available I was offered a choice of other similar wines. I also drank in the bar where the service was efficient and the drinks cheap (may have been undercharged!). I prebooked breakfast on arrival at Reception so saving £5. There was an excellent choice of hot and cold dishes at breakfast which could not be faulted and it was certainly not busy. As I stayed for 2 nights they even came to check on the second day that my room had been made up and that all was OK. Great location too - can walk to West Quay shopping centre, Ikea and the ferry to the Isle of Wight. My only minor complaint is that the room was too hot but I prefer being too hot than too cold. As I booked 2 nights for the price of 1 the room only cost £27.50. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

I arrived on a sunday night late around 22:00, the bar and restuarant was closed. The reception was manned by a gent who upon arrival ignored me. I said hello and was told I'm busy at the moment you'll have to wait. One of the staff came over and starting talking to him and continued to ignore me. When he had finsihed his chat and filed his paperwork he asked what I wanted. I told him I was checking in, his response was I'm in the wrong screen wait a minute. He then saw my priority club card and started to be more pleasant, asking if I wanted a high or low floor. I selected a high floor went for the lift which was sticky on the floor. I came out of the lift and the corridor was quite dingy. I found the room went in and was surprised by the large picture window across the docks. The bed was moderately firm so not bad in my mind, I started unpacking and found the cupboard had not been cleaned one of the shelves had so much dust you could write your name in it. So I had a proper look around the room, the carpet had been vacuumed up to the bed but not under it. IN the bathroom the sink was cracked, the shower tiles were yellowing and the glasses were dirty.
The hotel is quite close to the docks so if a big ship comes up the river in the middle of the night it may wake you. I woke up when a Saga Cruise ship tied up.
I decided not to have breakfast in the hotel as it was not included on my tariff yet with an Ikea nearby with cheap food it was easier for me.
When I checked out I checked the bill and found they had charged me for the complementary I queried it and was told tough luck. I was tempted to give it back. I asked to speak to the duty manager and was told that they no longer talk to customers.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bootedsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We stayed at this hotel two night pre-cruise in late October. We had the rooms booked in early summer, and when I started reading negative reviews in the summer I wrote HI a letter asking if I had made a mistake booking this hotel. I received a letter from the manager assuring me that I would have a wonderful stay and also noting that Tripadvisor is mainly for "people with a grudge to complain". I must say that he lied--our stay was terrible, and on top of that we were double charged for the room, and it took until Jan.5th to get my money back. When we got our money back for the double charge it was not through the hotel because they never even responded to HI's customer service request for more information. After my third phone call to customer service they just cut a check and sent it to me because of the lack of response from the hotel, and I never got back my international currency charge.
The hotel looks ok from the outside, and the lobby is nice enough, but the rooms and the desk staff were terrible. We arrived early and a cruise was leaving that day so they were very busy. We told them we had arrived, but that we understood rooms weren't ready, gave them our names and we'd be back around 2pm. When we got back a number of people had already checked in ahead of us and apparently the decent rooms had been assigned although we gave our names early and asked for nice rooms. I called the desk to see if we could be moved and was told that all of the rooms were exactly the same, and besides they were totally booked. Our room on the 3rd floor was dismal, worn and shabby although it did face the harbor. On top of that every time we flushed the toilet the pipes made a screaming sound that could be heard all over that wing of the hotel. Also when the toilets were flushed in the rooms on either side of ours we heard the same screaming sound. I can tell you that in the room next to ours they flushed their toilet three times during the night because it woke us up every time. The shower had some mildew, but the worst part was the plumbing there. When we--or our neighbors--used the shower the pipes banged as loudly as a jack hammer. The worst part was when my husband sat down on the bed, and the headboard fell on him landing on the shoulder he had replaced only 4 months earlier.
The front desk staff was cold and not at all helpful. The first day we asked for directions to the mall, and we were told to go to the tourist bureau which was several blocks away, it was pouring rain, and we are obviously seniors. Once we got outside we asked another guest and found that the mall was right across the way--would it have been too much trouble to tell us that? The only time we got a tepid response of any interest was when we told them the headboard that fell on my husband was in the hallway.
Amazingly, the restaurant was lovely, airy, had great service and great food. We were very reluctant to go to breakfast the first morning, but we were delighted to find friendly, competent employees and a very good breakfast buffet.
I'm amazed that HI would put their name on a hotel of this dubious quality, and on my next cruise I certainly won't be staying at this hotel. We generally stay at HI's in England because we've always had very nice hotels and good service--this one lets the chain down.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donnag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Stayed the one night prior to our cruise the rooms where of the normal standard of this chain, which I find to be good.
What lets this Hotel is the stupid price of its meals and drinks.
We talked to people who had just dined in the restaurant , who was not impressed in the service the food or the prices and strongly advised us to eat else where which we duly did.
We had one drink at the bar which was to dear for the bar provided which was very dull.
As breakfast was included we went down for this. To say it was a bun fight was not doing it justice it was much worse than that. Total chaos with not enough staff to cope dirty tables everywhere, running out of fruit juice, food, spoons, etc etc.
The staff who where their did the very best to cope and I could not fault their efforts but it was to much of a uphill struggle for them. God bless them for the effort they put in.
I did not see anyone in charge of this mess.
I should hope the hotel is normally better run than this as I normally stay at one of the other Holiday Inns when I am in Southampton which is run much better than this one.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALECTRICIANS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 25 in Southampton
1,842 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 25 in Southampton
930 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southampton

Address: Herbert Walker Avenue, Southampton SO15 1HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: £77 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southampton 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Southampton is situated in the heart of Southampton City Centre, with views over the waterfront and close to the M3 and M27 motorwaysThe Holiday Inn Southampton is located next to all Major Cruise Terminals making it the prime hotel for your Pre Cruise Stay. A pre cruise package rate is available which includes Breakfast, Car Parking and Transfer to the TerminalDuring your stay you can take advantage of West Quay Shopping Centre, day trips to the Isle of Wight, New Forest, and Paulton's ParkThe Holiday Inn Southampton is host to the PSP Southampton Boat Show. The hotel is centred in the heart of the show ground making it the ideal location to stay. Package rates available direct at the hotel.The hotel consists of 130 en-suite, air conditioned bedrooms with high speed Internet access, Spirit Health Club, Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and LoungeOur facilities also include 24 hour Room Service and free use for our residents to the Spirit Health Club which includes an indoor swimming pool, gym and sauna.The Holiday Inn Southampton has 5 Meeting Rooms and can accommodate up to 180 delegates, ideal for meetings and all special occassions. All rooms have air conditioning, wireless Internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffeeAccessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free(Terms and Conditions Apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southampton Hotel Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing