We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay - Southampton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Highfield House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Clean fresh rooms and an amazing breakfast! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susannah64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
There are newer reviews for Highfield House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2011

After the misery and shabbiness of most English hotels, I was delighted to find Highfield House. The reception was extremely friendly and at the same time professional. We were given a room under the roof, which after a few minutes we found uncomfortably hot, so I asked to be changed. We were immediately given a lower level room, with apologies and a complimentary bottle of wine and box of After-Eight mints. Now that's service with even more than a smile. The room was clean and functional: everything worked, and the only jib I could find is that there is no fridge.
Free parking and free internet (but why isn't it free everywhere? It doesn't cost them anything after all...), and the best English breakfast I have ever had. The chief receptionist told us that "people come from far away for our breakfast", and I can understand why. The fried eggs were fresh as daisies, not lying in oil for hours; the sausages were the most delicious I have had; the bacon was perfectly eatable (although I don't think much of English non-streaky bacon); the coffee was incomparably good, and since you help yourself from an infernal, yet wonderful machine, there is no wait for it.
The only downside was our meal at Highfield's "associated" establishment, which was one of several the receptionist recommended to us. This was the Highfield Pub, situated half a mile up the road from the hotel. Although they give a discount of 20% to the hotel guests, I have rarely been in such a sad, decrepit place, with an equally sad meal. But that should be the subject of a separate review.
All in all Highfield House was a pleasant surprise, and we shall certainly be staying there again.

Room Tip: Romms under the roof tend to overheat in the summer. Rooms on the front tend to be noisy from the ro...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nickmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Stayed here twice on business trips and would not hesitate in recommending. The public areas are a little worn in places but good room size, clean and very quiet. Convenient location to the university with plenty of places to eat nearby. Hotel staff are really helpful and accommodating - Was given a room overlooking hotel's own car park but a car alarm kept going off. I rang reception to get info on what was happening and was moved immediately to the front of the hotel without even requesting this. It's a very nice two to three star max.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flora111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We were visiting Southampton University so it was a brilliant situation, being a 5 minute walk to the main Highfield Campus. The reception staff (two young ladies) were exceptionally pleasant, friendly and helpful. The room was clean, well furnished and decorated, average size with bathroom with bath and shower. We were situated at the back, and it was quiet. Beds very comfortable.
The breakfast was buffet style, so help yourself. The fresh fruit salad was possibly the best I have had and was amazing!! the cooked breakfast looked lovely but neither my daughter nor I tasted it as we weren't that hungry! This was such good value and we highly recommend the place. Its not luxurious 5* accommodation, but really good, with everything needed for a stop over. Perfect location for looking around the University, although a bit of a walk if you wanted to walk into town (half an hour walk but lots of buses available if needed)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clipclop62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed here for a football weekend with 7 couples who's ages range from 40-65. The Hotel reception staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room was in the new part of the hotel and was fine. A standard double bed, extra pillows, television, ironing board and iron, hairdryer and a bathroom. The standard of cleanliness was very good. Although other members of our party stayed in the older part and felt the rooms were quite small and pillows very flat. The breakfast was superb. Buffet style, with a varied selection and of very good quality. The only thing missing was a bar area, although a wine bar is attached to the hotel it is not part of it and closes at 11pm and is very pricey! However there is a pub across the road but as a group we like to have a nightcap in our hotel before retiring to bed.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 204 which was fine.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lions-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Our room was GBP59, for this price what we received was fantastic. The Highfield House Hotel was clean, staff were friendly and helpful. We had a small issue with our shower, a member of staff came up within one minute, resolved the issue and apologised.
Breakfast is buffet style but again, staff are friendly and for the price, this was good.
We have stayed at other hotels in Southampton but this is the hotel we would definitely use again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RollingMaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

The reception was helpful at check-in and very efficient.
The room was a single (box room) above an industrial extractor fan which stopped around 11:15pm unfortunately the buzzing in my head continued all the next day, this was not helped by the wafer thin pillows which offered no head support. After re-tuning the T.V. I managed to get two channels of poor quality. The water had to be run for at least five minutes to reach a luke warm temperature. The pipes which ran through the bedroom and into the bathroom all had a good covering of dust and hair. Towels are very small with only two available in a single room it took both to get dry after a cold shower.
The breakfast was great with the exception of no fresh coffee however a good variety of drinks was available form a drinks machine.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a LOT of road noise
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dummy1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 25 in Southampton
940 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elizabeth House Hotel
Elizabeth House Hotel
#4 of 25 in Southampton
370 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 25 in Southampton
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
1.8 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,745 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield House Hotel

Address: 119 Highfield Lane | Portswood, Southampton SO17 1AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range: £76 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Highfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing