We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Highfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
The Blue Keys(Southampton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Winston Hotel(Southampton)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (577)
Filter reviews
578 results
Traveller rating
134
244
141
41
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
244
141
41
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast was excellentbuffet stylesouthampton universityself servicetrouser pressthree starplenty of parkingfree wififull englishhotel guestscar parkironing boarda bit tiredtwin roomclose to shopsone night stayhigh street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
486 - 491 of 578 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Clean fresh rooms and an amazing breakfast! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susannah64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

After the misery and shabbiness of most English hotels, I was delighted to find Highfield House. The reception was extremely friendly and at the same time professional. We were given a room under the roof, which after a few minutes we found uncomfortably hot, so I asked to be changed. We were immediately given a lower level room, with apologies and a complimentary bottle of wine and box of After-Eight mints. Now that's service with even more than a smile. The room was clean and functional: everything worked, and the only jib I could find is that there is no fridge.
Free parking and free internet (but why isn't it free everywhere? It doesn't cost them anything after all...), and the best English breakfast I have ever had. The chief receptionist told us that "people come from far away for our breakfast", and I can understand why. The fried eggs were fresh as daisies, not lying in oil for hours; the sausages were the most delicious I have had; the bacon was perfectly eatable (although I don't think much of English non-streaky bacon); the coffee was incomparably good, and since you help yourself from an infernal, yet wonderful machine, there is no wait for it.
The only downside was our meal at Highfield's "associated" establishment, which was one of several the receptionist recommended to us. This was the Highfield Pub, situated half a mile up the road from the hotel. Although they give a discount of 20% to the hotel guests, I have rarely been in such a sad, decrepit place, with an equally sad meal. But that should be the subject of a separate review.
All in all Highfield House was a pleasant surprise, and we shall certainly be staying there again.

Room Tip: Romms under the roof tend to overheat in the summer. Rooms on the front tend to be noisy from the road. A first floor room on the back would be the best choice.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Stayed here twice on business trips and would not hesitate in recommending. The public areas are a little worn in places but good room size, clean and very quiet. Convenient location to the university with plenty of places to eat nearby. Hotel staff are really helpful and accommodating - Was given a room overlooking hotel's own car park but a car alarm kept going off. I rang reception to get info on what was happening and was moved immediately to the front of the hotel without even requesting this. It's a very nice two to three star max.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flora111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We were visiting Southampton University so it was a brilliant situation, being a 5 minute walk to the main Highfield Campus. The reception staff (two young ladies) were exceptionally pleasant, friendly and helpful. The room was clean, well furnished and decorated, average size with bathroom with bath and shower. We were situated at the back, and it was quiet. Beds very comfortable.
The breakfast was buffet style, so help yourself. The fresh fruit salad was possibly the best I have had and was amazing!! the cooked breakfast looked lovely but neither my daughter nor I tasted it as we weren't that hungry! This was such good value and we highly recommend the place. Its not luxurious 5* accommodation, but really good, with everything needed for a stop over. Perfect location for looking around the University, although a bit of a walk if you wanted to walk into town (half an hour walk but lots of buses available if needed)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clipclop62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed here for a football weekend with 7 couples who's ages range from 40-65. The Hotel reception staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room was in the new part of the hotel and was fine. A standard double bed, extra pillows, television, ironing board and iron, hairdryer and a bathroom. The standard of cleanliness was very good. Although other members of our party stayed in the older part and felt the rooms were quite small and pillows very flat. The breakfast was superb. Buffet style, with a varied selection and of very good quality. The only thing missing was a bar area, although a wine bar is attached to the hotel it is not part of it and closes at 11pm and is very pricey! However there is a pub across the road but as a group we like to have a nightcap in our hotel before retiring to bed.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 204 which was fine.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lions-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews