We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel staff, Excellent.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Highfield House Hotel
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed 20 June 2012

best friend had her reception there after her wedding. every one was very happy to help and very friendly. the only down side was the bar they recomended to my friend that they use for functions did not listen to her and ran out of booze before the night was over. over all the eperiance at the hotel was brillaint. friend is planning to go back there for their first anniversary. ps. this hotel was where my partner proposed and the same day as the wedding so we may stay on our anniversary of us getting engaged.

Room Tip: no tips but close window if u have a room near the car park!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here in March 2012. I booked the room on laterooms.com for £57 bed and breakfast. The hotel itself was quite small, but we still enjoyed our stay. The room was adequate - with freeview and free wi-fi available. Before going out for a few drinks we had some drinks downstairs at the next door bar which was lovely. We took advantage of the breakfast which was one of the best breakfasts I've ever had at a hotel! The selection of food was plentiful and the staff were very pleasant. It was great as check out wasn't until 12pm so we could chill out before spending the day in Southampton.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We had an overnight stay here prior to joining a cruise. We were warmly welcomed and as I expressed an interest in Titanic, was told this was the former home of Herbert Hodge who perished on that disastrous voyage. I was given a lot of local information about Titanic connections which helped me to enjoy the short stay in Southampton.
On our return, our ship was delayed and we needed an emercency overnight stay. Where else but the Highfield who accommodated us at very short notice. On each occasion, the room was extremely comfortable, very clean and had all the facilities were needed. Breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice from the buffet.
Would I stay there again? Definitely.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor on both occasions with very easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CumbriaHappysnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We booked through hotels.com. I remember the hotel from years ago when I lived in Southampton so I booked it for its convenient location mainly. On arrival we were made very welcome. It was explained where to have an evening meal, which was an excellent recommendation? The room was big enough, the bed was a little small and soft for us, but it was clean and there was ample hot water in the bathroom too. Breakfast was delicious with real sausages and coffee. We would stay again.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kerstin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This hotel is just 10 to 15 minutes walk from the University, and 5 minutes walk from the shops on Portswood Road (just around the corner). It's a great hotel - very comfortable, with free wifi, and excellent breakfast, and offstreet parking, and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I had a "New Double Standard" room, which was very spacious, and quiet (as it was on the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDEC_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Good value hotel set within walking distance of the university and Portswood. Friendly helpful staff, plenty of parking, very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KEKBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I don't often stay in city hotels outside of the centre, but I was visiting the University and couldn't afford to stay in the sort of glitzy places that the Southampton set stay in the night before going on a luxury cruise. In those terms, the Highfield House is great.

It was a lovely sunny evening and there was a real buzz around the area outside the hotel. There are a dozen or so eateries nearby so don't sorry that the hotel doesn't serve evening meals. As a resident, you get a discount at the place next door, but any of the nearby restaurants looked fine.

The rooms are a bit basic in the hotel, and there's no aircon, so in the unlikely event that you pick one of Britain's few sunny days to stay there, be prepared to be warm. On the other hand, the welcome was just as warm, so no complaints there.

Breakfast was nice, although a few more healthy options (more fruit, porridge?) would have been welcome. It was an easy enough trip to campus, and the UniLink bus stops on the main road outside if you don't fancy the walk. It runs every 15 minutes during the day and goes into town as well as to campus.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 339,334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#8 of 26 in Southampton
1,166 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#7 of 26 in Southampton
501 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
7.9 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield House Hotel

Address: 119 Highfield Lane | Portswood, Southampton SO17 1AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range: £38 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Highfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing