We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Highfield House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed 9 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed the night before our cruise in June 12 lovely clean hotel good size rooms rooms were well set out.breakfast was self service but very nice and staff were their to help you.All staff were very helpful and friendly nothing was to much trouble the small town was walking distance with good chouice of shops coffee houses and restranta could not recommend this hotel high enough We are staying again in November looking forward to it

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackiefry40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
There are newer reviews for Highfield House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2012

well we had a room on the ground floor with an adjoining door, locked obviously thank god as the chinese next door kept trying it. So i put a sock over the key hole just incase..lol
All rooms had been modernised recently? well they forgot my room...clean but in need of sprucing up. Traffic noise, but that didnt bother me. Next door chatting away till god knows when, what hour they got to sleep i am not sure but they woke us up at 6 in the morning noisy to say the least.
The breakfast couldnt be faulted. 10% off food if you use the Thai restaurant down the road or the restaurant next door..just show room card. I didnt use the card but worth it i guess!
The staff were excellent and very friendly, i couldn't be bothered to complain about the noise, but mentioned it in passing. it was clean and comfortable so i guess all in all ok

Room Tip: avoid a room with inner door to the next room noisy very if the people talk alot you will here them...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This hotel is highly recommended and offers a comfortable stay at a fair price with exceptionally friendly and helpful staff - I would certainly stay here again.

The room itself was modern and well generally well equipped - it's clearly been refurbished fairly recently, but is beginning to look a little worn in places. The room and bathroom were clean and the hospitality tray well stocked.

The room was slightly let down by the electric shower (which was incredibly loud), and the lack of soundproofing which means you can hear guests talking in adjacent rooms.

The breakfast buffet was excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms are not air conditioned - if its warm and you will need the window open at night, try and avoi...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The hotel is very clean, breakfast is good and the staff are extremely helpful. Lashings of hot water and a comfortable bed.
The rooms are rather small and accessed by a narrow staircase so I wouldn't recommend if you are infirm but for 2 reasonably fit adults it was absolutely fine.
With the window open (scorching weather) it was noisy with a wedding party and traffic noise but then that was to be expected. The double glazing no doubt would keep the noise level down.
Parents beware - the window stays in our room were broken. We were on the second floor and the windows could be opened very wide. However the staff were lovely with children from what I observed.(They made one little boy his own omlette for breakfast, which wasn't on the menu).
This wasn't an average hotel - it was good , but it's score came down overall because of the few disadvantages and its room size.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coral008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

we booked this hotel as all the others in southampton were booked up. seemed all right from outside, the hotel was full they gave us room 12 no lift just a narrow stairway up to the first floor.
set of stairs in the room let to the smallest bathroom i have ever come across the wife could not stop laughing especially when i triad to fit through the door toilet was blocking the door so you could only half open it. we went out for evening meal as this hotel does not do food but it does have a bar attached to it that does with the hotel name above it but not part of it. when we returned at about 10.30 we soon realised we were above the said bar my wife phoned reception who said it shuts at 11. ok at 12.00 i rung down to complain about the noise and was told they had a party on that was why it was still going on. he said it would see whats going on, i asked if he knew of any quiet hotels in the area. eventually it quieten down until 6.00am when all the deliveries started to arrive. they did apologize and gave us a part refund but the damage was done.

Room Tip: don,t stay in rooms 4 to 16 you are above a loud bar.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigsutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

A small very friendly hotel. Well worth a 5* rating. Child friendly fantastic friendly staff. Everyone well mannered and couldn't make our visit more perfect. Nothing was to much for the staff to do and its high standards was great too. Breakfast was fab very very very nice and loads to choose from. Should be a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsroberts2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Firstly must say the staff were extremely friendly and helpful but unfortunately this could not make up for the whole place needing an update. The biggest problem is being able to hear the people talking in the next room, not loudly just normal level speech! We were blessed with the fact that they did not use the TV. I know this is a difficult one to fix but it is something that will have to be addressed unless you always ask people to wear earplugs in bed!
The bathroom was antiquated and our bathmat had mould on the reverse. I was unable to turn the shower off on the first morning and the phone was non existent so I had to report it once dressed, terrible waste of water.
Not wanting to end on a negative note, there is a good restaurant next door to the hotel and it is within walking distance of a small high street with a few other restaurants and pubs.
All in all, possibly won't be making a return visit unless standards improve.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkBritAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 25 in Southampton
938 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elizabeth House Hotel
Elizabeth House Hotel
#5 of 25 in Southampton
369 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 25 in Southampton
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
1.8 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,739 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield House Hotel

Address: 119 Highfield Lane | Portswood, Southampton SO17 1AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range: £75 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Highfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing