We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definately Worth a Repeat Visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highfield House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Highfield House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Definately Worth a Repeat Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

I stayed here on a Saturday night for business purposes, and it was fully booked with a very busy check in when I arriived. The reception called upon other staff to help, and got the queue down very quickly. The main 2 reception staff I met on a couple of occasions were extremely courteous, informative, and could not do enough to help every guest. The room was very clean, more than adequately furnished with good comfortable beds, and accomodating every need whether on business or leisure. Would definately book there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wooseySussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    219
    119
    27
    12
See reviews for
81
192
28
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

I've used this hotel severally over the last five years or so and always found it covenient, clean and comfotable with some of the most obliging staff you'll find anywhere. Car parking on site and a simple £3 return bus ride to anywhere in the city. Some good food and bars nearby in and around Portswood but I would suggest venturing into the centre for a real treat. First class breakfast served in what is now feeling like a slightly 'tired' dining facility. Beware of the 'wafer' thin walls between rooms, if you have 'lively' neighbours or early risers using the plug sockets or bathroom it can be, shall we say, a little off putting. but if that's all the negative things it can't be bad can it? Oh and bye the way it's still great value for a City Hotel.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms on the main road by the crossroads, they can be a little noisy, especially if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onetonyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed here over bank holiday weekend. Requested a ground floor room as other reviews indicate that there is no lift. As my husband is disabled we were given a ground floor room which was clean and very comfortable. Only downside, as with many hotels, no actual disabled access rooms, Bear this in mind if you are disabled as bathroom is very small (clean) and not really set up if you are unable to stand unaided or need assistance. Very nice stay however, staff very helpful although two very young girls on reception who were a bit vague sometimes. Breakfast was really lovely, lots of choice and again, although self service, the staff were more the willing to help without being asked. Will definatley be visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, England
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

The hotel is situated on a quiet road but easily walkable to shops and restaurants. Very nice welcome and we were early but it was no problem and our room was ready. We were on the third floor and there was no lift so keep this in mind if you have any mobility problems. The room was very nice - clean and welcoming. Tea and coffee making, armchair (just the one though), shower and bath, tv etc. The only problem there was no air conditioning and it was one of the hotest nights of the year - not the hotels fault but we did not get much sleep as the room became so hot and the window would only open much (obviously for safety). The breakfast was very good - full english and very well presented and cooked plus other choices of yogurts fruit toast etc. The staff were very attentive and even cooked your toast for you. A very good stay just a shame about the hot night!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAN53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

we stopped at highfield house on 9th august ,we have stopped ther before when we cruise from southampton,easy access from the motorway, and very easy to find the port area. Once again the staff were very helpful and friendly. The Hotel is very clean and the breakfast was excellent.And very good value for money

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandpnorfolk02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Stayed here for one night. Staff very helpful. Clean hotel and rooms. The only down sides were location of room - above a bar. We had to open the window as room was very hit and had no air conditioning. By having to have window open we were treated to a foul mouthed, obviously drunk, loud woman at the bar. No point in moving rooms as we were only here for one night. We would come back but have to have a room away from the bar. Fantastic Thai restaurant "Sara's" just round the corner.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline66Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed the night before our cruise in June 12 lovely clean hotel good size rooms rooms were well set out.breakfast was self service but very nice and staff were their to help you.All staff were very helpful and friendly nothing was to much trouble the small town was walking distance with good chouice of shops coffee houses and restranta could not recommend this hotel high enough We are staying again in November looking forward to it

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackiefry40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
1.2 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elizabeth House Hotel
Elizabeth House Hotel
#7 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
1.8 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield House Hotel

Property: Highfield House Hotel
Address: 119 Highfield Lane | Portswood, Southampton SO17 1AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Highfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing