We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A relief”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Highfield House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A relief”
Reviewed 23 April 2008

After a terrible start at Jurys Inn, Highfield House was a welcome relief. The room was a little small, but perfectly comfortable and far better appointed than my room at Jurys. I loved the towel rack warmer in the morning =)

Free wireless, free breakfast buffet, nice staff, decent restaurant next door--no complaints.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank pangloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    226
    124
    28
    12
See reviews for
81
198
29
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South West England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2007

I stayed in a single room for one night in November 2007. The member of staff who booked me in was very friendly, almost overwhelmingly so (not that this is a problem!). The room was big enough for one person; the bathroom in particular was large. The refurbished room was comfortable and included a chair, small occasional table and another bench that could be used as a desk. Lighting was energy-saving so a bit dim but I admire the fact that they are using these bulbs. There is a safe too and plenty of hanging space. The bed was comfortable and I was warm enough. The bathroom hadn't been renovated but was clean and had all I needed, though the empty shampoo bottles from the previous occupant were still in the shower. The power shower was a bit average, but that's English showers for you! The breakfast was nice and had a range of options. There is free wireless internet access that I only found out about after chancing on a small sign on one of the tables in reception. You need to get a code from them but there is no charge; contrary to the information in the rooms.
For me the one drawback of this hotel is the soundproofing between rooms, although I am sensitive to noise. I could hear the person having a bath in the room next to me very clearly and television noise was coming through from the room below. I was not too close to the bar noise as I was on the second floor but can easily see how this would be an issue for nearby rooms on the first floor. So if you're worried about this perhaps ask for a room away from the (separate) bar.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and free wireless internet access
  • Disliked — Noise from adjoining rooms
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Brizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2007

I stayed in this hotel for a friday night. The hotel was clean, and does not have a restaurant for evening meals. In the town you have to eat early as when I got there all restaurants in the area were fully booked. The room was again clean, with tea and coffee making facilities. The bed was comfortable. However when I run the cold tap hot water came out! When I ran the hot tap.......hot water ran out. The shower wouldn't turn on at all, so had to have a hot bath in the morning. When you arrive at the hotel they make you settle straight away which I hadn't experienced before. All in all ok with some reservations.

  • Disliked — Bathroom facilities
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Fourth_Monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORFOLK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2007

Have stayed here before which is why we rebooked. Very disappointed this time. A complete muddle with booking with no apology. Having asked for quiet rooms ,given rooms on main road. The rooms are so hot,as there is no air conditioning, you have to have the windows open. Rooms not serviced until afternoon and some of the staff very rude. Needed light bulb replaced and even when it was left on desk in room,remained there along with empty wine bottle and glasses from previous night. Fire alarms went off in the morning and no one seemed to know what was going on. This is not a cheap hotel to stay in. The only plus points are a free Independent newspaper and an excellent breakfast.Prices have increased since it has been refurbished so maybe a lift and air conditioning should be thought off with the money they are making with the overpriced rates. Used to have nice toiletries. Not even a box of tissues now. Bring back the lady who was there before and cheaper rates. Do not want to pay the extra for the 'flat screen' TV which has a very bad picture. There are plenty more Hotels in Southampton

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Price,too noisy and rooms too hot
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUSIENORFOLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2007

We have mixed feelings about this hotel. We made the booking over the telephone with a lovely lady called Deanna who was helpful and friendly. Unfortunately, on arrival we found some of the reception staff a little surly which was in complete contrast to the earlier telephone conversation. The room was clean and fairly well presented but really quite small considering the price paid (£109 per night). On the plus side the breakfast was fabulous and the restaurant next door served an amazing sunday lunch.

  • Liked — Great breakfast
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_and_Mrs_Smith_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2007

We stayed in this hotel in mid June, as we were catching a cruise the next day from Southampton, as it is half way between the airport and the port this was an ideal location.
The hotel staff were very firendly and the rooms were lovely and modern. the rooms were a bit too warm for my liking, but other than that it was faultless. The breakfast in the morning was very good.
Overall value for money this is a great option to stay for an overnight in Southampton.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2007

Stayed at this hotel for one night in June (Saturday) prior to catching a ferry for a short break on the Isle of Wight - 2 adults and 1 child. This was the only room we could find after scouring the internet and we were encouraged by the positive reviews on here.

Anyway, the hotel is in a leafy residential area and was easy to find. Parking was adequate and the public areas of the hotel were clean and tidy. Check in was friendly and straightforward.

At this point, I should say that we booked the hotel through a 3rd party website, as the hotel's own site would not accept a one night booking on this date. We paid £94.00 bed and breakfast .

The cheerful receptionist queried why we had booked using the 3rd party site and we explained that their own site would not allow us to book. We were told that this was because they had a 2 nights for £80.00 offer on, so effectively, I could have booked that and just left after the first night and be £14 better off - this offer was not on the website, so call the hotel direct if you are thinking of staying there!!

We were allocated room 4, with a nice double bed and a single sofa bed. The decor of the room was fresh and it was clean/tidy, with a decent bathroom. The wall mounted flat panel TV had a mix of terrestrial channel (really fuzzy) and Sky channels.

Room 4 is situated above Ceno's Restaurant and bar (to which the hotel leases space) and it wasnt until the evening that we experienced a thumping bass noise coming up through the floor and walls, evidently from the restaurant's sound system. This was going on full pelt at 10.00pm, so my wife called down to reception and spoke to the night porter - he explained that it was Ceno's sound system etc and that they were normally good about noise and that it would be over and done with by 10.45 -11.00pm

When it was still going on at 11.00pm, I went down to reception and spoke to the Night Porter. I basically asked where in the hotel's advertising did it say that I could expect to sleep in a disco! He referred me to the duty manager, who I spoke to on the telephone. From talking to him and the porter, my suspicion was that this is not an unknown issue at the hotel. He apologised etc and promised to reduce the bill.

The music finally stopped at midnight-ish and after that it was peace and quiet. The next morning, we went down for breakfast and the duty manager introduced himself and once again apologised for the disturbance. True to his word, when we checked out, he had taken £30 off our bill, which was a nice gesture and was appreciated.

My issue was not so much with the cause of the noise (after all it was a Saturday night) but the fact that they put families with children in that part of the hotel in the first place.

Breakfast was excellent, with a full cooked and continental buffet.

Incidentally, we ate at Ceno's. As another reviewer said, the place is very trendy and upmarket..... and it has prices to match! The food and service was nice, but I felt it a touch overpriced for what it was - a one minute walk down to Portswood High Street revealed a number of restaurants, including a Pizza Hut, Thai and Indian restaurants.

In summary, this is a good hotel, with friendly staff, but the noise issue spoiled our visit - we would think twice about returning.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, decent breakfast, nice room
  • Disliked — noise!
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrCBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
1.2 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elizabeth House Hotel
Elizabeth House Hotel
#7 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
1.8 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield House Hotel

Property: Highfield House Hotel
Address: 119 Highfield Lane | Portswood, Southampton SO17 1AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Highfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing