We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is OK, but reception staff are great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Highfield House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Pocklington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Hotel is OK, but reception staff are great!”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I stayed here for one night. The welcome was very good, a very helpful receptionist who could not do enough. The whole hotel is a little stuck though in the 1980's and I think really coud do with some money being spent on it. Decor and rooms are faded a bit, however they are clean and very comfy. The breakfast was very good, a buffet style with an excellent choice. The rooms were a little warm, so I had to open the window and my room was overlooking the road, which actually gets quite busy so there is quite a bit of noise.

They give you free wifi (mine did not work though, as my room was at the end of the corridor and clearly the router was not strong enough!).

Overall, comfy, welcoming and good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the road and if you want wifi, ask for a room that is not at the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorktraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    229
    129
    33
    15
See reviews for
88
210
29
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Ground floor room as requested, dark and musty. Cracked toilet and (cold) tap water not very plentiful. Small double, but we managed O.K.
Breakfast buffet good, although all the eggs were hard.
The staff were excellent, especially the Receptionist who greeted us and offered us a choice of two other rooms, sadly both faced the busy road so we opted to stay where we were. This trip the focus was on the cricket at The Ageas Bowl, not the hotel, but I would find it hard to reccommend it.

Room Tip: Our Room was 104 facing a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiley2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed for one night before heading to the Isle of Wight. Room on 3rd floor small but beautifully clean and comfortable. All of the staff were very helpful with advice about where to eat and drink. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a wide range of choice and excellent coffee. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the rear car park away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrypw2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales uk
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Excellent value. Buffet breakfast was excellent with probably the best sausage my husband says he has EVER tasted!!! Tea and coffee in room. All for £55 the room. Last time we stay we were on third floor and we did report a problem with smelly plumbing. So this time asked for a different room. Was given one on ground floor facing car park. They said they had totally refurbished since last time but we still had plumbing problems with lots of water gurgling noises after water was put down the sink and bath. Also worth a mention is that there is no lift so if you have a heavy case they will organise help for you. All in all a good service with nice people. Also big new Sainsburys on the corner for any last minute items.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LibbyOWalesuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Stayed for one night as we were attending a gig nearby and we were pleasantly surprised at the standard since there was not much alternative in the area. We would definitely recommend/stay again. The breakfast was of the buffet variety and everything you might expect was present, we certainly filled up!

Room Tip: The area is quiet so would say most rooms would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kinnies007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed for one night prior to catching a cruise ship, The cost was very good for the area, the hotel was clean and breakfast was good, the rooms were perhaps a little small, but this was not a problem, The car parking was also very good, but best of all was the staff who gave sound advice and were very pleasant.
The only downside was that it did not have an evening restaurant, but the restaurant next to the hotel gave us a lovely meal and a discount for being in the hotel, also the area was not particularly good, the town which was only a couple of minutes away had nothing but charity shops and take aways.
Would I stay again, yes very much so.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigbigroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed here one night on business. Location is ok, easy to find and near to several places to eat.
Checking in was a lengthy process.

Room was ok, nothing special but clean. TV turned itself on a couple of times during the night which was disconcerting, especially when wouldn't switch off from the remote, had to get up and switch off. Should have unplugged it, now I think about it.

Top marks for breakfast. Loads of choice and really well done.
Staff were friendly and pleasant.
Generally recommendable, bit expensive for what it is but decent enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisGBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 24 in Southampton
879 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elizabeth House Hotel
Elizabeth House Hotel
#6 of 24 in Southampton
363 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,711 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,805 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield House Hotel

Property: Highfield House Hotel
Address: 119 Highfield Lane | Portswood, Southampton SO17 1AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Highfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing