We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay for good price with breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Highfield House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good stay for good price with breakfast”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Booked this hotel thought booking.com originale for the price..bonus that the price we paid include our full breakfast.The location was less than 10mins from the Ferry we Were Catching. Fantastic service from friendly staff, brilliant fresh breakfast.
Hotel could do with a small amount of cosmetic upgrade, carpets Where faded and ties in need of growling....However this did not cause any fault for service or quality

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetopcat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    226
    124
    28
    12
See reviews for
81
198
29
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tintwistle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Good car parking plenty of room, excellent attention at the Reception with friendly and helpful staff. Rooms small, neat and clean and acceptable for one or two nights. Excellent free Wifi. Breakfast very good but no evening meal on site but next door is the "Ceno" Restaurant.

A very good place to lay your head

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefJDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Having spent the weekend at Pembrey, we travelled here getting in quite late to be met by very cheerful and helpful staff who were ready for us, making the booking in very quick and simple. The room was clean and larger than expected and led to a very comfortable stay leaving us refreshed for catching the ferry to Cowes the next morning. Definitely use this hotel again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndyCox61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Our son recently got married at the nearby Highfields Church and the wedding party stayed at this very friendly hotel. The rooms at the front do get the noise from the busy road but with the window shut it was fine and they were clean, comfortable and with a very friendly staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. I locked myself out twice and not a murmur of annoyance from the reception desk staff who had to climb the stairs (there is no lift) to let me in.

Several reviewers have commented on the great breakfast and that is certainly the case. The sausages in particular were outstanding and good hot cooked buffet breakfast in a hotel is not that easy to fine but this one has it along with plenty of variety for those seeking less calorific fare to start the the morning.

There is a bar bistro right next door which as very full on Friday night. We did not dine there but the drinks we had in the bar there would indicate this is rather an expensive place but I may be wrong about that and I am sure the hotel staff would recommend other nearby places as the hotel itself does not cater for lunch or evening meal.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back away from the main road if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and found this hotel very welcoming with excellent staff. We had a few requests and these were dealt with very very quickly with smiles.
The breakfast was out of this worlds with everything you could think of and more!

The hotel is located near a sainsburys and a car park for guests. The rooms are furnished in a traditional way which gives it an authentic.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maybe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times for work and always had an enjoyable stay. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfasts are excellent. I agree with other reviewers that the rooms can be a little warm but this is easily dealt with by opening the window and using earplugs to reduce the noise.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtaorv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This hotel was booked last minute online for an overnight stay in Southampton. It was advertised as four star but I feel it's more like a three star establishment.
The room was clean and spacious, at the back overlooking the car park. The ensuite was small but adequate. Considering the hot weather, air conditioning would have been welcome but not available in the rooms, as we were on the ground floor we did not feel we could go out and leave the windows open as our belongings safety would have been compromised. Thus it was stifling upon our return. There was no fridge in the room and no bar in the hotel so we ended up going to the local shop to buy some chilled drinks.
Breakfast was included in the price and was very nice, with a choice of English or Continental. It was a help yourself buffet and you could have as much as you wished.
Overall I don't think the hotel quite lives up to its four star rating and is already looking a little tired even though it was refurbished in the last couple of years. If you are looking for an overnight stay in a clean basic hotel, then this fits the bill. The free parking was also a bonus but I would advise that the car park does get full quite quickly. No frills, clean accommodation with lovely friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
1.2 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elizabeth House Hotel
Elizabeth House Hotel
#7 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
1.8 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield House Hotel

Property: Highfield House Hotel
Address: 119 Highfield Lane | Portswood, Southampton SO17 1AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Highfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing