We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Highfield House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Can't fault the staff”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Having read reviews we were given a room on the top floor at the front, lots of traffic noise and the heating appeared to have a bad case of indigestion , so we asked for a different room. The staff on reception were very helpful and gave us a room facing the rear. After we returned from dinner I realised we should have tolerated the traffic noise due to the troglodyte wedding reception being held in the hotel. As interesting as it may have been I didn't want to listen to their family disputes being aired under our closed window, or a barrow being dragged backwards and forwards to a van in the early hours. It would appear Essex has nothing on Hampshire in the chav stakes. I can't really blame the hotel for me only getting four hours sleep but I had hoped for almost twice that after a long day. Breakfast was excellent as were the staff , genuinely nice people.
I was somewhat surprised when we checked in around 6 pm to be told my credit card had already been charged as they were allowed to, at 12:06pm ,an hour and 54 minutes before check in starts. Given the choice I would have paid cash.
Hopefully we were unlucky but if I needed a hotel in the area, I doubt this would be my first choice.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    229
    129
    33
    15
See reviews for
88
211
29
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Booked for 4 nights pre cruise. Room and breakfast very good. Staff helpful and always bright and cheerful. Excellent Thai restaurant "Sara's just around the corner and Sainsburys just over the road. Car park as well. We will book again if in the area. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley1954pickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford UK
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We chose the hotel for the proximity to the cricket, however traffic was terrible and the 2 mile taxi ride took 40 mins, would advise taking plenty of time. Hotel itself was clean, friendly and near a high street with plenty of bars and restaurants

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

In town for a reunion of my nursing buddies, the hotel was a perfect spot to crash after a wonderful dinner in Ceno restaurant situated next door. (Hotel guests receive a reduction at Ceno and the food there is excellent.) My twin room at the hotel on second floor was neat and clean with plenty of hanging space, an iron and board attached to wall, a safe, hair drier, free wi fi (code obtained from reception on checkin) and a good power shower. Would have liked a box of tissues. Friends who occupied the single rooms found them somewhat 'compact', but again clean. Brekky was very good, lots of hot and cold choices served buffet style. Parking can be tricky during busy periods. This hotel offers good value for money, it is handy to the University and also has conference facilities.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Menna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

On the one hand this hotel has parking (tricky to find in many Southampton hotels) and a fresh and plentiful breakfast included in the cost (although they do clear your plates as the last mouthful of food goes in).
On the other it is a little tired and grubby and given its proximity to student housing it should have more efficient double glazing to keep the noise of the jollity out.
The reception staff were helpful and welcoming and knowledgable about the local area.
Other pluses are the room had a safe, and also sachets of hot chocolate along with the usual tea and coffee.
I probably would stay here again but wouldn't view it as a treat which to my mind a hotel stay should be.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the main road if possible. Also there didn't seem to be a lift so be awar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank navyclogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed overnight prior to a cruise. Large clean room with large bathroom. No restaurant at the hotel but plenty of restaurants close by. Good traditional english breakfast with continental option also.
The only complaint was that the staircase smelt of a bad case of damp, needs attending to.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allan2952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Booked in for two nights. Nice hotel. Great value for the money. Excellent breakfast and great location for restraints and the university. Will use again. Rooms clean. The staff are very nice and helpful. No bar at the hotel but plenty nearby.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Shaunkirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
881 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elizabeth House Hotel
Elizabeth House Hotel
#5 of 24 in Southampton
364 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,711 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,807 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield House Hotel

Property: Highfield House Hotel
Address: 119 Highfield Lane | Portswood, Southampton SO17 1AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Highfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing