We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Highfield House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Lancaster
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed for 3 nights while attending a conference at the Highfield Campus of the University and found The Highfield House Hotel to be *almost* perfect for my needs. I asked for a quiet room on the top floor and was allocated a decent-sized double room (with bath and shower) at the back of the hotel. The room overlooked the carpark. If you're a light sleeper (which I am), the early-morning refuse collection and the 1am delivery (of laundry?) could be an issue. The rooms are not air-conditioned. On the plus side: the room was clean; the breakfast was good (real filter coffee included); the staff were very friendly. In sum, a clean, well-priced hotel in good walking distance (about 10 minutes) to the Highfield Campus.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    228
    126
    28
    13
See reviews for
85
204
29
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed for one night with my wife as we were going to a concert near by.
This is the second time we have stayed at the Highfield and it was just as good as the first time
If you want a good clean room with a very good breakfast and very friendly staff plus free parking
this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRENDAN Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel following the let's rock Southampton gig. Room was spacious and clean. The staff were really friendly considering how busy they were. Great breakfast the following morning too. Would stay again for sure.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We were a little disappointed with this hotel, small room with no aircon, bathroom was tiny and up some steps.
There was no lift or help to carry luggage up stairs down narrow passage way to our room.
On the plus side the hotel was handy to the village,(great meal at the Old Nags Head) it had excellent parking facilities, the breakfast was very nice and sufficient and the staff served with a smile.
Maybe if you book directly rather than through booking companies you may get better rooms?

Room Tip: Ask for a room with air conditioning and a decent sized bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for four nights during a conference. I was warmly received, and the manager was always eager to help no matter what my problem was. Also, their breakfast buffet is truly excellent. I will definitely keep this place in mind for future visits to Southampton!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyril C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Another lovely stay at the Highfield. Clean room, good shower and our spacious bathroom had a bath too so my young daughter enjoyed a bubble bath. Delicious breakfast and friendly staff. There is a very nice feeling about this hotel and we felt very much rested after our day out at the Lets Rock Southampton 80's festival on the common.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel is in a great position if you are visiting the university which is only a ten minute walk away. The room was basic, averaged size and clean, bathroom was ok and clean. For the price it was acceptable. The bedding needs replacing it really is well past its sell by date, flat , thin and just unpleasant.
The breakfast was excellent and made this hotel very good value for money. Fresh free range eggs, bacon and sausages, just shows its all down to well cooked good ingredients. Fresh fruit salads and great coffee too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Well_travelled_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
809 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elizabeth House Hotel
Elizabeth House Hotel
#7 of 24 in Southampton
341 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
461 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,743 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield House Hotel

Property: Highfield House Hotel
Address: 119 Highfield Lane | Portswood, Southampton SO17 1AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Highfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing