We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly staff, amazing breakfast, great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Highfield House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Super friendly staff, amazing breakfast, great value!”
Reviewed 28 May 2009

We stayed in this hotel during Bank Holiday Weekend, as it was close to Portsmouth and to New Forrest. There was a CCTV-covered parking and we felt safe we could drive there. We received a very friendly welcome at the reception desk which continued throughout our visit. The breakfast were fantastic, there was a complimentary newspaper (The Independent), plenty of local information around the reception area, a local map, etc. If I had to pick something that could improve, it would be the TV that wasn't set properly and we only had 3 channels, and the cleaner would only give us one set of towels even though we stayed in a double bedroom. In the evening we could hear music vibrations from the bar next door. However, overall, for the price you pay for this hotel, it was really good and if we decide to go for another cycle ride in New Forrest, we will definitely stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    228
    126
    28
    12
See reviews for
84
203
29
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Really really nice staff, friendly, helpful, EXPERIENCED (and knowledgeable) and efficient. Also, willing to go the extra mile (I won't say how incase people take advantage of them, but they were really nice).

The price is INCREDIBLE, really really good value. The location is also excellent, if you have a car, for travelling to New Forest, Portsmouth, London, or Southampton. It's really very accessible.

The room was nice and clean, easily accessible, etc. 3 small complaints... noise from the night club next door is audible until around 11 or midnight (was too sleepy to notice exactly the time), and the room was baking (and I mean seriously baking) hot all night. The bed was also small... a double at best. Very very sticky the first night, but we were so exhausted the second night it wasn't an issue.

I don't want the negative's to sound to bad. I would DEFINITELY stay here again if we visited the area. Breakfast was also spot on!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjg101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

On finding the hotel we checked in, the receptionist Kylie I think her name was, was absolutly brilliant, she made us feel very welcome. As it was my first time in the city we asked the receptionist loads of questions and must have called them around 10 times, she was happy to help all the time and gave us great advise on travel & gave us a great night spot! There's nothing better then a nice breakfast on the morning. The waitress was brilliant she was so attentive to everyone while still keeping the food, which was so yummy, fresh.

I am very suprised this is only a 3* I think there is a lot of potential and advise everyone to try it. And also there are great bus links into the city from just around the corner save your petrol for the returen journey!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdm86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2009

Got back from a one night stay at the Highfield Hotel and there is not a bad word I can say about the service I received!

The staff were utterly helpful and extremely professional.
The rooms were of a high standard - contemporarily decorated and great facilities inside the room.
The breakfast (which is included in the price) was perfect! - Great choice and great service.
Clean throughout the entire building. Ample parking and close to city cente.

There is not any area that I would fault - best service Ive ever recieved from a hotel!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank one_word_wonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

We stayed one night and the staff could not have been more helpful. The room was very smart and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was buffet-style and included in the very reasonable price. They have tried to think of everything, from a free Wi-fi connection to a pound out back for guide dogs to relieve themselves! All in all, an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield uk
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

Stayed one night with very friendly staff and dog friendly hotel, rooms lovel clean quiet and comfortable, great parking, lovely dining place next door and super breakfast included, cant praise the staff highly enough...thank you all !

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elitest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kesgrave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

We used this hotel as it is close to where our daughter is living as a student at the University. The location was just right for us, but is also handy for getting to Southampton, and to the M27.

The rooms were clean and in good condition, and benefit from a recent refurbishment. Tea and coffee were provided, and free WiFi, although we didn't make us of it. Room servicing was very good for the two days we stayed. Breakfast was fine, served in the small restaurant, and included in our room rate.

All the staff were friendly and welcoming, and we had no problems in arriving late (around 1100pm) on our first night.

Car parking was very good with plenty of spaces and the proximity to our room meant we could see the car at all times from our window!

All in all a pleasant and enjoyable stay, and definitely a place we would stay at again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birches16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
804 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elizabeth House Hotel
Elizabeth House Hotel
#7 of 24 in Southampton
341 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
460 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,733 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield House Hotel

Property: Highfield House Hotel
Address: 119 Highfield Lane | Portswood, Southampton SO17 1AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Highfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing