We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 3* hotel - fab service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Highfield House Hotel
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Was able to park in the carpark, but got the last space. Great welcome from the receptionist - friendly and lots of information. Room 8 was clean, tidy and a nice firm bed. Tea/coffee, lots of towels. Bathroom was a little small, and had to go up a small flight of stairs, but good use of space.

Breakfast was great, hot and freshly cooked buffet.

Was a good 10 minute walk to The Brook venue, but nearest hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo_Red_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2011

We stayed in a room directly below a restaurant/ Bar and whilst there were noise to be heard, it was not too loud to keep us awake.
However, the room had no fridge which was disappointing, and considering the water from the taps were not drinkable, the hotel did not provide bottled water. If we wanted drinking water, we had to boil water instead.
The hotel website had stated that a £1.5 million refurbishment had taken place but this was had to see. The locks on the windows were broken, the light switch for the toilet had to be turned on a couple of times before the light comes on. The toilet flush did not work properly and there was an almost unbearable smell as you go up the stairwells (They really need to sort that smell out!).
On the positive side, the hotel is well situated to bars, restaurants and shops.
The staff at the hotel are extremely friendly, there are lots of parking space and the buffet breakfast is well done.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oseremi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

We stayed while visiting Southampton University - hotel is just down the road and has free parking. Also free wifi with consistent performance. Bed was comfy enough with 2 people in it, kettle, iron & hairdryer provided.
Not many negatives, just a few niggles that reduced the comfort of the stay: no fridge in the room (just a kettle and and only a couple of plug sockets. And a bizarre notice above the bathroom sink that said "this water is not for drinking" but no drinking water provided.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AUandUKcitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We stayed at this hotel over the Christmas period. We were very surprised to find that the water in the our bathroom was not suitable for drinking and bottled water was not provided. We were able to have a jug of water. Although the room size was adequate the bed was only 4ft 6ins wide

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire504230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

My Husband,myself and our teenage daughter, have stayed at this hotel may times, whilst visiting our Son [who is at the University]. Very well situated, near local shops,on bus route to Southampton. Clean, well presented rooms-excellent cooked breakfast and very polite and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherinej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

My wife and I stayed at the hotel while our daughter was getting moved into Uni residence. The check-in staff were quite friendly. Room and bathroom were quite small and the room was a long walk from the reception. It was a Saturday night so there was a wedding party making noise below us but not too late. A group of rowdy youngsters came in late but then this is near the uni. Breakfast was ok, lots of variety but quality was only so so. Had to ask to have the TV in the breakfast room turned down as it was on quite loud (football repeat) and no one was watching it.
The restaurant next door was booked for the evening meal and we ending up walking a couple of miles before we found a replacement.
The hotel is quite a walk from the uni as well, we are glad we had our car.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thelockes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

I was baffled by the difference between the reviews and reality. I always consult trip advisor before booking and have been staying in various hotels in the Southampton area for last four months.
The hotel is in a student area of the city. Which means it is very noisy at night and full of debris the morning after, at least for our Friday night stay . We arrived to find hotel customers squatting together in the bushes or in huddled groups, smoking, odd. It didn't feel like a nice place to be, it had the ambience of a city travel lodge.
The room was basic, small and musty. The bed had a single flat pillow each and a duvet that only just covered the bed. It was noisy all night long, (our room was right next to the road) and we just could not sleep. Breakfast was in a very basic, just about clean dining hall with a T.V on one wall. The cooked food was unappealling to the eye, I tried some, it wasn't nice to eat. The coffee from a machine was surprisingly nice. I paid a rate of £59 from late rooms, We ate in the restaurant next door as it was late. It was a friendly place and the food was okay. However, I do wish I had opted for the £99 Dinner bed and Breakfast at the De Vere again, which was availiable that night, a much better experience in every way (and a wee bit cheaper as paid £60 for dinner)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellionaplate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#7 of 26 in Southampton
1,162 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#6 of 26 in Southampton
500 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elizabeth House Hotel
Elizabeth House Hotel
#8 of 26 in Southampton
389 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield House Hotel

Address: 119 Highfield Lane | Portswood, Southampton SO17 1AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range: £43 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Highfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing