We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Changed dramatically”

Tosca's Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #515 of 855 Restaurants in Southampton
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Tosca's certainly takes advantage of its setting near The Mayflower Theatre in Southampton, treating pre and post-show diners to a wonderful menu with theatrical flair. This is the place for a gorgeous array of pizza, pasta, steak and seafood dishes, whether seeing a show, enjoying a delicious meal out or simply looking to enjoy a drink in the wine bar. A part of The Italian Dining Group.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
738 reviews
491 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Changed dramatically”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We have dined in this restaurant many times as a dinner stop, prior to visiting the theatre. The food has always been excellent and Tony and his staff always served us quickly and efficiently enough to get us to the Theatre in time. What a surprise when we went last evening. The whole ambience had changed. The system had changed to a buffet type service, with waiters coming round with various skewered meats and carving/serving as much as you liked. The buffet was well stocked with hot and cold food. The waiter service was sporadic and the meat not very hot. Overall it was very good value (you could eat as much as you like) but though the staff were friendly and the restaurant had been revamped tastefully, we preferred the old system.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    23
    15
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Italian”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Have always found this restaurant excellent. The proprieter, Tony, makes you feel very welcome. There is a good choice of food and very well presented.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not a change for the better!”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I used to love coming to this restaurant, and looked forward to the delicious,authentic Italian food and the excellent service. However, since the revamp, the ambience has dramatically changed. It now feels more like a motorway cafe than a restaurant. Although the food is tasty, some of it is lukewarm. The service is still warm and friendly, but that does not compensate for the lower standard of dining. I would say to the owner,'PLEASE change back again. You had a lovely restaurant but you've spoiled it!' I won't be coming back if it remains self-service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrscrusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New style dining with refreshing choices”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We loved the revamped Italian restaurant. The greeting was warm and welcoming and the buffet style dining suited us precisely. We could help ourselves from a great range of starters, just enough for us and as mixed as we liked.

The main course was Italian based with a good selection of favourites.

The fun started when the charming smiley staff offered each table a slice of something from the rotisserie. There was a succession of sausages, pizza, pork (really delicious, with its parmesan coating), drumsticks and I remember the beautiful cinnamon coated hot pineapple. These come round on a never ending circuit until you surrender and put your coaster to "red". There were other things on offer but too many for me to try.

A lovely atmosphere with good food and no constraints on the portions or choices, in my case small portions of lots of different tasty bits. To finish all I could manage was Excellent coffee and wine was the best. It is the staff and the manager that make the whole event special, entertaining and completely stress free. I hope they open one in Bournemouth soon! I loved it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank everesttall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Buffet food, still good quality”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Went here not knowing it had changed to buffet style. Was concerned that food quality would be poor. However, loved the choice of cold/salad and mix it with pasta classics such carbonara. It was great then to be offered food on a scuwer at the table - chicken, sausage, gammon, pizza. Eat as much as you like. I only had one serving and was stuffed.
I guess the change was made to get the theatre goers in and out as quick as possible, plus offer a cheaper deal. Will miss the old Tosca but this still makes an excellent choice.
NB I wasn't allowed to use the vouchercloud deal for Tosca despite it still being available on the internet, but still great value despite it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaH105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tosca's Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Tosca's Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing