We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really nice place”
Review of Solent Sky Museum

Solent Sky Museum
Ranked #1 of 133 things to do in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Solent Sky Museum showcases the history of aviation in Southampton - Spitfire City - and the surrounding Solent area.Geographically this was the most important area in the country, perhaps the world, for aircraft experimental and development work between 1908 and the late 1960s. 26 aircraft companies set up shop in the area, and many of the world’s greatest aircraft, including the legendary Spitfire, first took to the air in the skies over Southampton.We have 18 complete airframes, including a Supermarine Spitfire and Supermarine S6a (N248), and also 4 cockpit sections. We also have a comprehensive collection of aero-engines.Our mighty Sandringham Flying Boat was originally built as a Short Sunderland in 1943, and converted to a passenger aircraft after the war. Visitors are welcome to board the aircraft to sample the luxury of air travel in the romantic era of the great flying boats, and guided tours of the flight deck are also available.Kids (and big kids) can also imagine what it would be like to fly a jet fighter while sat in the cockpits of our Supermarine Swift and Harrier Jump Jet. Our new Schneider Trophy Exhibition is now open, with its record-breaking centrepiece the S6a. Video stock footage of these legendary races and artefacts from the time illustrate the drama and romance of the fastest race in history.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“really nice place”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Unique out of the way museum with a lot to look at. Definitely would recommend for anyone to go to that has even the slightest interest in planes

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    150
    31
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Better than seacity”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Hidden away just outside the main drag drab places of Southampton is this little beauty of a museum.the staff know their stuff.well worth a visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank steveblanks555555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Good Trip”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I wanted to find something to do for my sons during the summer term on a day trip to Southampton on the 5 Aug 2014. I googled museums & activities. It was on about the 3rd page of google, but it took my interest as my boys are plane mad. Although the museum is a long walk from the centre of town. I was pleased that we finally made it. My sons 6 & 8 were in there element. The eldest loved the Spitfire and the the Beachcomber was amazing to go around and sit in the seats and imagine flying in her. We had a private tour of the beachcomber cockpit which made the trip all the more impressive. My sons were very happy they had visited. The staff were lovely and knowledgeable and my son was able to talk about the Princess flying boat as well. We did buy a magazine about the museum which was handy as now my husband wants to visit as well. A little unknown museum that was very impressive to 2 plane mad children.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank BestDayToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Having read about the museum on tripadvisor we thought it sounded like a good place to visit and we weren't disappointed. This is a fascinating museum particularly if you are interested in aviation history. We particularly enjoyed being able to go inside the large flying boat. Well worth the modest £6.50 entrance fee. Don't be put off by the outside and the surrounding area which is pretty tatty, pop inside and prepare to be surprised by what you find inside!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldenOldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Onboard a Sunderland flying boat again after 64 years”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I visited Solent Sky Museum on 24/7/2014 to show my friend, Les M. the beautiful Sandringham Flying Boat. Built as a Sunderland in WW2, it was converted after the war into a luxury civil aircraft, a Sandrigham. Les hadn't been on board a flying boat since 1948-1950 when he'd worked & flown with Sunderlands in Singapore.. Once Clare v. kindly unlocked the Flight Deck Les was transported back 64 years...
Ah happy days !

However "Beachcomber" is just one of many thrilling exhibits in this well-planned, well-run temple to aviation. Can you imagine a jet fighter that uses the sea as a runway ? There's one here.

Having built 22,000 Spitfires between 1936 & 1945 people forget its birthplace.. here by the river at Supermarines original factory. The beautiful 5-bladed Spit in the Hall is of course the "Belle of the Ball" and thank God we had it in 1940.

The soul of this museum though, is its Staff.. unlike so many museums where you are treated as a "customer" here you will receive a warm welcome from enthusiasts. I look forward to a return visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank peterc509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Solent Sky Museum also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Solent Sky Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing