We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Ship photography

I recently visited Mayflower Park for the sole reason to view any cruise ships that were docked or... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
lzeppelin
,
Didcot England
Central port location.

This waterside park is centrally located in the port area of Southampton. It is close to some of... read more

Reviewed 22 August 2018
gatcarr4
,
Aberdaron, United Kingdom
Read all 209 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Southampton
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
63
69
43
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
69
43
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat show ice cream van container ships southampton water cruise liners arrive and depart thai restaurant large ships children's play area viewing area town quay sunny day new forest couple of hours docks terminal tug
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Sorry to say I was extremely disappointed with the firework display last Saturday. Felt like I was watching a neighbour’s firework display the fireworks were so far away, there were vehicles parked in front of everything so view was limited. Fairground lights remained on the entire time which diluted the fireworks. To insult further crowds were gathered outside the park who didn’t pay anything yet had a similar view. Needless to say I won’t be going again

Thank leerob2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently visited Mayflower Park for the sole reason to view any cruise ships that were docked or otherwise with the intention to take some photos. I were lucky weather wise and also the fact that the cruise ship Navigator of the Seas was along side. Mayflower Park its self is a little run down and could be improved but I guess this is a case for Southampton City Council. I were able to get a very nice coffee and snack at the Red Funnel line buffet just across the road. This is also a grand place to view the ships from. Once again I were lucky as Britannia was in dock. In all I enjoyed my day and managed 127 photos.

Thank lzeppelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a great afternoon, well worth, traditional German Beer Hall, real German Band and beer, not quite Munich though :-)

Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

This is my favourite place in Southampton. Or was, until the council put a height restriction on it.
The views of the solent are beautiful. You can look out at cruise ships gliding past, wave at all the happy people off on their holidays. The pavement to the sea is huge and wide so before the height restriction you could pop out the table and dine on the sea front.
There is nothing to stop very small children running down into the sea, bit of a downside for some families I guess.

Thank robadobabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

This waterside park is centrally located in the port area of Southampton. It is close to some of the berths used by some cruise ships, and the Container vessels pass it getting to the deep container berths.

Sometimes used to host some events, but is taken over each year for the Boat Show - for an ever increasingly number of days closed to the public (although I believe this was originally meant to very restricted).

Perhaps a little undervalued, and probably waiting for some major redevelopment of the Town Pier/Mayflower park area.

Thank gatcarr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

Places to sit and watch the ships arrive and depart. The park is a bit down at heel, the toilets aren’t working but the disabled one can be accessed from a key help by the cafe. Nice views back towArds the west gate where Mayflower sailed and the city wall.

Thank bdenhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Often visit there to sit and enjoy the tranquility and watch the cruise ships and the isle of Wight ferry. Also enjoy the cornets from the ice cream van. A good picnic spot too and worth a visit

Thank Newmilton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Visited here while waiting for our P and O cruise ship. Lovely hot day so we sat and watched while eating an ice cream. Great views. Interesting things to see easy parking (payable)

Thank traceyg855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

We visit Mayflower Park at least once a week. Ideally we buy Fish & Chips from a local Chippy then go down and watch the world go by, especially when one of the Cruise Ships go out, mainly on a Friday.

Thank X9429JZmikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018

If you have some time before your cruise ship leaves - or are in town for the day - take an hour or so to stroll along this waterfront park. Very busy with locals on the weekends and nice days.

Thank Soulefulltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews