We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SS Shieldhall

SS Shieldhall
Ranked #17 of 127 things to do in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Steamship Shieldhall is the largest working steam ship in Britain. A member of the National Historic Fleet she serves as a sea going tribute to Britain's maritime heritage. As a passenger you too can experience the golden age of steam by booking on an excursion or visiting her in Southampton.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A real treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I've been on board a few times now for various events and activities. The Captain and crew are really welcoming and knowledgeable and very happy to talk about their ship. You get a great view of what's happening on the water and the catering's good too :)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AD1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    12
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What ever the weather, it is a fantastic trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

I am a member of SS Shieldhall and go on one or two cruises a year. If we lived nearer (we are in Oxfordshire). we would sail more often. We've seen the fireworks at the end of Cowes Week, with the Shieldhall Stompers playing on the deck: seen the 3 Cunarders in Southampton for the first time together: been right out to the Needles; but the best was watching the P&O Fleet (7 ships) all sailing off down the Southampton Water in a long line. Awesome!
As others say, it is grand to go on the bridge and in the engine room. Children can see steam engines in action - the size, heat and noise makes for memorable experience. Two smaller grandsons went aboard last year; the other 2 can't wait! 2-3 hour cruises are good for children, but adults could cope with longer. Also I couldn't tick 'what sort of visit was this properly as good for everyone.
Trying to get another group together for next year. I couldn't tick some of the boxes below as there are steps but no lift. Also you just carry your buggy on board.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VivSpiv63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Old is Gold...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

I saw the review in Trip advisor and booked the tickets. I didn't have much expectations. But the experience I had is priceless. I went with family and I was the only Indian there. Everyone in the ship treated well. I went inside engine rooms, boiler rooms and even captain's deck. Old ship is a beauty... Must visit place and ship...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Santhosh-explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Sailed on this old steamship and saw old gaffers sailing in a good breeze, but Shieldhall as steady as a rock. The engine room can be visited, and you can safely stand between the huge steam engines as they pound away, an amazing experience. Titanic beer and funky music in the lounge when it rained a bit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A great ship with friendly crew/volunteers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

The SS Shieldhall is a fully working steamship maintained and operated by volunteers. I have sailed on two trips from Berth 48 (near to Ocean Terminal).

The volunteers are all very friendly and happy to explain the various aspects of maintaining and operating the ship. Visitors have access to the engine room, boiler room and bridge. I particularly enjoyed the experience of spending time in the engine room and watching the two steam engines at work.

The ship has a fully licensed bar, hot and cold snacks are also available.

Whether you are looking for a relaxing trip around the Solent, are a ship enthusiast or enjoy steam heritage, the SS Shieldhall will work for you.

I'd highly recommend a trip on the SS Shieldhall, I'll definitely be returning and encouraging my friends to support this worthy heritage ship.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jack5764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SS Shieldhall also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
 

Been to SS Shieldhall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing