We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My son's wedding”
Review of SS Shieldhall

SS Shieldhall
Ranked #13 of 130 things to do in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Steamship Shieldhall is the largest working steam ship in Britain. A member of the National Historic Fleet she serves as a sea going tribute to Britain's maritime heritage. As a passenger you too can experience the golden age of steam by booking on an excursion or visiting her in Southampton.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My son's wedding”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This venue and the people who volunteer are absolutely first class. We want to thank you all, as you helped make my son and daughter in laws wedding day wonderful. She is a magical craft and there is something special about her from the moment you step on board. Highly recommended for any special event and of course she comes with views to die for. None of us stopped smiling from the moment we booked her and on the day our expectations were exceeded. The team that supported us were fantastic. Thank you so much. Mr & Mrs C.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    13
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chichester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful day if you do nothing else in Southampton do this.”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I often work in Southampton docks and have seen and admired this ship for many years. Today we took our first trip, from the moment we arrived the crew could not have been more helpful and friendly. H and S was there but not in your face, Access all areas when under way.We cannot recommend any trip on this enough. Wonderful.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank VexedFoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The most enjoyable”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was a most unexpected trip. As a coach driver it is rare to be invited on many vessels.

To say that that i was exited would be understated, it was the most enjoyable three hours of any Saturday. As an ex submariner, going on-board anything that floats is rare.

The Shieldhall and the crew were a delight. Knowledgeable about the vessel, helpful and the food and drinks reasonable prices and tasty.

This vessel is well worth a trip.

Mike C
Severnside Transport
Bristol

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“P & O Reunion”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great old steam ship, we had a lovely trip on the Solent, we were allowed into the engine room to see the steam engines and boilers working. All the staff were pleasant and helpful

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewJBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Restored steamship with a full program of events”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Shieldhall is one of Southampton's great assets. It is moored inside Dock Gate 4, so you have to know it is there. It is a fully operational steamship with an amazing history and a wonderful expert volunteer crew. Originally built as a sludge dumper for use on the Clyde, she was fitted out with a saloon and a bar for dual purpose cruises. Only in Scotland! From an engineering point of view she is marvelous, vast engines and similar steering gear to the Titanic. In the Summer she runs regular trips on the Solent. The Merchant Navy memorial wreath laying is particularly poignant.

She also has a double life as an amazing venue for local theater companies and the Art House organises events with their own special touch. On the last couple of occasions I have been on a voyage of dreams with the Hampshire Youth Theater including some fantasy pirates and been part of an Art House cabaret. Their Steampunk Shennanigans are also planned.
Parking is available, plus the 1A bus has a stop at the dock gate. Google SS Shieldlhall for their program of events.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank terrier871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SS Shieldhall also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to SS Shieldhall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing