We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bournemouth airshow ”

Steamship Shieldhall
Ranked #1 of 90 things to do in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Steamship Shieldhall is the largest working steam ship in Britain. A member of the National Historic Fleet she serves as a sea going tribute to Britain's maritime heritage. As a passenger you too can experience the golden age of steam by booking on an excursion or visiting her in Southampton.
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

We had the most amazing time. Everyone who worked on the ship were so helpful and friendly. I couldn't say anything bad about the day. Ship is full of history and the volunteers on board were so knowledgeable nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely be going back on another trip next year

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank 100beverleyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"engine room"
in 67 reviews
"bournemouth air show"
in 14 reviews
"steam ship"
in 12 reviews
"southampton water"
in 31 reviews
"bournemouth airshow"
in 11 reviews
"volunteer crew"
in 8 reviews
"jazz band"
in 7 reviews
"red arrows"
in 6 reviews
"friendly crew"
in 10 reviews
"hour cruise"
in 6 reviews
"amazing ship"
in 3 reviews
"poole harbour"
in 3 reviews
"cowes week"
in 9 reviews
"round the island race"
in 5 reviews
"run by volunteers"
in 6 reviews
"well stocked bar"
in 4 reviews
"cruise ships leaving"
in 3 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2018

Both days were fantastic. Anchored off Bournemouth to get the best of the Airshow. Going in and out of Poole Harbour with the scenery.

Dolphins at the harbour entrance on the way out of Poole towards Southampton. Passing both Old Harry and the Needles in one day. Having a steer of Shieldhall was a great bonus.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

We met the Shieldhall in Poole and sailed round to Bournemouth for the 2018 Air Show and had a wonderful day, weather was fantastic.
Crew were very helpful and would answer any questions. Food and drinks very reasonable.
Would recommend this or any trip on the Shieldhall.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Sightseer13300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

From the welcome by the purser, the day turned out to be exciting and very different for us. Being able to visit most areas of the ship we could take in the fascinating steam engines. The sea was a bit rough and the view back from the prow of the ship was amazing. We loved the saloon which was nicely restored, to warm us and feed us, as it was quite a cold and windy day. We look forward to our next trip with the Shieldhall

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank kathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2018

An amazing day on board this lovely old vessel with charming and so helpful volunteer crew. Great facilities which were never over crowded and such a steady quiet little ship.
A real pleasure and delight and we look forward to our next SAIL AWAY ON SHIELDHALL

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Paks2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steamship Shieldhall also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
West End, Southampton
 

Been to Steamship Shieldhall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing